Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

THE STORY OF AN “AGED” YIXING TEAPOT

19 February 2013

at 12:13 by Seb

IMG_2363

Seeing an Yixing teapot develop gradually over years, the residue of each infusion on the porous interior, is a great pleasure to many tea enthusiasts. Part of the charm of repeated visits to Camellia Sinensis’ Teahouses is drinking a favourite tea in an increasingly seasoned teapot.

When we opened the Teahouse in Quebec in 2004, we selected a series of Yixing teapots to serve tea. Last month, after more than eight years of service (an estimated 20,000 infusions!) a teapot reserved exclusively for Darjeeling Teas was retired from the Tearoom.

There were mixed emotions among the staff as we put the pot on the shelf to be sold. To our surprise several clients showed interest immediately. New, this teapot was listed at $40, compared to some of the prices of aged pots we have seen in Chinese auctions our sale price of $200 was fairly modest.

A few days later Marco, whom we have known as a regular client from Montréal since 2000, noticed it. He leapt at the opportunity, and bought the treasured teapot. Once the staff learned who had bought it they were comforted to know that it would be in good hands.

Marco explained his connection with the teapot as follows:

“The acquisition of this teapot represents many years of visiting Camellia Sinensis and knowing the staff who handled this teapot with such care. The passage of time has left its mark on the clay in many ways and this brings me to contemplation and inner calm.”

IMG_2379

We wish him many great moments with this unique object!

Jasmin Desharnais

Earl Grey, a Time Honoured Classic

16 February 2013

at 9:21 by john

Citrus bergamia or Bergamot Orange
The Citrus bergamia or Bergamot Orange is a citrus fuit the size of a small orange with a lemon coloured skin.

No tea catalogue is complete without Earl Grey. Along with the likes of Jasmine Tea, Earl Grey is a time honoured classic, a natural complicity between the Camellia sinensis flavour profile and that of another plant.
Named after a British Prime Minister of the 1830′s, the Second Earl of Grey, there are several conflicting stories on how it originated. The Grey family’s own version tells of a Chinese blender mixing bergamot with black tea to counteract the heavy lime content in the water of Howick Hall, the Grey’s family seat in Northumberland. Entertaining the high profile world of politicians and high-society in London, Lady Grey developed enough interest that Twinings of London began to market it as a brand.

Over the last few years we have been gradually improving our own blend with the help of experts in Kolkata. The base tea is a full-bodied, slightly malty black tea from Dooars (Organic Fair Trade) at the base of the Indian Himalayas. The bergamot we have been using is a high grade, organic Italian bergamot from the Calabria region in the Province of Reggio.
The last batch that arrived from Kolkata a couple of weeks ago is our best yet, the two elements of fresh tea and bright, lively bergamot are distinctly present while in balance and harmony with each other.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

L’histoire d’une « vieille » théière Yixing

19 février 2013

Théière Yixing agée de 8 ans

Les amateurs de thé connaissent bien le plaisir de voir une théière Yixing se noircir progressivement du dépôt que chaque infusion laisse sur sa paroi poreuse. Ainsi, à chaque visite au Camellia, certains sont charmés de pouvoir boire leur thé préféré dans une théière de plus en plus culottée.

Lors de l’ouverture de la Maison de thé de Québec en 2004, nous avions sélectionné plusieurs théières Yixing afin de faire le service dans notre espace de dégustation. Le mois passé, après plus de huit années de service, la théière servant uniquement aux infusions de Darjeeling – théière qu’on évalue avoir reçu plus de 20 000 infusions – s’est fait retirer du Salon de thé.

Si c’est avec regret que plusieurs employés ont vu la théière prendre le chemin d’une tablette de la boutique, c’est avec excitation et surprise que plusieurs clients l’ont vu apparaître de l’autre côté du comptoir. Alors que la théière « neuve » se détaillait à 40$, nous l’avons mise en vente pour 200$, prix plutôt bas par rapport à l’histoire de cette théière et à ce qu’on voit dans les encans de théières en Chine.

Quelques jours plus tard, un client régulier l’a tout de suite remarquée. Marco, que nous connaissons comme client depuis 2000 alors qu’il nous visitait à Montréal, ne manqua pas sa chance et acheta sans tarder notre précieuse théière. Les employés, en apprenant que c’était lui qui avait acheté « la » théière, ont retrouvé le sourire, car ils savaient qu’elle serait entre bonnes mains.

Marco définit son lien avec la théière comme suit : « L’acquisition de cette théière représente toutes les années de visite chez Camellia Sinensis où j’ai eu la chance de côtoyer tout le personnel qui a manipulé avec grand soin cette théière.  Le passage du temps a laissé ses traces sur l’argile et cela m’amène à la contemplation et au calme intérieur ».

Marco avec sa nouvelle théière Yixing

Souhaitons-lui de nombreux beaux moments avec cet objet unique !

Jasmin Desharnais

Earl Grey, un classique immuable

16 février 2013

Citrus bergamia ou bergamote
Le Citrus bergamia ou bergamote est un agrume de la taille d’une petite orange avec une peau de couleur jaune citron.

Aucun catalogue de thé n’est complet sans le Earl Grey. À l’image des thés au jasmin, le Earl Grey devenu un classique au fil du temps représente cette complicité naturelle entre le caractère gustatif du Camellia sinensis et celle d’une autre plante.

Nommé en l’honneur d’un premier ministre britannique des années trente du XIXe  siècle, le 2e comte de Grey, son origine incertaine tire sa source de plusieurs histoires contradictoires.

La version familiale raconte qu’à la demande du comte, un chinois créa ce mélange de  thé noir et de bergamote pour contrer la haute teneur en chaux de l’eau de leur résidence à Howick dans le Northumberland. Mme Grey s’en servi avec succès pour divertir la haute société de Londres, et Twinings commercialisa la marque suite à ce gain de popularité.

Ces dernières années nous ont permis de raffiner progressivement notre mélange avec l’aide d’experts de Kolkata. La base est assurée par un riche thé noir légèrement malté, biologique et équitable, provenant des Dooars, au pied de l’Himalaya indien. Notre bergamote italienne biologique de haute qualité est issue de la région de Calabria dans la province de Reggio.

Le dernier lot arrivé il y a quelques semaines de Kolkata est notre meilleur jusqu’à présent, mariant la fraicheur du thé à l’intense parfum de bergamote de façon harmonieuse et équilibrée.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter