Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Unexpected meeting

24 May 2012

at 22:06 by François Marchand

Organic, Fair Trade Tea
This was the first time since travelling in China (over 7 years) that I stopped in Hubei Province, in the capital Wuhan, to be more precise. In planning my initial trip, I only had to pass through this immense city just for a train transfer. Then I became aware of a company in this province that produced organic and fair trade teas. My schedule did not allow me to go to their plantation (1hr 30 min flight from the capital) but I was still able to make initial contact by visiting their offices in Wuhan. What a great meeting it was!

It is very rare, currently, to find fair trade teas in China. There is no demand in the local market, at all. In this case the people who have organised this project in the region of Enshi are enthusiasts who believe in the values conveyed by the fair trade market. Various European companies have offered guidance and the project has worked very well. The fair trade framework has enabled the construction of hospitals, schools, and to install drinking water systems and electricity in the communities where tea is produced. In fact, the project worked so well that they have initiated a second one in Yunnan.

While the values promoted are most commendable, what about the tea? The manufacturing techniques used are extremely professionally, I was shown a selection of products each as interesting as the other. Four of them I particularly liked: Lu Zhen – organic / fair trade, Enshi Long Jing – organic / fair trade, Yunnan Bai Hao Yin Zhen – organic / fair trade, and a Pu Er – organic / fair trade which will arrive later. Meanwhile I shall certainly set aside some time in 2013 to visit more of the plantations …

Further evidence that tea produced in a good state of mind is very likely to be well made and tasty.

François

Mr. Qu

Travel and meetings over tea

18 May 2012

at 3:02 by Manuel Legault-Roy

meetings over tea

We’re already in the last stretch of our Vietnam / Taiwan tour. What a great opportunity to share so much time with these tea producers and their families. Being ‘in the loop’ for almost four years now, I was already well aware this approach of the four tasters of Camellia Sinensis. I have now experienced this positive effect first hand in our recent meetings with the artisans of the tea world. The thing I had not anticipated was the reverse impact we have on them? I suppose many producers have little perspective on their own work as they are bound to that tea culture which forms such a part of them. It is true that this proximity to the tradition contributes to the richness of a place since the knowledge handed down for many generations suggests a more authentic product.

On the other hand, travel is very educational even for those who only receive passing travellers. Following a meeting with a producer, if the atmosphere is one of discovery, Hugo usually offers a comparative tasting of some teas from other regions. Darjeeling, Anji Bai Cha and other unknown teas bring an unexplored range of taste to these craftsmen. It is all done modestly for the sole purpose of transmitting our work, our philosophy, and to share more with them. In showing them the Camellia book, we add a visual aspect to the different tea processing techniques in Asia . Many stimulating discussions ensued. I was so proud to see how by visiting the producers in Asia, Camellia’s tasters share an outside perspective and contribute to this unique and dynamic exchange.

Thank you!
Sabrina.

News from Hugo and Sabrina in Vietnam

2 May 2012

at 2:42 by Manuel Legault-Roy

Mrs Thoa, Nhai and Hiep

It has been 3 years since I last had the opportunity to see the courageous women of the Thai Nyugen cooperative. They are unique, hard working and very hospitable. The moment we arrived we had a surprise. The smell of wulong! Recently they began, under the watchful eye of Mr. Hsu, a Taiwanese, to learn the manufacture of wulong. We were surprised to learn that in the past 10 years, they had already planted several Taiwanese cultivars (Cingxin, si ji chun, jin shuan, etc). In addition to acquiring machinery to transform the tea, they also had to learn to transform the leaves.

Well, I would say the results were very encouraging. In addition to manufacturing a Taiwanese type wulong (Cingxin), low oxidation (20%) with floral accents,(we will have it on the menu shortly), they have explored the path of Bai Hao … (a great Taiwanese classic). The test sample that we tasted is also promising. On the other hand I have encouraged them to create THEIR Bai Hao type wulong with it’s own unique signature and not just an imitation of its Taiwanese relative. The taste a marriage between white tea with green and black wulong … very silky texture and an endless scent of honey …

Thanks for reading,
Hugo

garden

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Rencontre inattendue

24 mai 2012

thé bio équitable

C’était la première fois depuis que je sillonne la Chine (7 ans) que je m’arrêtais dans la province du Hubei, dans la capitale Wuhan pour être plus précis. En fait, en planifiant mon trajet initial, je ne devais que passer dans cette immense ville pour un transfert de train simplement. Puis, j’ai pris connaissance d’une compagnie dans cette province qui produisait des thés biologiques et équitables. Mon agenda ne me permettait pas de me rendre à leur plantation (à 1h30 de vol de la capitale), mais j’ai tout de même pu établir un premier contact en les visitant à leurs bureaux de Wuhan. Quelle belle rencontre ce fut!

Il est très rare, pour le moment, de trouver des thés équitables en Chine. Le marché local ne le demande pas, loin de là. Par contre, les gens qui ont piloté ce projet de la région d’Enshi sont des passionnés qui croient aux valeurs véhiculées par ce marché équitable. Ce sont des compagnies européennes qui leur ont montré la voie et le projet a fort bien fonctionné. La structure équitable a permis la construction d’un hôpital, d’écoles et d’installer des systèmes d’eau potable et d’électricité dans les communautés où est produit le thé. En fait, le projet a si bien fonctionné qu’ils en ont mené un second dans le Yunnan.

Si les valeurs véhiculées sont des plus louables, qu’en est-il du thé? Eh bien l’équipe, extrêmement professionnelle, m’a présenté des produits tous plus intéressants les uns que les autres. Quatre d’entre eux m’ont particulièrement accroché: Lu Zhen bio / équitable, Enshi Long Jing bio. / équitable, Yunnan Bai Hao Yin Zhen bio. / équitable et un Pu Er bio. / équitable qui arrivera plus tard. Je ne manquerai certes pas de me garder du temps en 2013 pour la visite de ces plantations…

Cette histoire est une nouvelle preuve qu’un thé produit dans un bon état d’esprit a toutes les chances d’être savoureux.

François

M. Qu

Voyages et rencontres autour du thé

18 mai 2012

Rencontre autour du thé

Nous voilà déjà dans le dernier droit de notre périple Vietnam/Taiwan. L’observatrice que je suis savoure ces scènes de vie dans lesquelles s’exposent généreusement les producteurs de thé et leur famille. Étant dans la boite depuis près de quatre ans, j’étais bien au courant de la démarche des importateurs du Camellia. J’imaginais donc facilement l’effet positif qu’allaient avoir chez moi mes premières rencontres avec les artisans du thé. Par contre, je n’avais pas anticipé l’inverse : quel impact avons nous chez eux? Je devine que beaucoup de producteurs ont peu de recul sur leur travail puisqu’ils sont collés à cette culture du thé qui fait partie d’eux. Il est vrai que cette proximité avec la tradition participe à la richesse d’un lieu puisque le savoir-faire transmis depuis de nombreuses générations suggère un produit des plus authentiques.

Par contre, les voyages sont très formateurs y compris pour ceux qui reçoivent les voyageurs de passage. Après une rencontre avec un producteur, si l’ambiance est à la découverte, Hugo a l’habitude d’offrir une dégustation comparative de quelques thés. Le Darjeeling, l’Anji Bai Cha et autres thés méconnus amènent ces artisans dans un spectre de dégustation encore inexploré. Le tout est proposé modestement dans le seul but de transmettre notre travail, notre philosophie et d’échanger davantage avec eux. En montrant le livre de la maison, nous ajoutons un aspect visuel sur les différentes techniques de transformation du thé en Asie. Souvent plusieurs discussions enrichissantes s’en suivent. Je constate fièrement qu’en se rendant chez les producteurs en Asie, les importateurs du Camellia leur partage un autre regard et participe ainsi à un certain dynamisme.

Merci!

Sabrina

Des nouvelles de Hugo et Sabrina au Vietnam

2 mai 2012

Mme Thoa, Nhai et Hiep

Voici déjà 3 ans que je n’avais pas eu l’occasion de revoir les courageuses femmes de la coopératives de Thai Nguyen. Elles sont uniques, travaillantes et très accueillantes. Dès notre arrivée nous avons eu une surprise. Ça sentait le wulong! Depuis peu, elles ont commencé, sous l’oeil avisé de M. Hsu, un taiwanais, l’apprentissage de la fabrication de wulong. Nous avons été étonnés d’apprendre qu’il y a plus de 10 ans, elles avaient déjà plantées plusieurs variétés de cultivars taiwanais (Cingxin, si ji chun, jin shuan, etc). Outre le défi d’acquérir la machinerie pour transformer le thé, il fallait en plus qu’elles apprennent à transformer les feuilles.

Et puis? Bien je vous dirais que les résultats obtenus sont encourageants. En plus de fabriquer un wulong de type taiwanais (Cingxin), de faible oxydation (20%) et aux accents floraux, vraiment très bien (nous l’aurons à la carte sous peu), elles ont exploré la voie du Bai Hao…(grand classique taiwanais). L’échantillon test que nous avons goûté est aussi prometteur. Je les ai par contre encouragées à créer LEUR wulong de type Bai Hao, d’essayer de créer une signature unique, pouvant ainsi concevoir une nouvelle voie, un autre thé et non pas juste une imitation de son confrère taïwanais. Le goût? Et bien pensez pour l’instant à un mariage entre un thé blanc, un wulong vert et noir…Texture très soyeuse, parfum infini de miel…

Merci de nous lire,

Hugo

jardin riziere

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter