Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Black Tea: From Historical Necessity to Daily Pleasure.

21 February 2014

at 8:51 by Seb

Dégustation thés noirs

Thanks to the wide ranging popularity that this family of tea has experienced over the last three centuries there are few people who have never tasted black tea. Imported from China in the early 17th century, the British soon introduced the beverage into their diet for its virtues and obvious daily benefits. The late afternoon break when tea was served with milk, sugar and a snack enabled the population to withstand the harsh working conditions required by the industrial revolution.

From one revolution to another, the one we make around the sun, brings, each year, a season where the weather encourages us to seek rich and invigorating beverages. While some terroirs are well known, others, more discreet, offer black teas that will also enhance your mornings or your return from winter outings. Here are some tantalizing ideas!

oxydation

The long smothered oxidation method, used on the carefully selected, fine leaves and buds of Chinese Black teas creates rich and sweet liquors, with surprising velvety textures. Their aromas of resinous wood, cocoa or peanut mingle with more delicate fragrances of rose or blackcurrant. While some are sweet and refined, others have more rustic notes of wood fire or leather. Follow the development and diversification of these teas which are increasingly popular in China.

Though the modern mechanization of tea from British know-how has flooded the market with blends and classic brands, why not indulge in the experience of a single garden tea. From Assam to Nilgiri, Sri Lanka, Kenya, discover the malty and woody flavors of these full bodied teas with accents of spices or dried fruits. Accessible and versatile, with or without milk, they will rekindle your sparkle in this icy season!

With its different harvests, the Darjeeling region provides balanced and complex liquors with a wide range of flavors, from nuances of springtime, vegetal and floral, to the comforting character of the summer and autumn productions with notes of hard wood tree bark and caramel. Sophisticated and tasty, these liquors have vanquished the world under the name of champagnes of black teas!

The more adventurous will be delighted with the full and sweet liquor of Nadeshiko, a recent innovation from Japan. Taiwan can also impress us with its famous Sun Moon Lake with vegetal and minty notes, or, from the east coast, Hualien Fengmi with intense floral and honeyed fragrances.

Let yourself be charmed by the rich diversity of black teas and accompany all your friendly gatherings with the simple pleasures of the communal teapot!

LaKyrsiew: Elegant Finesse from the Lost Hills of Meghalaya

4 February 2014

at 8:50 by Seb

meg
Almost two hundred years ago, before India was cultivating tea, the East India Company sent agents around the sub-continent to identify ideal locations for this new project.

The forest-covered hills of the relatively unknown State of Meghalaya to the South of Assam were one of the regions found to have perfect conditions.  However due to its isolation and lack of inhabitants for labour, plans for the region were abandoned for fear that it would be too costly compared to the high yielding region of neighbouring Assam.  At that time plans were abandoned and the land was left wild.

meg2

Two centuries later in 2000, these old plans were discovered and revived. LaKyrsiew Tea Garden was planted using Darjeeling cultivars such as AV2, T78 and B312 to take advantage of North facing slopes that rise between 1000m and 1300m above the plains.  Virgin scrub and woodland were cleared thus the soil is rich with nutrients that heavily cultivated estates cannot match.  Organic cultivation practices were observed from the beginning. Care was taken with the contouring to protect the valuable topsoil from the run off of the region’s heavy monsoon rains.  The fields of the garden are watered from a spring deep in the jungles on the steepest part of the estate’s land that yields clean, sweet water all year round.

The LaKyrsiew team set up the project for high quality, from their fine plucking through the Darjeeling style hard wither and high fire.  The garden has its own private factory with many well-considered details such as their fancy brass rolling table.

Due to a relatively late prune in February/March their First Flush begins late April or early May.

Exclusive to Camellia Sinensis in North America, LaKyrsiew’s teas have are made in extremely limited quantities. In 2012 the garden produced less than 500kg, less than many Assam gardens produce on a good day!

The combination of premium soil, plant selection and obsessive attention to detail have produced this exquisite tea with a very original flavour profile.  Consistency will be a big challenge in future years I look forward to visiting LaKyrsiew this Spring whilst in India and following this fascinating story.

“The LaKyrsiew of Meghalaya is an exceptional black tea: unexpected ‘completeness’ and finesse-solid structure and definition – light, ethereal delivery… ” Kevin

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Thé noir : D’une nécessité historique au plaisir quotidien!

21 février 2014

Dégustation thés noirs

Grâce au puissant rayonnement que les thés noirs ont connus au fil des trois derniers siècles, rare sont ceux qui n’ont jamais goûté à un thé de cette famille. Importée de Chine dès le début du 17 siècle, les britanniques ont rapidement introduit cette boisson dans leur diète en raison de ses vertus et du bienfait évident qu’elle apportait au quotidien. La pause de fin d’après-midi où le thé était servi avec du lait, du sucre et un goûter permit ainsi à la population de résister aux rudes conditions de travail exigées par la révolution industrielle.

Une autre révolution, celle que nous faisons autour du soleil, nous fait vivre chaque année une saison où le climat nous incite à rechercher des boissons riches et vivifiantes. Si certains terroirs sont bien connus, d’autres plus discrets vous offrent des thés noirs qui sauront aussi agrémenter vos matinées ou vos retours d’excursions hivernales. Voici donc quelques idées alléchantes!

oxydationLa longue oxydation à l’étouffée, par laquelle passent les fines feuilles et bourgeons soigneusement sélectionnés des thés de Chine, engendre des liqueurs riches et douces, aux textures surprenantes et onctueuses. Leurs arômes de bois résineux, de cacao ou d’arachides côtoient les parfums plus délicats de rose ou de cassis. Si certains sont suaves et fins, d’autres plus rustiques présentent des notes de feu de bois ou de cuir. Suivez l’épanouissement et la diversification de ces thés de plus en plus populaire en Chine.

Si la mécanisation moderne des thés issus du savoir-faire britannique inonde le marché de recettes et marques classiques, pourquoi ne pas vous laisser tenter par l’expérience d’un thé d’origine unique. De l’Assam aux Nilgiri, du Sri Lanka au Kenya, retrouvez les saveurs maltées et boisées de ces thés pleins et corsés aux accents d’épices ou de fruits secs. Accessibles et versatiles, avec ou sans lait, ils sauront raviver votre flamme en cette saison glaciale!

La région de Darjeeling, avec ses différentes récoltes, offre des liqueurs équilibrées et complexes, au large spectre de saveurs, passant des nuances printanières, végétales et florales, au caractère réconfortant des productions d’été et d’automne aux notes d’écorces de bois noble et de caramel. Raffinées et savoureuses, ces liqueurs ont conquis le monde sous l’appellation de champagnes des thés noirs!

Les plus aventuriers se régaleront de la liqueur pleine et sucrée du Nadeshikol’innovation récente du Japon. Taiwan sait aussi nous impressionner avec son célèbre Sun Moon Lake aux notes végétales et mentholées ou bien, provenant de la côte est, le Hualien Fengmi aux parfums floraux intenses et mielleux.

Laissez vous charmer par la richesse de cette famille et accompagnez vos rencontres amicales d’une théière bien chaude et servie en toute simplicité!

LaKyrsiew: l’élégante finesse des collines oubliées de Meghalaya

4 février 2014

meg

Il y a près de deux-cents ans, avant même que l’Inde ne cultive le thé, la compagnie des Indes Orientales envoya des agents à travers le sous continent afin d’identifier les emplacements idéaux pour ce nouveau projet.

Les collines verdoyantes de l’État relativement peu connu de Meghalaya, au sud de l’Assam, furent une des régions choisies pour ses conditions parfaites. Cependant, en raison de son isolement, de l’absence de main d’œuvre, par crainte  que le projet ne soit trop couteux et qu’il ne rivalise pas avec l’Assam, région voisine de forte production, les plans pour cette région furent abandonnés et le terrain laissé sauvage.

meg2

Deux siècles plus tard, en 2000, ces plans anciens furent découverts et relancés. Le Jardin LaKyrsiew fut ainsi peuplé de cultivars de Darjeeling tels que AV2, T78 et B312 afin de profiter des versants nord s’élevant entre 1000 m et 1300 m au-dessus des plaines. Les forêts vierges furent défrichées révélant un sol riche et fertile inégalé dans les régions de production massive. Les pratiques de la culture biologique furent instaurées dès le début. Un contour fut soigneusement créé afin de protéger la couche arable du ruissèlement infligé par les pluies diluviennes en période de mousson. Les champs furent irrigués à l’aide d’une source nichée au cœur de la jungle sur la partie la plus escarpée du domaine, pourvoyant une eau claire et douce à l’année.

L’équipe de LaKyrsiew s’orienta vers un projet de haute qualité, à l’image de Darjeeling, avec une cueillette fine, un flétrissage dur et un séchage chaud et rapide. Le Jardin possède sa propre fabrique, conçue avec une attention particulière aux  détails, comme en témoigne leur élégante table de roulage en laiton.

En raison d’une taille tardive en février/mars, leurs premières récoltes commencent entre la fin avril et le début mai.

Exclusif à Camellia-Sinensis en Amérique du Nord, les thés de LaKyrsiew sont produits en quantités extrêmement limitées. En 2012, le jardin produisit moins de 500 kg, c’est à dire moins que la production de plusieurs jardins d’Assam lors d’une bonne journée! La combinaison d’un sol de première qualité, d’une sélection judicieuse de plants et de l’attention obsessive aux détails a permis de créer ce thé exquis et unique au caractère gustatif original. La constance sera leur grand défi pour les années à venir. Je compte bien visiter LaKyrsiew au printemps afin de suivre cette histoire fascinante.

« Le LaKyrsiew de Meghalaya est un thé noir d’exception : grâce à son étonnante plénitude raffinée, sa structure et sa définition exemplaire ainsi que son rendu léger et éthérique… » Kevin

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter