Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

On the porcelain road

29 April 2013

at 11:09 by Seb

Modern style Gaiwan from Jingdezhen

The bumpy country road, in an ancient bus, with incessant smoking and honking, brings us to this dusty (due to the mass production of pottery) and crowded town that is Jingdezhen. While not the most inspiring city at first glance, there is a strong and dynamic artistic community present.

I had an appointment with a certain Li Wen Ying who keeps, with his brother, a master potter, a retreat for artists in the countryside on the outskirts of the city. What a wonderful surprise to set foot in this place that breathes art where many visitors come for several weeks to be inspired and learn new techniques. The center is comprised of several buildings made from recycled materials, a stream crosses the land, the countryside is peaceful. We have had several pleasant meetings including two American art teachers from Kansas with abundant moustaches, a bearded Australian and a Canadian painter I met at Camellia few years ago for an art show preview in which we participated offering tea. Small world.

Ceramist studio in Jingdzhen

People from the art center have accompanied me to the city to show me different styles and different qualities of ceramic teaware. Though there is much “chinoiserie” and uninteresting low quality porcelain, our long day of exploration enabled us to find some up and coming young potters from Jingdezhen University (probably the largest University of ceramics in the world with some 10,000 students!) as well as more traditional pieces which have been produced in this region for centuries (white porcelain decorated with cobalt). A number interesting pieces will be in the boutique in a few weeks and there is definitely a huge potential for the years to come.

On the road in Lincang!

23 April 2013

at 10:15 by Seb

Town of Lushi on the tea horse road

For a week this spring we toured the Lincang region in Yunnan in the company of Olivier and Peishan. Our trip to this region of China was longer than usual and had, amongst other objectives, the gathering of visual material for our forthcoming book on Pu Er. Being passionate tea enthusiasts we go exploring the old town of Lushi, a living vestige from the time of Chamagudao , the tea horse road. Our journey has also led us to the oldest tea tree in the world, estimated at 3200 years old, a beautiful force of nature north of Fengqing.

While in this city we also visited the factory known as Fengqing since the time of large state enterprises, now producing its teas under the banner of the Dian Hong group. It now produces primarily black tea, some of it very high quality sold for over $150 per 50g! This huge center of transformation also receives its teas as a raw product from its 84 small factories in the region, to be sorted, assembled and packaged. The company also produces around 6000 tons of tea per year, placing it among the other top two major producers in the province, Menghai and Xiaguan.

Maocha tasting in NanhuaPart of the trip consisted of meeting the farmers and producers in the area to absorb their terroir and to know better their processes of transforming leaves into maocha. Olivier and Peishan, based near Lincang for two years know the area well, we discovered a great location with a magnificent valley from where we chose two teas for our 2013 selection. So this year our menu will be enhanced with a wild tea tree white tea and a cake of Pu Er from Nanhua village. yum!

Wupperthal’s Rooibos Cooperative

15 April 2013

at 5:45 by Seb

Church in Wupperthal, South Africa

High in the rugged Cedarburg Mountains of  South Africa’s Western Cape is the lost valley of Wupperthal.  Cut off from the world, this tiny village community of thatched church and cottages was founded by German missionaries back in the 1830s among a small group of Khoikhoi families.  They introduced both Christianity and European farming practices to the valley and the community grew.

The local people had been using rooibos for at least 600 years as a medicinal herb and infusion.  As the popularity of this plant spread both nationally and overseas it became the focus of the region and today a cooperative of 93 farmers from Wupperthal and the surrounding villages are still producing a high quality, traditional, hand-harvest rooibos.  Camellia Sinensis has been buying it for many years.

P1070489Rooibos (Aspalathus linearis) from the legume family took its name from the Afrikaans word ‘rooibosch’, meaning red-bush, from the deep red it turns toward the end of its life.   It is a small hardy bush adapted to the unique conditions of these mountains, enjoying a symbiotic relationship with regionally specific root fungus and bacteria.  In fact it has become so specialized that will not grow anywhere else!  The soils are rocky and largely sand, the weather conditions extreme with periods of heavy rain followed by months of scorching hot sun.  The surrounding vegetation is adapted to these semi-desert conditions: scrub bushes, succulents and small sturdy trees.

Pile of rooibos in processEach farmer works a ‘field’ about the size of one or two tennis courts.  During the January to April harvest temperatures are often in the 40s. A young bush will be productive after 3 years growth then turn red and die after around 9 years. The bushes are still cut with the traditional scythe, removing the top 30-50% of the foliage leaving the bush healthy for the next harvest. The cuttings are then taken to the processing unit in Wupperthal where the stems and leaves are shredded in a simple cutting machine.  The cuttings are then spread in a large walled ‘tea court’ in a pile around 30cm deep where it is crushed, sprayed lightly with water and left to oxidize for 10-14 hours before being spread out in a thin layer to dry in the sun.  A sorting process separates the stems and leaves giving varying qualities and a short pasteurization by steaming removes any risk of bacteria before it is dried and packed.

Kevin Gascoyne

Intoxicated by expensive teas.

8 April 2013

at 13:18 by Seb

A typical scene illustrating the tea market in Jinghong, Xishuangbanna, Yunnan.

Our adventure in Yunnan begins with a day of tasting in the company of Ms. Wang in her shop in Jinghong. With an efficiency and obvious passion she makes us taste her freshly selected teas from different mountains in the region. The gaiwan are filled with Maocha which she rinses twice, and the infusions follow one another without our cups being empty more than a few minutes.

While sipping, we muse over the pulse of the Pu Er market and price trends. She tells us how every year more and more wealthy come to buy large quantities of sought after harvests, pushing up their prices dramatically. Less well known mountains saw the price of their Maocha multiply rapidly under the effect of compulsive buying. For example, this year a man bought 3 million yuan of leaves from the village Banpen, whereas a few years it ago its leaves cost 2.5 yuan per kilogram now the price has reached more than 1,000 yuan per kilo! The famous Banzhang sells this years leaf at 25% more than last year, at 4000 yuan per kilogram.

Tea tasting in Yunnan.

While some more fortunate are ready to pay the price, we are always in search of quality tea at affordable prices to bring to Quebec. That is why we taste certain teas, comparing side by side to validate our choices, and make the most of the current situation. The body has its limits, we encountered our own five hours later, completely intoxicated and feverish, after enjoying more than 30 teas and using 18 litres of water!

We continue our journey to the heart of the mountains of Xishuangbanna before exploring the less famous region of Lincang , offering hidden treasures.

The passion for fire of Matthew Huck

2 April 2013

at 10:44 by Seb

Chawan signed Matthieu Huck

Wood firing is the most ancient of the methods of firing clay. It generates unique shades of colour and texture on the pieces, thanks in part to the flame, ash and characteristics of the furnace and the wood used. Matthew Huck shares his experience.

Fascinated by the art of fire since the beginning of his career as a potter, Matthew Huck soon moved his research towards the teapot and tea bowl. Initially exploring their sculptural potential he soon focused on the functional aspects of these dignified objects. Since 2005, wood firing has become essential to his work. First deepening his knowledge with experienced potters, in 2009 he moved to the countryside and built his own oven.

“My interest in this art of fire is kindled by the action of the flames, the changing atmosphere of the furnace and the wood ash deposits on the pieces. The results are marked by different shades, creating natural decorations, mineral and unique … Each firing is an adventure during which a communion occurs between the participating pieces, with each other and with the oven. “

The pieces he produces in a wood furnace, made from earthenware or porcelain, are primarily intended for tea. Firing takes about twenty hours to reach 1300 degrees Celsius. It requires a large amount of wood, constant attention and careful preparation. The pieces, with or without glazes must be accurately placed in the oven according to previous research.

Matthieu Huck

Matthieu Huck graduated from the Bonsecours Ceramic Center in Montreal in 2003 and went on to hone his craft in collaborative projects with various well-known potters (Gilbert Poissant, Quebec; Jeff Shapiro, USA; Claude Champy, France). Specialising initially in high production throwing, he gathered experience in wood-firing in the kilns of fellow potters.

He has been the recipient of several awards, grants and distinctions, including the Chawan award given by the Montreal Urasenke School of Tea as part of the 1001 Pots exhibition in 2011 and first prize in the category “Jarre à thé vieilli” of the  TERRE & THÉ competition hosted by the Camellia Sinensis tea house in October 2011.

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every two months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Sur la route de la porcelaine

29 avril 2013

Gaiwan de Jingdezhen de style moderne

La route rurale cahoteuse, dans un autobus trop vieux où l’on fume et klaxonne sans arrêt nous mène à cette ville poussiéreuse (dû à la production massive de céramique) et surpeuplée qu’est Jingdezhen. Si la ville n’est pas des plus inspirante au premier abord, on y trouve une communauté artistique fort présente et dynamique.

J’avais rendez-vous avec une certain Li Wen Ying qui tient avec son frère, un maître potier, une retraite pour artiste dans la campagne environnant la ville. Quelle magnifique surprise que de mettre les pieds dans cet endroit qui respire l’art où plusieurs étrangers y passent plusieurs semaines pour s’inspirer et apprendre de nouvelles techniques. Le centre est fait de plusieurs bâtiments construits à partir de matériaux recyclés, un ruisseau sillonne le terrain, la campagne est paisible. Nous y avons fait plusieurs rencontres agréables dont deux professeurs d’art américains du Kansas aux moustaches abondantes, un australien barbu et un artiste-peintre canadien que j’avais rencontré au Camellia il y a quelques années pour un vernissage auquel nous avons participé en offrant le thé. Le monde est petit.

Atelier d'un céramiste de Jingdezhen

Les gens du centre m’ont accompagné dans la ville pour me montrer différents styles et différentes qualités de céramique pour le thé. S’il y a beaucoup de «chinoiserie» et de la porcelaine bas de gamme inintéressante, notre longue journée d’exploration nous a permis de trouver des jeunes potiers émergents de l’Université de Jingdezhen (probablement la plus grande Université de céramique au monde avec ses quelques 10,000 étudiants!) ainsi que des pièces plus traditionnelles produites depuis des millénaires dans cette région (porcelaine blanche avec décor au cobalt). Plusieurs pièces intéressantes seront en boutique d’ici quelques semaines et il y a certainement un immense potentiel pour les années à venir.

François

Lincang sur la route!

23 avril 2013

Village de Lushi, sur la route du thé et des chevaux

C’est en compagnie d’Olivier et de Peishan que nous avons sillonné la région de Lincang dans le Yunnan pendant une semaine ce printemps. Notre voyage dans cette région de la Chine, plus long qu’à l’habitude, avait entre autres comme mission de recueillir du matériel visuel pour notre prochain livre sur les Pu Er. C’est donc entre passionnés de thé que nous sommes allés explorer la vieille ville de Lushi, vestige vivant de l’époque de Chamagudao, la route du thé et des chevaux. Notre périple nous a aussi menés vers le plus vieux théier du monde, estimé à 3200 ans d’âge, une splendide force de la nature située au nord de Fengqing.

C’est d’ailleurs dans cette ville que nous avons visité la fabrique connue à l’époque des grandes entreprises d’État sous le nom de Fengqing, produisant maintenant ses thés sous l’image du groupe Dian Hong.  On y produit aujourd’hui essentiellement des thés noirs, dont certains « haut de gamme » sont vendus à plus de 150 $ les 50g! Cet immense centre de transformation reçoit ainsi ses thés sous forme de produit brut de ses 84 petites fabriques de la région afin d’être triés, assemblés et empaquetés. L’entreprise produit ainsi autour de 6000 tonnes de thé par an, la positionnant parmi les deux autres grands producteurs de la province, Menghai et Xiaguan.

En direct de Nanhua pour goûter le maocha

Une partie du voyage consistait aussi à rencontrer les fermiers et producteurs de la région afin de s’imprégner de leurs terroirs et de mieux connaître leurs façons de transformer les feuilles en maocha. Olivier et Peishan, établis à proximité de Lincang depuis deux ans et connaissant bien les environs, nous ont fait découvrir certains lieux dont une magnifique vallée d’où proviennent deux thés choisis pour notre sélection 2013. C’est ainsi que notre carte se bonifiera cette année d’un thé blanc issu de théiers sauvages ainsi que d’une galette de Pu Er du village de Nanhua. Miam miam !

La coopérative de Rooibos de Wuppertal

15 avril 2013

Église à Wuppertal en Afrique du Sud

Juchée dans les montagnes accidentées de la réserve naturelle de Cederberg, dans le nord de la province du cap occidental de l’Afrique du Sud, se trouve la vallée de Wuppertal. Isolée du monde, un hameau de cottages et une église au toit de chaume y furent construits par des missionnaires allemands dans les années 1830 parmi un petit groupe de familles Khoikhoi. L’introduction des rites chrétiens et la pratique de l’agriculture européenne firent croître la communauté.

Les autochtones de cette région utilisent le rooibos depuis au moins 600 ans comme herbe médicinale et comme infusion. Sa popularité croissante à l’échelle nationale et internationale leur a permis de se concentrer sur son développement et aujourd’hui une coopérative de 93 fermiers de Wuppertal et des environs récolte manuellement la plante, produisant un rooibos de haute qualité. Camellia-Sinensis achète depuis plusieurs années déjà ce produit biologique et équitable!

Arbuste de rooibos adapté l'environnement semi-désertiqueLe rooibos (Aspalathus linearis), de la famille des légumineuses, tire son nom de l’afrikaans et signifie buisson rougeâtre, couleur que prend l’arbuste vers la fin de sa vie. Robuste et adapté au terroir unique des montagnes Cederberg, il entretient une relation symbiotique si importante avec les micro-organismes présents dans les sols qu’il croît exclusivement dans cette région. L’environnement sablonneux et rocheux allié aux périodes de moussons suivies de mois de soleil brûlant permettent à une végétation d’arbustes, de petits arbres et de plantes grasses de s’adapter à ces conditions semi-désertiques. La récolte de janvier à avril peut ainsi voir la température atteindre 40 °C.

Pile de rooibos en transformationChaque fermier dispose d’un champ de la taille d’un à deux terrains de tennis sur lequel sont répartis les jeunes arbustes. Ceux-ci commenceront à produire dès leur troisième année de plantation pour ensuite rougir et mourir vers leur neuvième année d’existence. La taille effectuée à l’aide de la faux traditionnelle permet de récupérer de 30 à 50 % du feuillage supérieur laissant le buisson en santé pour la prochaine saison. La récolte est alors acheminée vers la fabrique de Wuppertal pour déchiqueter à la machine les tiges et les feuilles qui seront ensuite étendues en pile de 30 cm d’épaisseur dans une cours murée.  C’est à cet endroit qu’elles seront broyées, arrosées avec un peu d’eau, laissées au repos de 10 à 14 heures pour s’oxyder et après finement étendues à sécher au soleil. À l’aide d’un système de tri séparant les tiges des feuilles, différents grades de rooibos seront obtenus. Finalement, avant d’être séchés et emballés, les grades seront passés à la vapeur pour une courte pasteurisation, supprimant tout risque de contamination bactérienne.

Kevin Gascoyne

Ivres pour des thés hors de prix.

8 avril 2013

Une scène typique illustrant bien le marché du Pu Er à Jinghong dans le Xishuangbanna,Yunnan.

Notre aventure dans le Yunnan commence avec une journée de dégustation en compagnie de Mme. Wang dans sa boutique de Jinghong. C’est avec une efficacité et une passion évidente qu’elle nous fait goûter ses thés fraîchement sélectionnés des différentes montagnes de la région. Les gaiwans sont remplis de maocha qu’elle rince deux fois, et les infusions se succèdent sans laisser nos tasses vides plus de quelques minutes.

Tout en buvant, nous tâtons le pouls du marché du Pu Er et de l’évolution des prix. Elle nous raconte comment chaque année de plus en plus de riches viennent acheter de grandes quantités des crus recherchés faisant ainsi grimper leur prix en flèche. Des montagnes moins connues voient le prix de leur maocha se décupler rapidement sous l’effet d’achats compulsifs. Par exemple, cette année un homme à acheté pour trois millions de yuans de feuilles du village Banpen qui offrait ses feuilles à 2,5 yuans le kilo il y a quelques années pour voir son prix atteindre maintenant plus de 1000 yuans le kilo! La célèbre Banzhang vend cette année ses feuilles 25 % plus chères que l’an dernier, soit à 4000 yuans le kilo.

Dégustation comparative de Pu Er

Si quelques hommes plus fortunés sont prêts à payer le prix, nous sommes toujours en quête de thés de qualité à prix abordables à ramener au Québec. Nous regoûtons donc certains thés en les comparant côte à côte pour valider nos choix et tirer le meilleur parti de la situation actuelle. Le  corps ayant ses limites, nous rencontrons les nôtres cinq heures plus tard, complètement ivres et fébriles, après avoir dégusté plus de 30 thés et vider 18 litres d’eau !

Nous poursuivrons notre périple au cœur des montagnes du Xishuangbanna avant d’aller explorer la région de Lincang, moins réputée, offrant des trésors cachés.

La passion du feu de Matthieu Huck

2 avril 2013

Chawan signé Matthieu Huck La cuisson au bois est la plus ancestrale des méthodes de cuisson de l’argile. Elle engendre sur les pièces des nuances uniques de couleur et de texture grâce entre autres à la flamme, à la cendre et aux caractéristiques propres du four et du bois utilisé. Matthieu Huck partage son expérience.

Fasciné dès le début de sa carrière de céramiste par l’art du feu, Matthieu Huck oriente rapidement ses recherches vers la théière et le bol à thé. Explorant d’abord leur potentiel sculptural, il se concentre bientôt sur les aspects fonctionnels de ces objets empreints de noblesse. Depuis 2005, la cuisson au bois est devenue indispensable à son travail. Approfondissant d’abord ses connaissances auprès de céramistes d’expérience, il s’installe en 2009 à la campagne et construit son propre four à bois.

«Mon intérêt pour cet art du feu est animé par l’action des flammes, l’atmosphère changeante du four et les dépôts de cendres de bois sur les pièces. Les résultats sont marqués par des nuances variées, créant un décor naturel, minéral et unique… Chaque cuisson est une aventure durant laquelle se produit une communion entre les participants, entre eux et avec le four.»

Les pièces qu’il produit au four à bois, fabriquées de grès ou de porcelaine, sont principalement destinées au thé. Une cuisson dure environ une vingtaine d’heures, pour atteindre 1300 degrés Celsius. Elle requiert une grande quantité de bois, une attention constante et une préparation minutieuse. Les pièces, avec ou sans glaçures, doivent être enfournées avec précision suivant les résultats recherchés.

Matthieu HuckDiplômé du Centre de céramique Bonsecours de Montréal en 2003, Matthieu Huck poursuit sa formation grâce à de nombreux échanges avec différents céramistes de renom (Gilbert Poissant, Québec; Jeff Shapiro, É.-U.; Claude Champy, France). Spécialisé dans le tournage de production, il cumule aussi les expériences de cuisson dans les fours à bois d’autres potiers.

Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix, bourses et mentions, il reçoit, en 2011, le grand prix Chawan décerné par l’école de cérémonie du thé Urasenke de Montréal dans le cadre de l’exposition 1001 POTS, ainsi que le premier prix dans la catégorie « Jarre à thé vieilli » du concours TERRE & THÉ de la maison de thé Camellia Sinensis.

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les deux mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter