Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Searching for balance!

25 May 2016

at 15:48 by Seb

DSC_0013

A simple yet fundamental idea when preparing tea is that of how to make a good infusion. Clearly the main factors are the water and leaves, but besides the quality of these, three other parameters need to be carefully considered to get the best of our tea, this is why we have written on the bags: quantity of leaf, brewing temperature and time. For preparation in a teapot, around 2.5 grams (1 to 2 tsp) of tea per cup of water are submerged at the desired temperature, depending on the type of tea, and left to infuse a few minutes before removing leaves with the filter when the infusion has reached its balance! But what about the renowned sweet spot …

Each tea has its own chemical composition depending on a multiplicity of factors, and the rate at which its various constituents are released during the  infusion is also extremely varied. A minute too short can result in an infusion which gives the impression of  tasting a fragrant hot water, be very careful when infusing your tea since the tannins, which cause the sensation of astringency or dryness in the mouth, are progressively adding body to the liquor, and this happens more rapidly when the water is hotter. Those who prefer light and fine teas can therefore benefit from lowering the water temperature or shortening their infusion. It is useful to follow the evolution of the infusion by periodically tasting the liquor (every 15 seconds towards the end!), until the balance is what I call the nose and mouth, i.e. between the aromatic profile and the tastes and sensations (body, volume and texture). Too long an infusion and astringency may overwhelm the flavour, limiting the perception of more subtle nuances. Too short, and it offers too little texture and a lack of body. It is also good to know that the liquor changes even after having removed the leaves, becoming more full-bodied with time. A good reason to make small quantities at a time!

The three parameters are closely related, varying any one affects the others. A stronger dosage provides a  greater concentration of aromatic oils, but also more caffeine and tannins, sometimes resulting in a more pronounced bitterness. In this case it is necessary to  shorten the infusion to maintain the ideal balance. The techniques of infusions in small volumes (gong fu cha, gaiwan, sencha do) correspond with this idea.

Each tea merits being preparing according to a variety of different recipes in order to understand its multiple aspects.  A good knowledge of the infusion also enables adapting it to suit the moment, for a solo morning lunch,  a winter evening in good company or a family afternoon on the hot sand.

Happy experiments.

CELADON GREEN

11 May 2016

at 11:15 by Seb

TheVert_018-077_CHINE-31

Located in the southwest of Zhejiang Province, the city of Longquan is one of the most important centres of Chinese ceramics. It is also the cradle of celadon. According to recent archeological research, which has uncovered more than five hundred ancient kilns, it’s history goes back
to the fifth century. His locally developed glazing technique makes it possible to create objects in tones of jade, the sacred stone so highly prized in Asia. Popular today for their light and pleasing hues, celadon bowls are ideal for tea drinking.

AN INTERVIEW WITH MR. YEN WEI EN,
 A POTTER FROM LONGQUAN
 

TheVert_018-077_CHINE-32

In his workshop, which is surrounded by a magnificent garden decorated with artwork, we met Mr. Yen, a potter and calligrapher. During this encounter, we found out a great deal about this artist and his mindset and were able to discover the place that brings him inspiration and tranquility.

Mr. Yen, how did you become a potter?

I came from a family of potters and was therefore born into this milieu. From 1988 to 1992, I was a student in the fine arts department of the Celadon Institute in Jingdezheng. I have worked as a potter ever since.

In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good potter?

A good potter must have good technical skills. He must also know philosophy, aesthetics, history, culture, and traditional ceramics. The Chinese greatly respect artisans that possess knowledge and virtue, for benevolence is the soul of art. In my view, morality and know-how are important qualities for a potter.

Do you do research and experimentation?

I am always researching and experimenting because I am curious and I like to learn new techniques. My ambition is to create pottery that suits today’s tastes while still including ele- ments of traditional culture. I hope one day to have my own store and my own line of pottery so that my works may be appreciated throughout the world.

Do you think there are elements or conditions that escape the potter?

No matter how skilled or experienced a potter is, several elements influence the completion of a work: the materials, temperature, and water quality. These uncontrollable factors are part of the pleasure of creating.

What is your view of the art of ceramics in contemporary China?

In China, the skill level amongst potters is uneven. There aren’t many impressive works. Far too many potters are more concerned with short-term profit. For several years, I wavered on this point. I now create my works with the heart of an artisan. 

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

La recherche de l’équilibre!

25 mai 2016

DSC_0013

Une question simple, mais fondamentale, lorsqu’on prépare du thé est la suivante : comment bien le réussir? J’aime bien dire que l’essentiel c’est de l’eau et des feuilles, mais outre la qualité de ces deux derniers, trois paramètres sont à considérer pour obtenir le meilleur de notre thé, soit ceux que l’on écrit soigneusement sur les sacs : quantité de feuilles par tasse, température de l’eau et temps d’infusion. Pour une préparation en théière, on met autour de 2.5 grammes (1 à 2 c. à. thé) de thé par tasse, on submerge d’eau à la température voulue selon le type de thé, et on laisse infuser quelques minutes avant de retirer les feuilles à l’aide du filtre lorsque le thé est à l’équilibre! Mais qu’en est-il de ce fameux point idéal…

Chaque thé possède une composition chimique qui lui est propre et qui dépend d’une foule de facteurs. La vitesse à laquelle se libèrent ses différents constituants lors de l’infusion est aussi très variable. Si en deçà d’une minute d’infusion, nous avons parfois l’impression de goûter une eau chaude parfumée, attention à ne pas sur infuser vos thés puisque les tanins, responsables de la sensation d’astringence ou d’assèchement en bouche, s’ajoutent progressivement donnant corps à la liqueur, et ce d’autant plus rapidement que la température de l’eau est haute. Les amateurs de thés plus légers et fins ont donc avantage à abaisser la température de leur eau ou à écourter leur infusion. Il s’agit donc de veiller à l’évolution de l’infusion en goûtant la liqueur périodiquement (à toutes les 15 secondes vers la fin!) jusqu’à l’obtention de l’équilibre entre ce que j’appelle le nez et la bouche, c’est-à-dire entre le profil aromatique et les saveurs et sensations (corps, volume et textures). Une infusion trop longue et astringente risque d’occuper trop d’espace de perception, limitant l’acuité des nuances plus subtiles. Trop courte, elle offre trop peu de texture et manque de corps. Il est aussi bon de savoir que la liqueur se modifie même après en avoir retiré les feuilles, devenant ainsi plus corsée avec le temps. Une bonne raison d’en préparer de petites quantités à la fois!

Les trois paramètres étant intimement liés, en faire varier un influe sur les autres. Un dosage plus fort permet d’obtenir une plus grande concentration d’huiles aromatiques, mais aussi plus de caféine et de tanins, se traduisant parfois aussi par une amertume plus prononcée. Il sera alors nécessaire d’abréger l’infusion afin de conserver l’équilibre idéal. Les techniques d’infusions en petits volumes (gong fu cha, gaiwan, sencha do) correspondent à cette idée.

Chaque thé mérite d’être préparé suivant des recettes variées afin de comprendre ses multiples facettes. Une bonne connaissance de l’infusion permet aussi de s’adapter aux préférences du moment, pour un matin solo en déjeunant, un soir de bonne compagnie d’hiver ou un après-midi familial sur le sable chaud.

Bonnes expérimentations.

LE VERT DU CÉLADON

11 mai 2016

TheVert_018-077_CHINE-31

Située au sud-ouest de la province du Zhejiang, la ville de Longquan est l’un des plus importants centres chinois de la céramique, et c’est aussi le berceau du céladon. Son histoire remonterait au Ve siècle et les récentes recherches archéologiques ont permis d’y découvrir plus de 500 fours de cuisson. La technique qu’on y a développée permet d’obtenir des objets de la couleur du jade, cette pierre sacrée si prisée en Asie. Aujourd’hui reconnus pour leur glaçure douce et agréable, les bols en céladon sont très appréciés pour la dégustation du thé.

ENTRETIEN AVEC M. YEN WEI EN, POTIER À LONGQUAN

TheVert_018-077_CHINE-32

Dans son atelier entouré d’un magnifique jardin orné d’œuvres d’art, nous avons rencontré M. Yen, potier et calligraphe. Cette rencontre nous a permis de découvrir le lieu qui lui apporte inspiration et tranquillité, et de connaître l’état d’esprit de cet artiste.

Monsieur Yen, comment êtes-vous devenu potier ?

Je suis issu d’une famille de potiers, j’ai donc vécu dans ce milieu depuis ma naissance. De 1988 à 1992, j’ai étudié au département des beaux-arts de l’Institut du céladon de Jingdezheng. Depuis lors, je travaille comme potier.

D’après vous, quelles sont les qualités d’un bon potier ?

Un bon potier doit posséder de bonnes compétences techniques. Il doit aussi connaître la philosophie, l’esthétique, l’histoire, la culture et la céramique traditionnelle. Les Chinois ont une grande considération pour les artisans qui possèdent science et vertu, parce que la bienveillance est l’âme de l’art. À mes yeux, la moralité et le savoir-vivre sont des qualités importantes pour un potier.

Faites-vous de la recherche, des expérimentations ?

Je fais toujours des recherches et des expérimentations, parce que je suis curieux et que j’aime apprendre de nouvelles techniques. J’ai l’ambition de créer des poteries qui conviennent au goût de notre époque, tout en y intégrant certains éléments de la culture traditionnelle. J’espère avoir un jour ma propre boutique et ma propre marque de poterie, pour que mes œuvres soient appréciées de par le monde.

D’après vous, y a-t-il des éléments ou des conditions qui échappent
au potier ?


Malgré toute l’expérience et le savoir-faire des potiers, plusieurs éléments influencent la finition d’une œuvre : les matériaux, la température, la qualité de l’eau, etc. Les facteurs incontrôlables font partie du plaisir de la création.

Comment percevez-vous l’art de la céramique dans la Chine d’aujourd’hui ?


En Chine, la compétence des potiers est inégale. Il n’y a pas beaucoup d’œuvres marquantes. Beaucoup trop de potiers pensent davantage au profit rapide. Depuis quelques années, j’ai beaucoup changé sur ce point. Je travaille maintenant mes œuvres avec un cœur d’artisan. 

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter