Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

A Solid Wintertime Favourite: Feng Huang Gou Tou

5 February 2015

at 9:14 by Seb

14972826013_7d4773c912_b

What better than the leaves of a venerable and majestic single tree more than 200 years old, named Dog Head (Gou Tou), to create a moment to remember! The delicate twists of this Guangdong wulong found their way into one of my Yixing teapots before being thoroughly rinsed to  prepare  them to release their full potential.

The fragrance released is rich and intoxicating, living up to the promise of a tea of this quality, and fills the air with potent notes of white flowers and exotic fruits. In the mouth, a sublime experience, enhanced by those special qualities we seek when tasting a great tea. The attack is vibrant, emphatically announcing the unique character of this complex and refined tea. The liquor is dense and combines different flavors, harmoniously balanced: not too bitter or acidic, profoundly mineral and deftly sweetened up by sweet, honeyed accents, resulting from a fine-tuned and careful oxidation and roasting. Accents of green vegetables and bark combine gracefully more ethereal nuances evocative of Lily of the valley, gooseberry and citrus.

Impressed by the evolution of all these sensations, the full and generous finish reminds me that a full tasting involves the whole body, experiencing the effects of tea beyond those provided for the nose and mouth. I take a few moments of contemplation, present centred, and let myself be lulled by this delightful interior caress, memorable, and in resonance with my need for light and heat!

Sébastien.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Coup de cœur par temps froid : Feng Huang Gou Tou

5 février 2015

14972826013_7d4773c912_b
Quoi de mieux qu’un thé provenant d’un seul arbre vénérable et majestueux, nommé Tête de Chien (Gou Tou) et âgé de plus de 200 ans, pour marquer le temps d’un souvenir heureux! Les délicates torsades de ce wulong du Guangdong ont donc trouvé refuge dans une de mes théières yixing avant d’être soigneusement rincées afin de les préparer à libérer leur plein potentiel.

Le parfum s’en dégageant est riche et enivrant, à la hauteur de la promesse d’un thé de cette qualité, et embaume l’air de puissantes notes de fleurs blanches et de fruits exotiques. En bouche, l’expérience est sublime, couronnée par les qualités recherchées lors de la dégustation d’un grand thé. L’attaque est vibrante, annonçant avec force le caractère unique de ce thé complexe et raffiné. La liqueur est dense et gorgée des différentes saveurs, harmonieusement équilibrées : ni trop amères ou acides, profondément minérales et savamment adoucies par les accents sucrés et mielleux provenant d’une oxydation et d’une torréfaction justes et soignées. Ses accents végétaux de légumes verts et d’écorce côtoient gracieusement ses nuances plus aériennes évoquant le muguet, la groseille et les agrumes.

Impressionné par l’évolution de toutes ses sensations, la finale, ample et généreuse, me rappelle qu’il faut aussi gouter avec le corps entier et vivre les effets du thé au-delà de ceux prévus pour le nez et la bouche. Je prends quelques instants de recueillement, hors du temps, et me laisse bercer par cette délicieuse caresse intérieure, mémorable et en résonance avec mon besoin de lumière et de chaleur!

Sébastien

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter