Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

A perfect stranger

25 June 2014

at 21:08 by Seb

IMG_2084

12th trip to Taiwan. 12th visit to Allan’s noodles stand (the Taiwanese love those English names) in the centre of Luku village. But who is Allan?

In 2003, along with Jasmin, we were hunting down quality producers of Dong Ding, the famous wulong produced near Luku. At the end of a fruitless day, we decided relax at the noodle stand we had spotted earlier. After a few cold beers and a plate of noodles and shrimp, we gave business cards to the Chef Allan who had asked us what we were up to in this corner of Taiwan. On our cards, in Mandarin, were the words: Tea importer.

Just then a passer by stopped by to grab a portion of noodles. Allan exclaimed: “Hey this guy is a good producer of tea!” passing our card to him. Thus was the beginning of a lasting friendship with Chen Yu Nen, who has become a great friend over the years and a reliable source of Dong Ding and Shan Lin Xi.

So now, 12 years later, our favourite Taiwanese producer, Mr. Nen Yu and his friend, Mr. Lin, who runs the Luku tea competition, will be our guests next fall during our annual ‘miXtea’ event (details this summer). Meet them, discover their world and enjoy some exceptional teas.

Hugo et Allan

All because of a plate of noodles 12 years ago!

Hugo

Chantal Auger – From function comes beauty

4 June 2014

at 9:03 by Seb

Théière et bols

Chantal Auger had a passion for ceramics from a very early age: “I wanted a job that required as much mental effort as manual labor. When I walked into a pottery workshop at the age of 17, I knew that this is what I would do with my life.” She did her training at the School of Fine Arts in Aix-en-Provence and at the Cégep in Old Montreal. For four decades she has refined her art.

Her passion for the craft has not wavered and she still appreciates, as she says “the full and sole responsibility for the creation, from clay to finished product.” “The education that gives the material its requirements, constraints … This craft requires the conscious presence of the whole being, body and soul, “she says.

Auger CShe uses both stoneware and porcelain to create utilitarian pieces in relation to food. Her glazes are made from a clay base which the kiln, with its alchemical power, reveals as simple and rustic character.

She has a great respect for Eastern philosophies, particularly the aesthetics of the tea ceremony. In her work the function creates the form and usefulness creates beauty “… as I’m working on a tea bowl or a coffee cup, my preoccupations concern the function of this object, how it is held, how it adapts to the lips to drink, how it rests, elegance, fluidity of form.” Tea and infusions guide the design and manufacture of her teapots, in order to arrive at a finished object she will be proud of: balanced and perfectly meeting its function.

From the book by the potter Bernard Leach, she quotes this phrase (from the Song of Hindu potters) which found a place in her studio and in her heart at the beginning of her career and has never left it since, “Oh! My heart! Be not like the wheel, but be as the center of the wheel which stands at rest. Though the wheel turns so actively, it is because the center is stationary. ”

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every two months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Un personnage inconnu

25 juin 2014

IMG_2084

12e voyage à Taiwan. 12e visite au stand à nouilles de Allan (les taiwanais adorent avoir un prénom en anglais) au centre du petit village de Luku. Mais qui est Allan?

En 2003, moi et Jasmin avions comme objectif de rencontrer des producteurs de Dong Ding, fameux wulong produit tout près du village de Luku. Après une journée infructueuse, nous avions décidé de jeter notre dévolu sur ce stand à nouilles, croisé durant la journée. Après quelques bières bien froides et un plat de nouilles aux crevettes, nous avions donné notre carte d’affaire au chef Allan qui nous interrogeait sur notre présence dans ce coin de Taiwan. Sur notre carte, en mandarin, on trouvait la mention: importateur de thé.

Au même moment, un homme s’arrête au stand pour attraper une part de nouilles. Allan s’exclame: “Hé! Ce monsieur est un bon producteur de thé”, lui refilant alors notre carte. Ainsi commença notre rencontre avec Chen Nen Yu, qui deviendra avec les années un grand ami et notre source sûre en Dong Ding et Shan Lin Xi.

Et pourquoi je vous raconte tout ça? C’est qu’après 12 ans, notre producteur favori de Taiwan, M. Nen Yu et son ami, M. Lin, responsable des compétitions de thé de Luku, seront nos invités à l’automne prochain lors de notre événement miXthé (détails cet été). Vous pourrez découvrir leur univers et poser des questions, en plus de déguster des thés exceptionnels.

Hugo et Allan

Tout ça à cause d’un plat de nouilles commandé il y a 12 ans !

Hugo

Chantal Auger – De la fonction naît la beauté

4 juin 2014

Théière et bols

Chantal Auger a eu très tôt le coup de cœur pour la céramique : «Je cherchais un métier qui demandait autant le travail des mains que celui de l’esprit.  Quand je suis entrée dans un atelier de poterie à l’âge de 17 ans, j’ai su que c’est ce que je ferais de ma vie». Elle a fait sa formation à l’École des beaux-arts d’Aix-en-Provence, puis au Cégep du Vieux-Montréal. Voilà maintenant quatre décennies qu’elle raffine son art.

Sa passion du métier n’a pas faibli et elle apprécie toujours, comme elle le cite, «la responsabilité totale et entière de la création, à partir de l’argile jusqu’au produit fini».  «L’enseignement que donne la matière, ses exigences, ses contraintes… Ce métier exige la présence consciente de l’être tout entier, corps et âme», poursuit-elle.

Auger C

Elle utilise tant le grès que la porcelaine pour créer des pièces utilitaires en relation avec la nourriture. Ses émaux sont à base d’argile que le feu, par son pouvoir alchimique, révèle d’un caractère sobre et rustique.

Elle porte un grand respect aux philosophies orientales et particulièrement à l’esthétique de la cérémonie du thé. Dans son travail, la fonction crée la forme et l’utilité crée la beauté: «…que je travaille sur un bol à thé ou une tasse à café, mes préoccupations seront de servir la fonction de cet objet, la manière dont il se tient, dont il s’adapte aux lèvres pour boire, la façon dont il repose sur un pied ou non, l’élégance, la fluidité de la forme». Le thé et les infusions guident la conception et la fabrication de ses théières, afin d’arriver à l’objet fini dont elle sera fière: équilibré et répondant parfaitement à sa fonction.

Du Livre du potier de Bernard Leach, elle cite cette phrase (tirée du Chant des potiers hindous) qui a trouvé place dans son atelier et dans son cœur au tout début de sa carrière et qui ne l’a jamais quittée depuis : «Oh! Mon cœur! Ne ressemble pas à la roue, mais sois pareil au centre de la roue qui se tient au repos.  Si la roue tourne si activement, c’est parce que son centre est immobile.» 

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les deux mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter