Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

A constant search for balance

20 October 2015

at 11:33 by Seb

A0007701

Myriam Bouchard has been focused on ceramics for ten years. She was formerly a graphic designer for twenty years, during which time she collected ceramic pieces with passion. She made it her craft by attending many ceramic workshops in France, the United States and Quebec.

Myriam loves the contact with the clay; this medium of infinite possibilities is the one that is closest to her sensibility. Initially focused on ceramics for the table made on the wheel, her work has taken a more sculptural turn for the last five years. She works with different types of firing: wood, gas and electric.

“I like the surprise when I open the kiln, especially when I work with reduction of the oxygen (in  wood and gas kilns), the surfaces become so alive that the outcome cannot be predicted accurately, this is the beauty of this art. ”

Myriam Bouchard-157She is touched by Japanese ceramics, particularly how young Japanese ceramists combine modern design and traditional firing in the anagama kiln.

Myriam loves making tea bowls and it is often with these that the ceramicist develops the glazes she then transposes to her large works. She has as much fun designing a tea bowl as a large work, “I find a meditative side to being in the centre of the workshop, to work a bowl on the wheel with music that transports me. ”

Always very preoccupied with the ergonomics of the bowl, she assesses it and sculpts it at several stages of drying until the weight is balanced and the bowl is comfortable in the hands. She also pays particular attention to the lip, so that the bowl feels good and the tea flows well.

“My pleasure is really to develop my ceramics, to always explore new avenues. I grade each firing and I only put on the market the pieces that meet my criteria. I am not concerned with the quantity, I am happy with a small production rate, it corresponds to a calm rhythm of life that suits me. ”

She won first prize at Carac’Terre and second prize in the competition Terre et Thé 2015, Chawan category, from 1001 pots.

LOCAL POTTERS

Meet the Quebec artisans who are passionate about the objets and art of tea. Every four months, pieces by a different designer will be presented in this unique showcase, giving you the chance to enjoy the great quality and diversity of the work of some of our local potters.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Une constante recherche d’équilibre

20 octobre 2015

A0007701

Myriam Bouchard se consacre à la céramique depuis une dizaine d’années. Elle a d’abord été designer graphique pendant vingt ans, période durant laquelle elle a collectionné avec passion des pièces de céramique. Elle en a fait un métier en se formant par de nombreux stages avec des céramistes en France, aux États-Unis et au Québec.

Myriam aime le contact avec l’argile; ce médium aux possibilités infinies est celui qui correspond le plus à sa sensibilité. D’abord centré sur les objets de la table fabriqués au tour, son travail a pris un virage plus sculptural depuis cinq ans. Elle travaille avec différents types de cuisson : au bois, au gaz et électrique.

« J’aime les belles surprises quand j’ouvre le four, notamment quand je travaille en réduction d’oxygène (au four à bois ou au four à gaz), les surfaces s’animent sans qu’on ne puisse prévoir exactement les résultats, c’est la beauté de cet art. »

Myriam Bouchard-157Elle est touchée par la céramique japonaise, notamment par la façon dont les jeunes céramistes japonais allient le design moderne et la cuisson traditionnelle au four Anagama. Myriam adore faire les bols à thé et c’est souvent avec eux que la céramiste développe les glaçures qu’elle transpose ensuite sur ses grandes pièces. Elle a autant de plaisir à concevoir un bol à thé qu’une grande pièce: «Je retrouve un côté méditatif à m’installer au centre de l’atelier, à travailler un bol sur une tournette avec une musique qui me transporte».

Toujours très préoccupée par l’ergonomie du bol, elle le soupèse et le sculpte à plusieurs étapes du séchage jusqu’à ce que le poids soit balancé et que le bol soit confortable entre les mains. Elle porte également une attention particulière à la lèvre, pour que le bol soit agréable, que le thé se boive bien.

« Mon plaisir est vraiment de faire évoluer ma céramique, de toujours explorer de nouvelles pistes. Je fais un tri à chaque cuisson et je mets sur le marché seulement les pièces qui répondent à mes critères. Je ne vise pas la quantité, je suis heureuse avec une petite production, ça correspond pour moi à un rythme de vie calme qui me convient. »

Elle a remporté le premier prix à Carac’Terre et le deuxième prix à 1001 pots lors du concours Terre et Thé 2015, catégorie Chawan.

CÉRAMISTE D’ICI

Faites la rencontre d’artisans du Québec qui se passionnent pour les objets et l’art du thé. Tous les quatre mois, les pièces d’un créateur différent seront présentées dans cette vitrine unique, vous permettant d’apprécier la qualité et la formidable diversité du travail des céramistes d’ici.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter