Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Tips for your Water Temperature

14 January 2015

at 14:27 by Seb

photo

Whether in a teapot, a cup, or a tea flask, infusing tea remains simple: add water to the leaves to extract the flavors. But for the liquor to be at its best, rich and balanced, it is necessary to take care to use water at a temperature, that fits the tea.

While aged teas, wulongs and the black teas tolerate very hot temperatures,  other more fragile leaves such as white or green teas, will not tolerate boiling water. Water that is too hot will deplete the liquor of its aromatic elements and texture in addition to encouraging a faster release of the  tannins that create the sensation of  astringency in the mouth! For such delicate teas, water which is simmering will better access their potential. Here are 5 methods to achieve the desired water temperature.

The singing of the bubbles: This is the poetic approach to the art of tea as elaborated by Lu Yu (VIII century), author of the Classic of Tea: “When the water boils, it forms bubbles like the eyes of fish on the surface and produces a barely audible sound. When it sings on the edges like a spring and looks like an endless pearl necklace, it has reached its second stage of boiling. When it leaps like breakers, majestically, and resonates like a wave that swells, it has boiled just enough”. So those who have the luxury of staying patiently next to their kettle will see the first bubbles form on the surface, with quivering, around 85 ° C, while the full boiling is reached with large swirls at 100 ° C.

photo 1

Time: on average water loses about 2 ° C per minute with the kettle’s lid open. Thus a ten minute cooling pause is needed to lower the temperature of boiling water (100 ° C) to that required to prepare a green tea at 80 ° C.  This must be adjusted to your own equipment but is a good guide.

Thermal shock: Another trick which is faster but has the same effect. Water loses around 10 ° C when poured into an unheated receptacle (cup, teapot, …) pouring boiling water into an empty teapot will lower it to around 90 ° C, then transferring to a second cup or teapot, will  bring the water to a temperature of 80 ° C. This requires a little more manipulation, but the operation also has the advantage of warming the teaware.

Thermometer and cold water: Those equipped with a thermometer  with reading between 50 ° C and 100 ° C can easily add a little cold water to their hot water to obtaining the desired temperature. A simple and effective option.

The programmable kettle: Easy and reliable, these modern kettles bring water to the desired temperature, and will hold it there. An almost essential tool to any serious infuser.

Integrate the most convenient method to your daily brewing procedure to improve the quality of your tea experience.

Happy brewing!

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

L’eau à la température juste : Astuces!

14 janvier 2015

photo

Que ce soit en théière, dans une tasse ou bien dans une bouteille à thé, l’infusion d’un thé demeure simple : mettre l’eau sur les feuilles pour en extraire toutes ses saveurs. Aussi pour que la liqueur soit à son meilleur, riche et équilibrée, nous devons prendre soin d’utiliser une eau à une température adéquate, suivant le thé que l’on prépare.

Si les thés vieillis, les wulong et les thés noirs tolèrent des températures très chaudes, les thés plus fragiles comme les thés blancs ou verts, souvent parsemés de fins bourgeons, ne supportent pas bien une eau bouillante. Trop chaude, elle a l’effet d’appauvrir la liqueur de ses éléments aromatiques et de sa texture en plus d’y libérer plus rapidement les tannins responsables de la sensation d’astringence en bouche! Pour ces thés délicats, une eau frémissante rendra justice à leur plein potentiel. Voici 5 avenues permettant d’arriver à la température d’eau souhaitée.

Le chant des bulles : C’est l’approche poétique de l’art du thé comme le vivait Lu Yu (VIIIième siècle), auteur du classique du thé : « Quand l’eau bout, il se forme des bulles comme des yeux de poissons à la surface et elle produit un son à peine audible. Quand elle chante sur les bords comme une source et ressemble à un collier d’innombrables perles, elle a atteint son deuxième état d’ébullition. Quand elle bondit comme des brisants, majestueuse, et résonne comme une vague qui s’enfle, elle a juste assez bouilli. » Ainsi ceux qui ont le loisir de rester patiemment à coté de leur bouilloire verront se former les premières bulles à la surface, au frémissement, vers 85°C, tandis que la pleine ébullition sera atteinte au gros remous des 100°C.

photo 1

Le temps : Il est pertinent de savoir que l’eau perd environ 2°C par minute lorsque le couvercle de la bouilloire est ouvert. Ce qui fait qu’une dizaine de minutes de repos sont nécessaires pour abaisser la température de l’eau bouillante (100°C) à celle voulue pour préparer un thé vert à 80°C, par exemple.

Le choc thermique : Une autre astuce plus rapide a aussi le même effet. Sachant que l’eau perd autour de 10°C lorsqu’on la met dans un récipient (tasse, théière,…) à la température de la pièce, il suffit de verser l’eau bouillante dans la théière vide, l’abaissant ainsi à 90°C, puis de la transvider à nouveau dans des tasses ou dans une deuxième théière, amenant l’eau à une température voisine de 80°C. Cela requiert un peu plus de manipulation, mais l’opération permet par le fait même de réchauffer la théière!

Le thermomètre et l’eau froide : Ceux qui sont munis d’un thermomètre permettant une lecture entre 50°C et 100°C pourront aisément ajouter de l’eau froide à leur eau chaude jusqu’à l’obtention de la température voulue. Une option simple et efficace!

La bouilloire programmable : Facile à utiliser et très fiable, la bouilloire amène l’eau à la température désirée et offre aussi de la maintenir! Un atout presque essentiel!

Ensuite, il ne reste qu’à intégrer la méthode qui nous convient dans notre contexte de préparation du thé au quotidien.

Bon thé!

 

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter