Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

The Race for Oriental Beauty: Bai Hao

26 November 2014

at 15:46 by Seb

image 4

A choice few of our teas are selected from samples following the return of our four tasters annual buying trips to Asia. This is the case with Bai Hao which is typically produced once Hugo has returned.

After many visits to Hsinchu,  the region of production of these Oriental Beauties, Hugo has forged a solid network of relationships with some select producers. This has helped both diversify our range and access the intricacies of production and transformation of these highly prized teas. With the constant expansion of the domestic economies of China and Taiwan a vast increase in the demand for such luxury products has had a strong effect on the prices of these teas.  We have seen a similar effect we have seen with white tea, black tea and Pu Er teas in recent years.  Thus the elegant Bai Hao has become the victim of its own success.The artisans that make these fine teas find their crops selling so rapidly and increasingly pre-sold before their production!

imageThough it would be nice to have the time to taste the selection of carefully packaged samples that are sent to our attention, it is actually a race against the clock. Sometimes our preferred lot has already vanished to a competitor. Now more experienced, we work with several sources to give us a better range of comparison. The goal remains to find a Bai Hao that is sure to please, at a reasonable price.

This year we invite you to discover two batches of Bai Hao, a solid classic and another that ranked ‘Three Flowers Grade’ in the annual Bai Hao competition, both are from the highly skilled producer Mrs. Lin.

Competition Teas – miXtea

6 November 2014

at 9:56 by François Marchand

mixthe-officiel

Many thanks to all who supported and followed the events of ‘miXtea 2014’ either on social media or in person at the events of Québec City and Montréal.  We trust it was as rewarding for you as it was for us to receive our guest producers and tasters from Taiwan.

Our friends have now returned to Taiwan, leaving us with great memories and a few spectacular teas!  During the conferences we discussed the famous Luku Competition. For many years we have been working on accessing these classic style Dong Dong teas for the catalogue.  This year we took things to another level and managed to aquire 3 different lots from the 2014 competition among the top teas of the 5800 entered.

The Dong Ding 3 Blossom: a mention for the top 20% of the teas entered.
The Dong Ding Premium Grade from the top 2% of the entries
The Dong Ding Premium Grade Special Mention #9 Of all the teas graded the top ten will be given this special mention and numbered 10 up to 1.  We are offering the ninth in this very exclusive rank.

To better explain the methodology and classification of the competition we have drawn up this graphic (only available in french).

tableau-competition

There are two rounds of initial tasting. Those teas with an ‘A’ grading will pass to the second round of evaluation.  The teas will be re-evaluated 3 times before the judges  determine their classification.  For 14 days 35 judges will taste thousands of teas, averaging over 300 each day.

Finally we offer you the chance to taste some of these precious leaves…

In extra, here are a few pictures of the mite event…

Évelyne Rivest Savignac – WINDOW TO THE GARDEN

3 November 2014

at 4:08 by Seb

vere raku vert- copie

It was a trip to South America that motivated Evelyne Rivest Savignac to register at the Quebec school of professional arts  when aged just 17. “Three years of passionate study! ”

Her motto since the beginning: “conceiving of a piece with a unique aspect to the work”. This process, which animates the ceramicist takes time, patience and passion. For, beyond the turning and firing, there is in all her creations a mastery of detail and finishing. She sculpts, paints, overlays different glazes, plays gracefully with reliefs and metallic lustres. “My happiness is in the simple act that is necessary in order to outline the flower or leaf, to add this feature here or there to balance the final layout. ”

eve promontoir chili

Colour is also as important in the ceramic of Evelyne Rivest Savignac. The vivacity of hues and contrasts used, especially for raku pieces, distinguishes her work at first sight. The result is small pieces with delicate allure that will add brightness to your day. The ceramicist describes her pieces of this style in a very fair and poetic way: “(…) windows overlooking the garden, on a piece of branch, a corner of the imagination …”

With many years of experience, the artist understands that the way is as good as the destination: “Creating material from minerals, fire and love of beauty, it is a crazy adventure that brings many joys and also some terrible disappointments. So many parameters to arrive at the hoped for piece.  It is necessary to remain very humble. And find deep joy in the act of creation and not what the result maybe … ”

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every four months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Surenchère des Bai Hao

26 novembre 2014

image 4

Si la plupart de nos thés sont choisis lors des voyages, certains le sont après coup, lors du retour au bercail des quatre dégustateurs. C’est le cas des Bai Hao qui sont généralement produits un peu plus tard dans la saison, privant Hugo de les gouter et de les sélectionner sur place.

Grâce à ses multiples visites dans le Hsinchu, région de production de ces beautés orientales, des liens ont été tissés avec quelques producteurs, permettant de diversifier notre offre et surtout de mieux connaitre leur réalité quotidienne, tant au niveau de la production, de la transformation que de la mise en vente de ces thés énormément réclamés. C’est qu’effectivement l’expansion constante des marchés chinois et internationaux fait une pression de plus en plus forte sur les produits de luxe, dont le thé, et à l’image des thés blancs, noirs ou Pu Er qui connaissent un surcroit de popularité, les Bai Hao, avec leur élégance, sont victimes de leur succès. Ainsi, les artisans des ces thés fins voient leurs récoltes s’envoler rapidement et parfois même vendues avant leur production!

image

Si jadis nous avions toujours eu le loisir de prendre le temps de choisir nos thés en goûtant paisiblement les échantillons minutieusement emballés puis envoyés à notre attention, la sélection ressemble aujourd’hui davantage à une course contre la montre. Il arrive parfois que celui que nous avions sélectionné se soit déjà volatilisé. Par prévoyance, nous travaillons aujourd’hui avec plusieurs sources, nous pourvoyant d’une meilleure gamme de thés à comparer, toujours dans le but de dénicher celui qui saura plaire et, surtout, à un prix raisonnable. Les Bai Hao, généralement transformés par petits lots, offrent malgré tout de minimes quantités pour la demande du marché qui dévore année après année ces crus avec surenchère. La loi du marché s’affirme aisément et l’inflation des prix guette les ambitieux dans leur quête de ces feuilles précieuses.

Cette année, nous vous invitons à découvrir deux lots de Bai Hao, un régulier et un gradé trois fleurs à la dernière compétition de Bai Hao, tous deux provenant de Mme Lin, une productrice qui produit de petites merveilles!

Thés de compétition – miXthé

6 novembre 2014

mixthe-officiel
Un immense merci à tous ceux et celles qui nous ont suivi pendant l’événement miXthé 2014, que ce soit sur les réseaux sociaux ou sur place, lors de nos événements à Québec et à Montréal. Nous sommes certains que vous avez autant apprécié que nous de recevoir nos producteurs de thé de Taiwan !

Nos amis sont maintenant repartis sur leur île (!),mais nous ont laissé de beaux trésors. Lors de nos conférences, nous avons entre autres discuté de la fameuse compétition de thé de Luku. Entreprit il y a déjà plusieurs années (lire l’article précédent), nous avions comme objectif de vous faire découvrir les Dong Ding de compétition. Cette année, nous avons poussé plus loin l’exercice, en mettant la main sur 3 lots différents issus de la compétition de ce printemps 2014, où 5800 lots ont été présentés!

-Dong Ding 3 fleurs: Mention offerte à environ 20% des lots déposés au concours.
-Dong Ding 1ère classe: Mention offerte à seulement 2% des thés.
-Dong Ding 1ère classe/Mention spéciale #9 : Parmi les lots de première classe, 10 thés reçoivent du jury une mention spéciale. En grande première, nous vous présentons ce lot ayant reçu la 9e mention.

Pour vous aider à mieux comprendre le classement de cette compétition, nous avons fait ce petit graphique. En gros, il y a 2 rondes de dégustation et les thés avec la mention A passeront à la 2e série d’évaluation. Par la suite, les thés seront évalués jusqu’à 3 fois et le jury déterminera le classement.

tableau-competition

Saviez-vous que l’ensemble de l’évaluation de ces milliers de thés se fait sur 14 jours d’affilés avec une équipe de 35 juges? En moyenne, les juges évalueront 300 thés par jour…
À vous de déguster maintenant!

En prime, voici un album photo de notre événement miXthé

Évelyne Rivest Savignac – FENÊTRE SUR JARDIN

3 novembre 2014

vere raku vert- copie

C’est un voyage en Amérique du Sud qui a motivé l’inscription d’Évelyne Rivest Savignac à l’école des métiers d’art de Québec voilà déjà 17 ans. « Trois ans d’étude passionnée ! »

Son leitmotiv depuis les débuts : « La conception d’une pièce dans l’idée d’une œuvre unique. » Cette démarche qui anime la céramiste demande temps, patience et passion. Car, au-delà du tournage et de la cuisson, il y a dans ses créations toute une maitrise du détail et de la finition. Elle grave, peint, superpose différentes glaçures, joue gracieusement avec les reliefs et les lustres métallisés. « Mon bonheur est dans ce simple geste assuré qu’il me faut avoir afin d’esquisser la fleur ou la feuille, ajouter ce point ici ou là pour balancer le plan final. »

eve promontoir chili

Si chaque pièce est reine, la couleur l’est tout autant dans les céramiques d’Évelyne Rivest Savignac. La vivacité des teintes et des contrastes utilisés, surtout pour les pièces raku, distingue son travail au premier coup d’œil. S’en résulte de petites œuvres aux allures de friandises qui égaient les quotidiens. La potière décrit d’ailleurs ses pièces de cette façon très juste et poétique : « (…) des fenêtres sur jardin, sur un bout de branche, un coin de l’imaginaire…».

Forte de nombreuses années d’expérience, l’artiste comprend que le chemin vaut autant que la destination: « Créer de la matière à partir de minéraux, de feu et d’amour du beau, c’est une aventure folle qui apporte bien des joies et aussi des déceptions terribles. Tant de paramètres pour arriver à la pièce espérée. Il faut rester bien humble. Et trouver sa joie profonde dans l’acte de création et non pas le résultat peut-être… »

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les quatre mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter