Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Tencha

24 October 2013

at 13:00 by Seb

P1050716

Generally we hear more of matcha than of tencha. The latter being simply the “raw” product, specifically manufactured to be ground into the  green tea powder called matcha.

During our last trip to Uji in Japan, we had the chance to taste various quality levels of Tencha. The best are free of stems and fibre. A pinch of the dry leaf simple melts deliciously in the mouth and instantly had us thinking of using it in the kitchen  …

P1050725

On our return, we tested a few ideas and loved the results! Tencha is ideal as a condiment or finishing spice.  On a salmon fillet or coating a seared scallop before serving.  Replace basil leaves on slices of fresh tomatoes and mozzarella with tencha leaves, sprinkle on a salad or even on a chocolate cake .. Let us know if you have any other ideas….

Discover tea differently!

New herbal teas!

11 October 2013

at 8:42 by Seb

DSC_5852

Whereas with tea we must travel to mountains and countries overseas to meet our producers, it is with great pleasure that the process of tasting and selecting our herbal teas is done with producers and herbalists from Quebec! Just as with tea, we have made a careful approach to tasting in order to create different herbal mixtures with harmonious aromas and flavors. Originating, for the most part, from Quebec, the mixtures contain whole plants harvested by hand and dried in the traditional way, retaining all their aromatic oils and beneficial effects.

Divided into three groups, you will discover a world of new fragrances and of different plants such as verbena, agastache (=Giant Hyssop, Licorice Mint, or Lavender Hyssop), raspberry, nettle, wintergreen, hops, lavender, yarrow, and lemon balm as marvellous  accompaniments to your late evenings.

Happy explorations!

Artisan of nature, noble porcelain

2 October 2013

at 10:49 by Seb

Cabinet à thé1

Renaud Sauvé was born in Montreal. For a several years, with his family, he lived in Africa in Congo-Kinshasa and Congo-Brazzaville. He received his first initiation in turning clay at college, then a full-time course – 1990-1991 – at the Centre de Céramique Bonsecours in Montreal. Subsequently he worked with various Quebec potters. He studied philosophy at university, touched upon other professions and artistic media (painting, fresco, mosaic) and travelled several continents as a stagehand for Cirque du Soleil. In 2008, he finally established his own workshop in Ireland, a small municipality in the Bois-Francs, and there began production of turned porcelain pieces. Each piece is turned and decorated by hand before being baked in an oven.

His ceramic work is nourished by life inasmuch as it is elemental: “My sources of inspiration are many. Certainly nature is  principal. The simple act of living in the forest, open and receptive to what is going on. I’m trying to reconcile what I see and what I feel, as a slow way towards a calm and quiet life. I seek to develop a sense of transposing designs from nature or from my domestic environment. I conceive my work as a dialogue with nature and also a dialogue with the history of ceramics and porcelain in particular. ”

photo-renaud1-2

Renaud Sauvé is inspired by the Asiatic ceramics of China, Japan and Korea, where  porcelain originated. To his mind, the pieces that come from these countries have reached such a level of sophistication, sincerity and authenticity that anyone who wants to work with porcelain cannot ignore this tradition. He also appreciates the rich decorations of  Persian and Islamic ceramics.

His pieces are sold in some speciality boutiques in Montreal, Quebec and Toronto.

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every two months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Tencha

24 octobre 2013

P1050716

On entend parler davantage du matcha que du tencha. Ce dernier est tout simplement le produit « brut », prêt à être moulu afin de devenir cette jolie poudre verte que l’on nomme matcha.

Durant notre dernier voyage à Uji au Japon, nous avons eu la chance de déguster plusieurs niveaux de qualité de Tencha. Les meilleures sont souvent exemptes de toutes branches et de nervures. En croquant l’une de ces belles feuilles, nous avons été fort surpris du plaisir gustatif que nous avions et nous n’avons pu nous empêcher de les imaginer dans la finition d’un plat…

P1050725

À notre retour, nous avons testé quelques idées et nous avons adoré les résultats! Nous suggérons de l’utiliser comme condiment ou épice de finition; sur un pavé de saumon, par exemple, ou encore pour  enrober un pétoncle poêlé avant le service. D’autres idées? Remplacez les feuilles de basilic sur des tranches de tomates fraîches et mozzarella par des feuilles de tencha, saupoudrez sur une salade ou simplement le parsemer sur une tarte au chocolat…

Découvrir le thé autrement, c’est aussi ça notre plaisir !

Des tisanes nouvelles !

11 octobre 2013

DSC_5852

Alors que pour le thé, nous devons obligatoirement parcourir pays et montagnes à l’étranger pour rencontrer nos producteurs, c’est avec grand plaisir que le processus de dégustation et de sélection de nos tisanes s’est fait avec des producteurs et des herboristes du Québec !  Comme pour le thé, nous avons procédé à une démarche de dégustation afin de dénicher différents mélanges de plantes aux arômes et aux saveurs harmonieuses.  Provenant, pour la grande majorité, des plus beaux coins de notre belle province,  les mélanges contiennent des plantes entières récoltées à la main et séchées de façon traditionnelle, conservant ainsi toutes leurs huiles aromatiques et leurs bienfaits.

Réparties en trois gammes, vous découvrirez un monde de fragrances nouvelles où différentes plantes comme la verveine, l’agastache, le framboisier, l’ortie, le thé des bois, le houblon, la lavande, l’achillée millefeuille, la mélisse émerveilleront vos fins de soirée.

Bonne découverte et bonne dégustation !

Artisan de la nature, noble porcelaine

2 octobre 2013

Cabinet à thé1

Renaud Sauvé est né à Montréal. Pendant quelques années, avec sa famille, il a vécu en Afrique au Congo-Kinshasa et au Congo-Brazzaville. Il suit ses premiers cours d’initiation de tournage au collège,  puis des cours à temps plein – 1990-1991 – au Centre de Céramique Bonsecours à Montréal. Par la suite, il a travaillé avec différents potiers québécois. Il a étudié la philosophie à l’université, touché à d’autres métiers et médias artistiques (peinture, fresque, mosaïque) et  parcouru plusieurs continents comme accessoiriste pour le Cirque du Soleil. En 2008, il a finalement établi son propre atelier à Irlande, petite municipalité dans les Bois-Francs, et y a débuté une production de pièces tournées en porcelaine. Chaque pièce est tournée et décorée à la main avant d’être cuite dans un four électrique.

Son travail de céramiste s’alimente de la vie en ce qu’elle a d’élémentaire : « Mes sources d’inspiration sont multiples. Sûrement la nature est la principale. Le simple fait de vivre dans la forêt, disposé et réceptif à ce qui s’y passe. J’essaie de concilier ce que je vois et ce que je sens, comme une manière lente de vouloir une vie calme et silencieuse. Je cherche donc à développer un sens de transposition des motifs provenant de la nature ou de mon environnement domestique. Je conçois mon travail comme un dialogue avec la nature et aussi un dialogue avec l’histoire de la céramique et de la porcelaine en particulier. »

photo-renaud1-2

Renaud Sauvé s’inspire de la céramique asiatique de la Chine, du Japon et de la Corée d’où est originaire la porcelaine. Selon lui, les pièces qui proviennent de ces différents pays sont arrivées à un tel degré de raffinement, de sincérité et d’authenticité que celui qui veut travailler la porcelaine ne peut ignorer cette tradition. Il apprécie aussi la richesse des décors de la céramique perse et islamique.

Ses pièces sont vendues dans quelques boutiques spécialisées à Montréal, à Québec et à Toronto.

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les deux mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter