Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Sharing the Festive Spirit

16 December 2015

at 11:24 by Seb


DSC_0027

The countdown has begun, and as a tribute to the calendar, every day this month I will select a different Pu Er to taste to mark the days passing …… This is the time of year that I review our Pu Er menu in fine detail, along with those quietly ageing in my personal reserve.

So, in just a few sentences, I would like to introduce you to three of the teas that will be part of my Holiday selection.

DSC_0016For early solo tasting on a quiet morning: This is the ideal time to get out my favourite teaware and prepare an ‘awakening’ tea for daybreak. Using an elegant modern yixing teapot to infuse Pu Er 2000 Yellow label I find it enhanced and rounded since it arrived, just as intended. Complex and deep, this Grand Cru will provide a long, invigorating and flavourful impression in the mouth. In order to enjoy the ‘focus of an emperor’, I highly rate this celadon bowl, simple, refined and reflecting the meticulous expertise of  Mr. Yen, renowned craftsman, both in China and internationally. The choice of cup is very important for me – being such an intimate element in our contact with the liquor. This precious cup focusses my full attention through its form and also the emotional value I give it. More functionally, it also enables access to the liquor at an ideal temperature, sending it delicately across the tongue.

A large volume tea for a hearty meal: a classic holiday situation – with so much good food to share. In place of drinking water, I always take the opportunity to test the effectiveness of a good Pu Er, which I infuse freely in a large teapot, to suit the servings. One tea that is sure to be hit this year is our new Pu Er 2003 Orange label, a soft, well balanced, shou Pu Er. Easy to prepare, unlikely to go wrong, and its bodily feel has captivated me already! I can only look forward to further explorations of its depths.

The Great Red Robe of the Emperor: For my traditional holiday feasts I will have a few grams of Da Hong Pao on hand. This fresh arrival  is one of the best examples we have had in recent years. So versatile and generous, I love to explore the aromatic intensity of an wulong of this quality, and the experience is generally impressive. I will also stash a reserve of this one to enjoy it again next year – when it may be even better.

Suggestions aside, this is the season for sharing good times in good company.  Worldwide tea is a symbol of hospitality.   Quality leaf is a sensual delight for any confirmed epicurean.  Health benefits aside our favourite brew will help digest the feast and prolong your festive evenings well beyond the midnight countdown.

Comments or other ideas ? all welcome ….

Sébastien

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Ambiance de partage et de festivité

16 décembre 2015

DSC_0027

Le compte à rebours est amorcé, et comme un clin d’œil au calendrier de l’avent, je choisi chaque jours un Pu Er différent à déguster afin de marquer le temps qui passe…C’est le moment de l’année ou j’en viens à repasser au peigne fin les Pu Er de notre carte, ainsi que ceux qui vieillissent tranquillement dans ma réserve.

Je profite donc des quelques lignes qui suivent pour vous présenter trois thés qui feront partie de ma sélection de Noël.

DSC_0016Dégustation en Solo pour un matin tranquille : C’est le moment idéal pour sortir mes objets préférés et préparer un thé pour m’éveiller au jour naissant. Cette théière Yixing, moderne et élégante, acceptera gentiment de bonifier et d’arrondir la liqueur du Pu Er 2000 Yellow label que je lui destine. Complexe et profond, ce grand cru saura me procurer une savoureuse impression en bouche longue et vivifiante. Afin de déguster avec l’attention d’un empereur, je privilégierai ce bol en céladon, fin et sobre, reflet du minutieux savoir-faire de M.Yen, artisan de renom tant en Chine qu’à l’international. Le choix de la tasse a pour moi beaucoup d’importance puisque c’est l’élément intime qui nous offre la liqueur. Celui-ci a pour moi l’avantage d’exiger mon entière concentration, de par sa forme et la valeur émotionnelle que je lui porte. Il permet aussi plus pratiquement d’amener la liqueur à une température idéale et de la laisser glisser sur la langue tout en délicatesse.

Thé d’abondance pour repas copieux : Situation classique, où les mets nous tentent de toute part. J’en profite toujours pour tester l’efficacité d’un bon Pu Er que j’infuse librement dans une grande théière, en remettant de l’eau au gré des services. Celui qui sera éprouvé cette année sera notre nouveau Pu Er 2003 Orange label, un Pu Er shou doux et bien équilibré. Facile à préparer, il ne risque pas de mal tourner, et son effet corporel m’a déjà séduit! Je souhaite simplement faire profiter des ses vertus au plus grand nombre!

La Grande Toge Rouge de l’empereur : Fidèle à mon idée de célébration royale pour l’occasion de Noël, je me trimbalerai avec quelques grammes de Da Hong Pao, fraîchement arrivé, qui est un des meilleurs que nous ayons reçu depuis quelques années. Versatile et généreux, j’adore faire découvrir l’intensité aromatique d’un wulong de cette qualité, et la réaction est généralement très forte. J’en ferai aussi une réserve afin de pouvoir en profiter encore l’an prochain où il risque même d’être meilleur.

Malgré ces quelques suggestions, l’important est bien entendu de partager de bons moments en douce compagnie, et si le thé est un symbole d’hospitalité, un plaisir pour épicuriens affirmés ou un breuvage aux bienfaits millénaires, il prolongera en plus vos soirées de réjouissances certainement bien au-delà du décompte de minuit.

Commentaires ou autres suggestions !? Soyez loquaces…

Sébastien

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter