Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Precious Drops: Tea the Price of Gold

22 January 2014

at 15:27 by Seb

FINAL (?) - Illustration - temomicha couleur

For the last three years it has been our pleasure to offer the fruits of a small scale Japanese tea production technique, Temomicha. Produced entirely by hand by a remaining hundred or so producers who strive to preserve this tradition.  This exceptionally rare tea is generally intended for annual competitions (in order to acquire a reputation for excellence). Thus it is a great privilege to invite you to savour the intensity of a few drops of the nectar generated by Mr.Miyano’s carefully formed tea.

The infusion method that we suggest is as original as the tea itself. It allows us to appreciate the full potential of a Temomicha and to explore all its subtleties!

Using a Shiboridashi or small flattened shaped porcelain vessel place 4 to 5 grams of the long tea leaves lengthways to create a long pyramid.

DSC_2762The infusions will be made with very little water at a surprisingly low temperature poured both sides of the leaves allowing the infusion to take place from underneath.

Here are the recommendations of Mr. Miyano:

First infusion: 2 minutes with 25 ml of water at 50 ° C

2nd infusion: 1 minute with 25 ml of water at 60 ° C

3rd infusion: 45 sec. with 50 ml of water at 70 ° C

4th infusion and following: 2 minutes and with 100 ml of water at 75 ° C

For each infusion, it is important to transfer every single drop of the liquid so as to not affect the following infusion.

Then prepare yourself to experience a few precious drops of a dense liquor with vegetable and floral aromas of remarkably long persistence. Despite the small amount of liquid that the technique provides us for tasting, the effect on the palate is powerful and can even be accompanied by a euphoric flush. A recommended experience for all seekers of the sensational!

Some Wulongs to counteract winter

9 January 2014

at 23:18 by Seb

DSC02713

While the summer heat might make our mouth water at the sight of white and green teas with their refreshing virtues, the chill of the winter season naturally calls for tea with a more ‘cozy’ flavour. Warm and dark teas, with aromas of wood, roasted nuts or candied fruit will perhaps be those that meet your needs. The Wulongs, black teas and Pu Er offer such a vast choice of teas to discover! Here are some pointers to locate these warming teas in the little known Wulong family.

Just like an apple cut and left in the open air, the oxidation that the leaves undergo during processing allows the development of their darker pigments while altering their internal chemical structure. Hundreds of different aromatic molecules are thus generated naturally creating an impressive range of fragrances, from floral and fruity notes for less oxidized teas with woody and spicy nuances for the darker ones.

Some are cooked or roasted accentuating their characteristic sweet nuances of honey and pastry. The cookings also enable alteration of the flavors and textures of teas while prolonging their lives. Here is an opportunity to risk an adventure into an aged wulong with aromas of pipe tobacco, toasted cereals or dried fruit, maybe facilitating the  emergence of old memories!

Here are three terroirs to discover illustrating the diversity of flavors, textures and aromas of this fine family of teas:

Though the island of Taiwan offers the sophistication of teas with low oxidation, produced its renowned mountains with altitudes exceeding 1000 meters, the traditional roastings of Dong Ding as well as Bai Hao and Gaba Cha, being more highly oxidized, will fill your taste buds with rich sweet flavors of exotic fruits and opulent flowers. Fans of aged teas will also find new favourites with an original selection of supple teas with warm nuances of scorched bark, black earth or cocoa.

The two provinces of Guangdong and Fujian compete for the quality of their roasted wulongs with long twisted leaves. The Feng Huang mountains (Guangdong), populated by old tea trees and varied cultivars with the names of exotic flowers, present teas which are bright and lofty with strong flavors of citrus and honey. Mi Lan Xiang is definitely a must try! The curious could also try one of our rarities from a single tea tree (of venerable age!) offering a profound taste experience.

Fujian, meanwhile, generally produces more heavily roasted teas from tea trees perched on the sides of mountains in the heart of the famous Wuyi Mountains. These teas, with large blackened leaves, develop ample liquors, soft and mineral with malty and woody aromas, nuanced with accents of ripe fruits and nuts. Dare to try the teas from this region in combinations with your Scotch whisky, cheese or favourite chocolates to enhance the warmth of your gastronomic pleasures.

Wishing you a warm start to the year and a multitude of opportunities for sharing this sublime drink – tea, across its many dimensions, and for greater pleasure!

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Quelques gouttes d’un thé à prix d’or!

22 janvier 2014

FINAL (?) - Illustration - temomicha couleur

Voilà maintenant trois ans que nous vous proposons avec joie le fruit d’une technique japonaise marginale, le temomicha. Entièrement fait à la main par une centaine de producteurs qui œuvrent à conserver cette tradition, ce thé exceptionnellement rare est généralement destiné aux concours annuels en vue d’acquérir une réputation d’excellence. C’est donc avec un grand privilège que nous vous invitons à savourer l’intensité que peuvent avoir quelques gouttes du nectar obtenu de ce thé soigneusement transformé par M.Miyano.

La méthode d’infusion que nous suggérons pour apprécier le plein potentiel d’un temomicha et découvrir toutes ses subtilités est tout aussi originale que le thé lui-même!


Ainsi, c’est à l’intérieur d’un shiboridashi, un petit contenant de porcelaine à la forme aplatie, que nous déposerons 4 à 5 grammes de temomicha en disposant les longues feuilles sur le sens de la longueur tout en créant une légère pyramide.

DSC_2762

Ensuite les infusions devront se faire avec très peu d’eau à une température étonnement basse en versant l’eau de chaque côté des feuilles pour que l’infusion se fasse par le dessous.

Voici les recommandations de M. Miyano :

1ère infusion : 2 minutes avec 25 ml d’eau à 50°C

2ième infusion : 1 minute avec 25 ml d’eau à 60°C

3ième infusion : 45 sec. avec 50 ml d’eau à 70°C

4ième infusion et suivantes : 2 minutes et plus avec 100 ml d’eau à 75°C

À chaque infusion, il est important de transvider le liquide jusqu’à la dernière goutte pour ne pas que l’infusion se poursuive.

Préparez-vous alors à accueillir les quelques gouttes précieuses d’une liqueur dense aux arômes végétales et florales d’une longue persistance. Et malgré l’infime quantité de liquide que cette technique permet d’obtenir pour la dégustation, l’effet en bouche est puissant et peut même parfois être accompagné d’une légère sensation euphorisante. Une expérience que je souhaite à tout amateur de sensations fortes!

Des Wulong pour contrer l’hiver

9 janvier 2014

DSC02713

Si la chaleur de l’été nous fait saliver à la vue des thés blancs et verts aux vertus rafraîchissantes, la froideur de l’hiver appelle naturellement le goût pour des thés offrant un certain réconfort. Des thés chauds et foncés aux arômes de bois, de noix grillées ou de fruits confits seront peut-être intuitivement ceux qui vous satisferont le plus. Wulong, thés noirs et Pu Er offrent alors un vaste choix de thés à découvrir! Voici donc quelques repères pour situer ces thés chaleureux parmi la famille peu connue des Wulong.

Tout comme la pomme coupée et laissée à l’air libre, l’oxydation que subissent les feuilles lors de leur transformation permet de développer leurs pigments plus foncés tout en modifiant leurs structures chimiques internes. Plusieurs centaines de molécules aromatiques différentes sont ainsi naturellement générées, créant une impressionnante gamme de parfums passant des notes florales et fruitées pour les thés moins oxydés aux nuances boisées et épicées pour les plus foncés.

Certains sont cuits ou torréfiés, accentuant ainsi leurs caractères sucrés de nuances mielleuses et pâtissières. Les cuissons permettent aussi de modifier les saveurs et textures des thés tout en prolongeant leur durée de vie. Voici l’occasion de risquer l’aventure d’un Wulong vieilli aux arômes de tabac à pipe, de céréales grillées ou de fruits secs, laissant de vieux souvenirs émerger!

Voici trois terroirs à découvrir illustrant la diversité de saveurs, de textures et d’arômes de cette belle famille de thés :

- Si l’Ile de Taiwan offre le raffinement des thés faiblement oxydés qui sont produits sur ses montagnes de renoms aux altitudes dépassant les 1000 mètres, les cuissons traditionnelles de Dong Ding ainsi que les Bai Hao et Gaba Cha, plus fortement oxydés, combleront vos papilles de riches saveurs sucrées de fruits exotiques et de fleurs opulentes. Les amateurs de thés vieillis y trouveront aussi leur compte avec une sélection originale de thés souples aux chaudes nuances d’écorce brulée, de terre noire ou de cacao.

- Les deux provinces du Guangdong et du Fujian rivalisent pour la qualité de leur Wulong torréfiés aux longues feuilles torsadées. Les monts Feng Huang (Guangdong), peuplés de vieux théiers et de cultivars variés aux noms de fleurs exotiques, présentent des thés vifs et aériens aux puissantes saveurs d’agrumes et de miel. Le Mi Lan Xiang est un incontournable à essayer au moins une fois dans sa vie! Les curieux pourront se laisser tenter par une de nos raretés issues de théiers uniques d’âge vénérable et offrant une profonde expérience gustative.

- Le Fujian quant à lui produit des thés généralement plus fortement torréfiés à partir de théiers juchés à flanc de montagne au cœur des célèbres monts Wuyi. Ces thés aux larges feuilles noircies développent des liqueurs amples, douces et minérales aux arômes maltés et boisés, nuancées d’accents de fruits mûrs et de noix. Osez essayer les thés de cette région en accords avec vos scotchs, fromages ou chocolats préférés afin d’agrémenter votre réconfort de plaisirs gastronomiques.

En vous souhaitant un chaleureux début d’année et une multitude d’occasions de partage de ce breuvage sublime qu’est le thé, à travers ses nombreuses facettes et pour notre plus grand plaisir!

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter