Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

France Turcotte: Happiness is in the teapot

1 August 2013

at 10:34 by Seb

DSC_5186

France Turcotte has practised the craft of pottery for over 35 years. Throughout these years she has explored many avenues offered by ceramics: raku firing, smoke firing, porcelain, turning small batches. One of these paths is of particular interest: the creation of teapots. For a potter, the design of a teapot represents a great technical  and aesthetic challenge both through the search for balance in the integration of  various parts and the search for harmony between form, function, decoration and glaze. She turns her teapots on the wheel with a white clay which she fires in an electric oven at 1200 ° C.

F TurcotteFrance Turcotte divides her time between her studio and the Sainte-Foy Ceramic Centre, of which she is the director. Never in her career, has she ceased to be filled with a passion for ceramics and every day she rejoices at how lucky she is to practice this craft.

She won the 2010 prize for  “Teapot and tea bowl sets” in the “Clay and tea, Quebec teaware contest”  at Camellia Sinensis tea house.

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every two months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

France Turcotte: Le bonheur est dans la théière

1 août 2013

DSC_5186

France Turcotte pratique le métier de potière depuis plus de 35 ans. Elle a exploré tout au long de ces années plusieurs des nombreuses avenues qu’offre la céramique: cuissons raku, enfumage,  porcelaine, tournage de petites séries. Une de ces avenues a particulièrement suscité son intérêt : la création de théières. En effet, pour un potier, la conception d’une théière représente un grand défi technique et esthétique tant par la recherche de l’équilibre lors de l’intégration des différentes parties que par la recherche de l’harmonie entre la forme, la fonction, le décor et la glaçure. Elle réalise ses théières  au tour avec un grès blanc qu’elle cuit au four électrique à 1200 °C.

F TurcotteFrance Turcotte partage son temps entre son atelier et le Centre de céramique de Sainte-Foy, dont elle est la directrice. Jamais, au cours de sa carrière, elle n’a cessé d’être habité par la passion de la céramique et elle se réjouie chaque jour, de la chance qu’elle a de pratiquer ce métier.

Elle a remporté en 2010 le prix «  Ensemble théières et bols à thé »  du concours «  Terre et thé, concours québécois des objets du thé » de la maison de thé Camellia Sinensis.

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les deux mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter