Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

The Camellia Sinensis Tea Flavor Wheel

29 June 2015

at 14:48 by Seb

Web

The Camellia Sinensis Flavour Wheel was first developed by our team back in 2008 as we put all the material together for the original French edition of our book ‘TEA History, Terroirs, Varieties.  It is a tea specific version of similar flavour wheels used in the worlds of wine, scotch and other forms of tasting.

The flavour wheel is a simple tool that helps us categorize the olfactory characteristics of a tea during a tasting.  Start in the central zone of the wheel with your first impressions.  Moving progressively outwards to refine the vocabulary you use to relate your experience.

Aside from helping us focus, the flavour wheel also presents us with the fascinating concept of aromatic crossover from one style of tea to another…..Enjoy!

One good turn…

5 June 2015

at 12:07 by Seb

Sans titre-2

From his very earliest work the expertise of Christian Roy was  quickly recognized by his peers. The reason is simple; he has turned the pieces of many artisans since leaving Limoilou Cégep in 1998.

Though the craft of turning is well known in Asia, it is almost unheard of in the world of Quebecoise ceramics.

This experience raises the artist to another level: “It allowed me to make works with a very diverse background of techniques and methods.”

Screenshot_2015-02-12-09-08-17~2For his own pieces, Christian works with different types of clay, bringing beautiful shades of colour to his works. The gas firing is slow, as is the cooling, in order to obtain the desired matte finish. The matt finish of the glazes add a stylish and contemporary feel to the finished pieces.

In the hand, his ceramics have a pleasant robustness, but also have that finesse and smoothness that hints at his years of experience in turning.

The ritual of tea, whether simple or complex, is a source of inspiration for the potter : ”(…) Objects created with this state of being in mind are imbued with that spirit when one creates a precious moment for tea. ”

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every four months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

La roue des arômes de Camellia-Sinensis

29 juin 2015

Roue des arômes

La roue des arômes de Camellia-Sinensis fut à l’origine développée par notre équipe en 2008 alors que nous travaillions sur l’édition française de notre premier livre Thé: histoire, terroirs, saveurs. Elle représente une vision adaptée au monde du thé de roues similaires utilisées dans les univers du vin, du whisky et autres domaines de dégustation.

Simple et ergonomique, cet outil nous aide à catégoriser les caractéristiques aromatiques des thés lors de dégustations. Ciblez à partir de la zone centrale vos impressions initiales. Raffinez ensuite le vocabulaire servant à exprimer vos perceptions en vous déplaçant progressivement vers la périphérie.

En plus du gain de précision qu’elle permet, la roue des arômes nous révèle l’univers fascinant des chevauchements aromatiques, d’un style de thé à l’autre… Bonne dégustation!

D’un tour à l’autre

5 juin 2015

Sans titre-2

Christian Roy en est à ses toutes premières séries alors que son expertise est déjà reconnue par ses pairs depuis maintes années. La raison est simple ; il tourne les pièces de nombreux artisans depuis sa sortie du Cégep Limoilou en 1998.

Si le métier de tourneur est bien connu en Asie, il est rarissime dans le monde de la céramique québécoise.

Cette expérience ajoute un chapitre de connaissance à l’artiste : « Ça m’a permis de me faire la main avec tout un bagage diversifié de techniques et de façons de faire. »

Screenshot_2015-02-12-09-08-17~2Pour ses propres œuvres, Christian travail avec différentes argiles, ce qui permet de créer de belles nuances de couleurs à ses pièces. La cuisson au gaz est lente, de même que le refroidissement pour obtenir le fini mat désiré. La glaçure ainsi atténuée ajoutera un aspect contemporain au résultat final.

En main, ses céramiques sont d’une robustesse agréable, mais ont aussi cette finesse et cette régularité qui laissent deviner ses années d’expérience au tour.

Le rituel du thé, qu’il soit simple ou complexe, est pour le potier une source d’inspiration : «  (…) les objets sont aussi fabriqués dans cet état d’esprit, rendre l’objet intéressant quand on prend le temps de prendre le thé.»

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les quatre mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter