Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

AN ENCOUNTER WITH MR. NAKAHARA, A POTTER FROM HAGI

23 July 2015

at 12:00 by Seb

page93image10744

Here’s a text from our new book ’Green Tea: The Quest for Fresh Leaf and Timeless Craft freshly translated into English and now on sale.

Mr. Nakahara, how did you become a potter?


In Hagi, pottery is a local industry. Since I grew up in this city, I have always been close to this art. Many artisans lived close to my home. When the time came to choose a career, I naturally thought of becoming a potter.

Some Hagi pieces have a notch on their bottom. Why is that?

There was a period during which people were not authorized to use the same pottery as the emperor. To identify the bowls that were not intended for him, potters inscribed a notch. This tradition is still alive today.

In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good potter?

To begin with, to make good pottery, you must be skillful. You must have agile fingers. I believe that dexterity is a crucial part of pottery technique. You must also know how to use the potter’s wheel. When I work, I think about pleasing my clients, about what format would be most useful for them, and so forth. The elegance and beauty of each piece are things I am very concerned about.

I also believe that one can sense an artist’s humanity through his work. Analyzing a work of art is difficult for amateurs as well as professionals.à 

page92image12032

Even if they are not experts in pottery, most people feel something mysterious when they see or touch a piece. I believe that they can intuitively feel what kind of a person made the piece. So I think a good potter should have a positive outlook in his everyday life.

People say that the present-day Japanese have neither beliefs nor principles. I don’t agree; I think that we all believe in something. Pottery is the mirror of an artist’s way of life. I don’t think that a buyer chooses my pieces randomly. I believe that you recognize me through my work.

How do you view the art of pottery in contemporary Japan, com- pared with the period when you began?


The pottery industry in Japan is very respectful of tradition. That being said, young potters have more difficulty if they don’t come from a family of artisans who pass the torch from generation to generation. Maybe young artists are not given their fair due. Potters who have been established for a long time are highly respected by people in the industry. Their pottery is very expensive. This is how it was in the past and the situation has not changed.

Three Exceptional Teas from Jasmin 2015

14 July 2015

at 16:06 by Seb

IMG_1661

Long Jing Bai Ye: being a great fan of the green teas Anji Bai Cha and Long Jing Shi Feng, the combination of the cultivar of the former and the transformation of the latter makes a tea which for me is a perfect balance between herbaceous and roasted fragrances! This unprecedented tea showcases the full expertise of Mr. He in both cultivation and the transformation of tea!

Bai Hao Jingmai Bio: A Chinese Bai Hao !! ?? From a meeting with some Taiwanese in Yunnan and visiting their certified organic plantation, Cing Shin, at 1200m for a magnificent day, totally charming for me with my love of the mix of different cultures. An everyday black wulong with spicy accents that could confuse fans of Taiwanese teas!

Feng Huang Hong cha: a black tea from Guangdong made by the Liao brothers with the wulong tea cultivar Mi Lan Xiang. The tea combines the fruitiness of Dan Cong teas with the cereal nuances of Chinese black teas. Unique and persistent! Perfect with a Speyside scotch!

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

RENCONTRE AVEC M. NAKAHARA, POTIER DE HAGI

23 juillet 2015

 page93image10744

Voici un texte tiré de notre livre Thé vert: à la rencontre d’un art millénaire récemment traduit en anglais “Green Tea: The Quest for Fresh Leaf and Timeless Craft’’.

Monsieur Nakahara, comment êtes-vous devenu potier ?

À Hagi, la céramique est une industrie locale. Comme j’ai grandi dans cette ville, j’ai toujours été proche de cet art. Plusieurs artisans habitaient près de chez moi. Quand j’ai dû choisir une carrière, j’ai tout naturellement pensé à devenir potier.

Certaines pièces Hagi ont une encoche à leur base. Pourquoi ?

À l’époque, les gens du peuple n’étaient pas autorisés à utiliser le même type de céramique que l’empereur. Pour identifier les bols qui ne lui étaient pas destinés, les potiers y taillaient une encoche. Cette tradition est toujours vivante.

Quelles sont d’après vous les qualités d’un bon potier ?

Premièrement, pour faire de la bonne céramique, il faut être habile. Il faut avoir les doigts agiles. Je crois que la céramique est une technique qui concerne avant tout les doigts. Ensuite, il faut savoir utiliser le tour. Quand je travaille, je pense aux sourires de mes clients, au format qui leur serait le plus utile, etc. Je me soucie de l’élégance et de la beauté de chaque pièce.

Je crois aussi qu’on peut ressentir l’« humanité » d’un artiste à travers son travail. Analyser une pièce d’art n’est pas facile pour un amateur ni pour un professionnel.

page92image12032
La plupart des gens, sans comprendre la céramique, ressentent quelque chose de mystérieux lorsqu’ils voient ou touchent une pièce. Je crois que, inconsciemment, ils peuvent savoir quel genre de personne a fait la pièce. Je pense donc qu’un bon potier devrait avoir une bonne attitude dans sa vie quotidienne.

On dit que les Japonais d’aujourd’hui n’ont plus ni croyances ni principes. Moi, je pense au contraire que nous croyons tous en quelque chose. La céramique est le reflet du mode de vie d’un artiste. Je ne pense pas qu’un acheteur choisisse mes pièces par hasard. Je crois qu’on peut me reconnaître à travers mon travail.

Comment percevez-vous l’art de la céramique dans le Japon d’aujourd’hui, par rapport à l’époque où vous avez fait vos débuts ?

L’industrie de la poterie au Japon respecte beaucoup la tradition. Cela dit, les jeunes potiers ont davantage de difficultés s’ils ne sont pas issus d’une famille d’artisans qui se transmettent le flambeau de génération en génération. Peut- être aussi que les nouveaux artistes ne sont pas appréciés à leur juste valeur. Les potiers établis depuis longtemps sont privilégiés par les gens de l’industrie. Leurs céramiques sont très coûteuses. C’était comme ça par le passé et la situation n’a pas changé. 

Trois coups de coeur Chine de Jasmin 2015

14 juillet 2015

IMG_1661

Long Jing Bai Ye:  étant grand fan des thés verts Anji Bai Cha et Long Jing Shi Feng, la combinaison du cultivar du premier et de la transformation du deuxième en fait pour moi un thé parfait dans l’équilibre entre les parfums herbacés et grillés!  Ce thé inédit reflète toute l’expertise de M. He dans la culture et la transformation de thé!

Bai Hao Jingmai Bio : un Bai Hao chinois!!?? De rencontrer des taïwanais dans le Yunnan et de visiter leur plantation certifié biologique de Cing Shin à 1200m par une magnifique journée m’a tout à fait charmé, moi qui aime mélanger les différentes cultures.  Un wulong noir de tous les jours aux accents épicés qui confondra les amateurs de thés taïwanais!

Feng Huang Hong cha : un thé noir du Guangdong fait par les frères Liao avec le cultivar du thé wulong Mi Lan Xiang.  Le thé marie le fruité des thés Dan Cong avec le céréalier des thés noirs chinois.  Unique et persistant! Parfait avec un scotch de Speyside!

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter