Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

The Japanese tea Nadeshiko – riding the border between a Black Tea and a Pu Er.

18 December 2012

at 12:23 by Manuel Legault-Roy

The leaves

We discovered a tea in Nadeshiko back in 2012 in its experimental phase. Passing through the “airlock” between the tea processing room and the fungus inoculation chamber, we knew that we had found another great project!

What is this tea? Basically a black tea with a controlled. microbiological fermentation. The leaves are from a garden on Haruno Mountain in Shizuoka Prefecture. Gardens, which do not use pesticides or herbicides. The tea follows an unusual series of transformation techniques… withering, rolling, kneading and sterilization.

Then, in a controlled chamber, a single spore of Aspergillus awamori is introduced. The leaves are then stabilized by drying and sorted. The result: a tea with a very distinct flavour profile, closer to a black tea than a Pu Er.

Developed as a healthy tea here in Japan, the leaves contains more citric and gallic acid, and catechins, than most green teas. The transformation process also creates large amounts of polyphenols called Teadenol A and Teadenol B. Current research at the Universities of Shizuoka and Saga seeks to do more research into the properties of Nadeshiko Tea and this new process.

While we wait to learn about these benefits , let’s just loose ourselves in this fascinating flavour profile!

Serious work

Just Add Hot Water

14 December 2012

at 14:50 by john

Recently published in Ed Behr’s wonderful periodical on food and taste the Art of Eating
Just Add Hot Water

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Le thé japonais Nadeshiko – la frontière entre thé noir et thé Pu er.

18 décembre 2012

Les feuilles

Nous avons découvert le thé Nadeshiko en 2010 dans sa phase expérimentale. Sans aucun doute en pénétrant dans le « sas » qui sépare la salle de transformation du thé et la pièce où l’on fait l’inoculation du champignon dans les feuilles, nous avions déjà l’impression d’avoir trouvé un autre beau projet !

De quoi s’agit-il au juste? C’est un brin complexe, mais en gros, il s’agit d’un thé à fermentation microbiologique contrôlée. Les feuilles à la base proviennent des plantations d’Isagawa, situées sur la montagne Haruno dans la préfecture de Shizuoka. Issu de plantations n’usant aucun pesticide ou herbicide, le thé subit différentes transformations, telles que flétrissage, roulage, malaxage et stérilisation.

Ensuite, dans une salle contrôlée, on procède à la fermentation du thé avec l’ajout d’une seule spore, soit l’aspergillus awamori. Par la suite, il y aura stabilisation du produit, séchage et triage. Il en résulte un thé au gout assez distinct, se rapprochant davantage d’un thé noir que d’un thé Pu Er.

Développé dans une optique « santé » au Japon, ce thé contiendrait davantage d’acides galliques et citriques ainsi que plus de catéchine que les thés verts. Aussi, le processus de transformation permettrait de créer de nouveaux polyphénols appelés Teadenol A et Teadenol B. Des recherches aux universités de Shizuoka et de Saga ont lieu présentement afin d’établir les propriétés du thé Nadeshiko et de ce nouveau procédé.

En attendant d’en savoir plus sur ses effets bénéfiques, profitons de son gout unique !Un travail très sérieux

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter