Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Tokoname, Aichi Prefecture, Japan.

24 May 2013

at 15:09 by Seb

A piece from M.Murata

On a lovely afternoon in May we arrive in Tokoname, the peaceful coastal town that specializes in the traditional artisanal craft of Kyusu teapots. In the schedule, to visit some pottery workshops for more insight into the different manufacturing techniques of teapots and the  typical firing methods in the region, the ‘mogake’ technique used to obtain an organic decoration made with seaweed from the Tokoname shoreline, and the ‘yohen’ method from which come the famous pieces of two contrasting colours, orange red to coal black.

Mr. Yoshiki Murata is one of the potters that we had the chance to meet. He has 30 years of experience in the field and in his spare time, he likes to experiment with different kinds of clays, shapes and firings. He also exercises to develop the strength he needs to do his job and to avoid being too slim: what a character! When we visited his studio, he had just completed a one week firing in a traditional wood oven for fun and showed us the results. Fascinating, each piece a universe in itself. The ash which is deposited throughout the firing becomes vitrified forming a partial glaze where different colours appear on the pieces depending on the minerals in the clay and in the wood species used in firing. Out of curiosity, we asked what might the price be for a piece derived from such a long firing, and had to simply dream about taking them home: a few thousand dollars per piece!

M.Yoshiki Murata in demonstration!

Besides his many explorations, Mr. Murata specializes in turning small teapots with various shapes and colours and of extraordinary refinement. To fashion his pieces, he uses a local stoneware clay containing high levels of iron to which he adds a pigment that also contains high levels of iron, which is called ‘Bengara’. It is this pigment which gives the beautiful orange red colour  typical of Tokoname ceramics

The pieces are subjected to two firings in an electric kiln. A first at high temperature to vitrify the clay, at 1150 ° C, and a second at 800 ° C for the decoration technique with seaweed (mogake) or the primitive method done with smoke firing husks of rice grains (yohen). For both techniques, low temperature is required.

Kyusu teapots are particular in not being  enamelled so the wall is very slightly porous and can enhance infusions over time. Mr. Murata recommends black teapots for dark teas and predominantly orange red teapots for lighter teas. We will soon have some Kyusu from Mr. Murata, pass by one of our shops to see the pieces fresh from the shores of the Sea of Japan.


Bringing the Freshness Home 2013

13 May 2013

at 21:59 by Seb

Le Darjeeling Jungapa DJ-20 choisi à la source.

This weekend, in each of our stores, we hosted the first tasting event of the Spring Teas 2013 series.  Clients flocked in to taste the fresh Darjeelings.

We had advertized the events through the website, with print media, posters and social media.  Everything had been carefully planned and we were all ready to put the kettles on Saturday morning to impress the crowd with the first teas of the new harvest we had selected for our catalogue in Asia this Spring.  All we were missing were the teas!

The previous weekend, the Darjeelings had still not left the gardens and after a week of transport strike and power cuts the tension was beginning to mount  Once they made it to Kolkata they were shipped on, travelling by plane through Dubai and then Paris where they were delayed yet another day before taking the Paris flight to Montreal.  With little time left they arrived in Canada on Thursday afternoon where they still had to clear customs.

Robert at BGL, our trusty customs brokers,  remained very patient as I called for regular updates (thanks Robert!) At last he reported: ‘They are through customs and will be with you tomorrow’ .

On Friday afternoon when the teas finally arrived, the super team in the warehouse were all set up, bags printed and boxes at the ready (thanks super team!) They unpacked the teas and rapidly prepared the thematic tasting kits for each store,

At five o’clock on Friday Jean-Philippe, our warehouse manager, screeched up in a taxi and delivered the teas personally to the Emery store then put the Québec store teas on the bus where they were picked up early Saturday morning by the staff before the shift. Though it reminded me of the romantic excitement of the Clippers racing around the planet to bring the new teas, at the time it felt more like an episode of 24 Hours!!

On Saturday morning the clients arrived, drawn to taste the freshness.  As the divine liquors charmed their senses and tingled their neurons in the calmness of our stores, they had no idea of the frantic series of events that had made it possible.

In the tea world we often discuss the relationship between stress and flavour profile and I can vouch that that day the new Darjeelings tasted particularly special to me……

Kevin.

Join us for our upcoming thematic Tasting Events and Tasting Kits in our stores and online……

Shou Pu Er reinvented!

6 May 2013

at 16:42 by Seb

Mr.Chan showing us the fermentation process

Developments in the Pu Er market in Hong Kong have had a strong influence in the creation of a new way of producing tea with healthy digestive properties ideal for the restaurant industry, the “shou” process. Since the 1970s, this type of Pu Er is produced by accelerated fermentation making it possible to supply an increasing demand. Though this tea, manufactured for daily consumption, does not raise that much interest among collectors of great teas, there are nonetheless shou Pu Er of exceptional quality.

Our recent visit to Yunnan gave us the chance to see the attention given, by some producers, to the different quality criteria for producing this tea. Consequently our selection will soon include a Pu Er from a plantation of tea about fifty years old, located at over 1,800 meters on the Bada mountain. Cake enthusiasts can also satisfy their collector ambitions with a Pu Er from old tea trees from the Bulang Mountains.

The meeting with Mr Chan, source of inspiration and expertise, was even more instructive in providing us some clarifications on the “shou” process, cornerstone of the characteristic taste of this type of tea. We had the honour to visit his warehouse and the fermentation room. Mr Chan was particularly pleased with the improvements introduced in his new spaces significantly increasing the quality of the final product. Better ventilation and a porous floor, limiting the excess moisture, making a more pleasant sensory environment. The smell of the leaves after only ten days of fermentation offered fruity nuances reminiscent the fragrance of certain Chinese wulongs. Hopefully our interest in these teas from the front line is echoed among those seeking new teas!

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Tokoname, préfecture d’Aichi, Japon.

24 mai 2013

Une des pièces de M.Yoshiki Murata

Par un bel après-midi du mois de mai, nous arrivons à Tokoname, petite ville côtière du pacifique qui se spécialise dans l’artisanat local traditionnel des théières kyusu. Au programme, visite de quelques ateliers de potiers afin de mieux comprendre les différentes techniques de fabrication des théières ainsi que les méthodes de cuisson typiques de la région, soit la technique ‘mogake’ pour l’obtention d’un décor organique fait avec des algues provenant des berges de Tokoname et la méthode ‘yohen’ d’où résulte les fameuses pièces à deux couleurs opposées, le rouge orangé au noir charbon.

M. Yoshiki Murata est un des céramistes que nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer. Il a 30 ans d’expérience dans le métier et dans ses temps libres, il aime expérimenter différentes sortes d’argiles, de formes et de cuissons en plus de s’entraîner car il a besoin de force pour exercer son métier et n’aime pas être trop mince: quel personnage! Lors de notre passage dans son atelier, il venait de faire une cuisson d’une semaine dans un four à bois traditionnel par pur plaisir et nous a montré les résultats. Fascinant, chaque pièce est un univers en soi. Les cendres qui se déposent au fil de la cuisson deviennent vitrifiées et forment une glaçure partielle où différentes couleurs apparaissent sur les pièces tout dépendant des minéraux contenus dans l’argile et des essences de bois utilisées lors de la cuisson. Par curiosité, nous avons demandé que pourrait être le prix de vente d’une pièce issue d’une si longue cuisson et avons décidé de continuer de rêver: quelques milliers de dollars chaque pièce!

M.Yoshiki Murata.

Outre ses multiples explorations, M. Murata se spécialise dans le tournage de théières de petits formats aux formes et couleurs variées et d’un raffinement hors du commun. Pour la confection de ses pièces, il utilise un grès local contenant un haut taux de fer dans lequel il ajoute un pigment qui contient lui aussi un taux élevé de fer qui se nomme ‘bengara’. C’est ce pigment qui donne la belle couleur rouge orangée typique des objets de Tokoname.

Les pièces subissent deux cuissons dans un four électrique. Une première à haute température pour vitrifier la terre, soit 1150 °C et une seconde à 800 °C pour pouvoir appliquer la technique du décor aux algues (mogake) ou pour la méthode de cuisson primitive d’enfumage fait avec les cosses de grains de riz (yohen). Pour ces deux techniques, la basse température est requise.

Les théières kyusu ont la particularité de ne pas être émaillées donc la paroi reste légèrement poreuse et permet de bonifier les infusions au fil du temps. M. Murata recommande les théières noires pour les thés foncés et les théières à la prédominance rouge orangé pour les thés plus pâles.  Nous aurons sous peu quelques kyusu de M. Murata et vous n’aurez qu’à passer dans une de nos boutiques pour admirer les pièces et vous laisser transporter jusqu’au bord de la mer nippone.

La fraîcheur à nos portes 2013

13 mai 2013

Le Darjeeling Jungpana DJ-20 choisi à la source.

La fin de semaine dernière, dans chacune de nos boutiques nous avons célébré le premier événement de la série thés de printemps 2013. Les clients affluaient pour goûter la fraîcheur des Darjeeling.

Notre site internet en faisait la promotion et en boutique, affiches et cartons d’invitations présentaient l’événement. Tout avait été prévu et nous étions tous prêts à activer nos bouilloires samedi matin pour impressionner la foule avec nos thés primeurs choisis ce printemps en Asie. Il nous manquait seulement un détail: les thés!

La fin de semaine précédente, les Darjeeling n’avaient toujours pas quitté les jardins et après une semaine de grève de transport et de coupure de courant, la tension commençait à croître. Une fois rendus à Kolkata, ils furent expédiés par avion jusqu’à Dubai, puis vers Paris où un délai supplémentaire d’une journée les attendait avant de prendre leur vol final pour Montréal. Avec un horaire aussi serré, ils arrivèrent au Canada jeudi après-midi ou ils devaient être dédouanés.

Robert chez BGL, notre fidèle courtier en douane, demeura plus que patient devant mes multiples requêtes téléphoniques (merci Robert!). Finalement il m’informa que nous les aurions le lendemain.

Vendredi après-midi lorsque les thés parvinrent enfin à l’entrepôt, notre super équipe à l’affut avait déjà à porté de main sacs imprimés et boites montées, prête à passer à l’action (merci, vous êtes des pros!). Les thés furent rapidement ensachés et les ensembles de dégustation thématiques mis en boites pour chacune des boutiques.

À 17 heures, Jean-Philippe notre gérant d’entrepôt sauta dans un taxi et apporta lui même les thés à notre boutique sur Emery avant d’envoyer la boite pour Québec par autobus où elle serait récupérée samedi matin par un employé avant l’ouverture du magasin. Tandis que ça me fait penser à une de ces fabuleuses et excitantes courses de Clippers autour de la planète pour rapporter les thés d’Asie, ce jour là j’avais plutôt l’impression d’un épisode de 24 heures!!

Samedi matin, les clients apparurent interpellés par la fraicheur. Et comme le divin nectar charmait leurs sens et émoustillait leurs neurones dans le calme de nos boutiques, ils n’avaient aucune idée des trépidantes péripéties précédant le succès de l’événement.

Dans l’univers du thé, nous mentionnons régulièrement la relation entre « stress  » et qualité aromatique. Je peux témoigner que ce jour là les nouveaux Darjeeling étaient particulièrement exquis…

Kevin.

Joignez-vous à nous pour nos prochains événements de dégustation thématique et pour nos ensembles en boutique et en ligne…

Le Pu Er shou réinventé!

6 mai 2013

M.Chan nous montrant la fermentation

L’évolution du marché du Pu Er à Hong Kong a fortement participé à la création d’une nouvelle façon de produire un thé aux vertus digestives idéales pour le secteur de la restauration, le procédé « shou ». Depuis les années 1970, ce type de Pu Er est produit sous l’effet d’une fermentation accélérée permettant ainsi d’approvisionner une demande sans cesse croissante. Si ce thé promis à la consommation quotidienne ne suscite que peu d’intérêt chez les collectionneurs de grands crus, il existe tout de même des Pu Er shou de qualité exceptionnelle.

Notre visite récente au Yunnan nous a permis de constater l’attention portée par certains producteurs aux différents critères de qualité de fabrication de ce thé. C’est ainsi que notre sélection comportera prochainement un Pu Er issu d’une plantation de théiers âgés d’une cinquantaine d’années, située à plus de 1800 mètres sur la montagne Bada. Les amateurs de galettes pourront aussi satisfaire leurs ambitions de collectionneurs avec un Pu Er provenant de vieux théiers des monts Bulang.

La rencontre avec M.Chan, source d’inspiration et de connaissances, fût des plus instructive en nous apportant quelques précisions concernant le procédé « shou », clé de voûte du goût caractéristique de ce type de thé. Nous avons donc eu l’honneur de visiter son entrepôt ainsi que la salle de fermentation. M.Chan était particulièrement satisfait des améliorations introduites dans ses nouveaux espaces, augmentant ainsi considérablement la qualité de son produit final. Une meilleure ventilation et un plancher poreux (limitant les excès d’humidité) permettant alors une réaction des plus agréable à sentir. L’odeur des feuilles après seulement dix jours de fermentation offre des nuances fruitées rappelant le parfum de certains wulong de Chine. Espérons que notre intérêt pour ces thés issus de l’avant garde trouve son écho chez tous ceux en quête de produits nouveaux!

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter