Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Jasmin’s top 3 for 2016. Discover his favourites.

30 August 2016

at 9:59 by Social

Jardin du Mei Zhan Zhen

China specialist, Jasmin has covered six of China’s producing regions since 2003, tasting and selecting teas of every style.While 2016 may not have been the best year in terms of climate, he has nonetheless been able to get his hands on a few exceptional teas thanks to his long term relationships with these producers. Here are his picks for Spring 2016:

1. Mei Zhan Zhen

The Mei Zhan Zhen is harvested from fields over 1000m altitude and is completely chemical free. It is the best black tea I have  tasted to date! “. From the summit of Mount Zhenghe in Fujian (China), the long golden buds of this black tea seduce anybody by that full bodied chocolaty smell alone. Once dried and infused, its unforgettable scents of lavender, lemongrass and hemlock make for a simply glorious tea experience!

2. Jingning Bai Hong Cha

A creation of Mr. He, this black fusion tea is made from the cultivar Jingning Ba Ye usually used for very delicate green tea. “An exclusive 12kg was produced by M, He, according to our own specifications. »

Jardin Jingning Bai Hong Cha

3. Du Yun Mao Jian

The ideal result of  a well-preserved traditional terroir undergoing a well-executed modern transformation: the creation of a unique green tea . The Guizhou is the perfect example  which embodies the positive changes in China since the turn of the century. A powerful and refreshing tea, perfect for the warm season.

IMG_0577 (1)

Kevin’s top 3 for 2016. Discover his favourites.

at 9:58 by Social

British taster Kevin is the Black Tea specialist of the team. He first bought tea in India back in 1989. Every Spring for the last 20 years he has travelled to India, Sri Lanka, Nepal and various other countries. According to his colleages his daily tea consumption compares to the flow of some small rivers. Here are his picks for Spring 2016:

Jun Chiyabari J-1 Organic Nepal

Tasting Jun Chiyabari

One of my very favourite spots in the Himalayas.  Far from Darjeeling and Nepal’s principal tea region of Ilam, Jun Chiyabari is a relatively new garden.  This project is an excellent blend of great humanitarian values, experienced staff and some very innovative tea cultivation and manufacture.  The experimental years of the last decade are really starting to pay off as their quality becomes increasingly consistent. This tea’s lively and vegetal attack has a full bodied sweetness.  The flavour is very modern and stylish with well defined woody aromatics and chocolate nuances.

Lakyrsiew in Meghalaya

Meghalaya Lakyrsiew Organic

This was my second visit to the Meghalaya region that neighbours Southern Assam.  Lakyrsiew is another very modern project that combines new terrroir, experience and innovation for a modern tea product.  Historically fascinating, this area was once spotted for tea production back in the middle of the 19th Century but plans were then abandoned due to a sparse population that meant lack of manpower.  (Read more in this blog article.)   The combination of premium soil, plant selection and obsessive attention to detail have produced this exquisite tea with a very original flavour profile.  An unusual aesthetic tea with long leaves and intoxicating  coppery buds that infuse into an exceptional black tea: unexpected ‘completeness’ and finesse, solid structure and definition and a light, ethereal delivery.

The Jolly Managers at Namring

Darjeeling First Flush Namring EX-13 Classic

Namring is one of Darjeeling’s old classic gardens, known for their classic style and consistent quality.   Their gardens are all fully irrigated so they can artificially stimulate an early crop and in recent years they have been beating all the records for early First Flush. This lot however was not from this early period it was allowed to flush in its own time with the natural precipitation patterns of the valley.  This tea comes from their famous ‘Upper’ section from plants that germinated from original Chinese seeds back when the Darjeeling region was first emerging.  This classic Darjeeling with green hues has a substantial vegetal liquor, a mineral and slightly saline character typical of the teas from these older, original, plants. It develops in the mouth into rich and fruity tea with subtle accents of fresh herbs and spices.

For more information on this tea locate the garden on the Camellia Sinensis Darjeeling Garden Map.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Top 3 de Jasmin: découvrez ses coups de cœur 2016!

30 août 2016

Jardin du Mei Zhan Zhen

Spécialiste de la Chine, Jasmin voyage dans sept provinces chinoises productrices de toutes les familles de thé depuis 2003. Si l’année 2016 n’a pas été la meilleure au niveau du climat pour le thé, il n’en reste pas moins que grâce à ses relations de longue date avec les producteurs, il a pu mettre la main sur plusieurs lots d’exception. Voici ses trois coups de cœur du printemps dernier :

1. Mei Zhan Zhen

« Le Mei Zhan Zhen, récolté dans un jardin à plus de 1000m d’altitude et sans produits chimiques, est le meilleur thé noir que j’aie bu à ce jour! ». Du sommet de la montagne de Zhenghe dans le Fujian (Chine), les longs bourgeons dorés de ce thé noir nous séduisent simplement à l’odeur chocolatée des feuilles sèches. Une fois infusées, elles déploient des parfums enivrants de lavande, de pruche et de citronelle. Un thé sublime, généreux, …inoubliable!

2. Jingning Bai Hong Cha

Une création de M. He, ce thé noir fusion est élaboré à partir du cultivar Jingning Ba Ye qui produit normalement un thé vert très délicat. « Un 12k exclusif à notre maison de thé a été produit par M. He, selon nos spécificités»

Jardin Jingning Bai Hong Cha

3. Du Yun Mao Jian

Quand un excellent terroir rencontre une transformation moderne bien exécutée : ce thé vert du Guizhou est un exemple qui illustre bien les changements positifs en Chine depuis le début du siècle. Un thé puissant et désaltérant à essayer sans hésiter pour la saison chaude.

IMG_0577 (1)

Top 3 de Kevin : découvrez ses coups de cœur 2016!

Tasting Jun Chiyabari

Fier Britannique d’origine, Kevin remplit son rôle de spécialiste des thés noirs à merveille.  Chaque année depuis  1989, il voyage dans différentes régions de l’Inde, du Népal et du Sri Lanka.  Selon ses collègues, sa consommation de thé serait supérieure au débit de certaines rivières. Voici ses trois coups de cœur du printemps dernier :

Népal 1st flush Jun Chiyabari DJ-1 Bio

Sans aucun doute l’un de mes endroits préférés dans l’Himalaya. Loin de Darjeeling et de la région de thé principale de Ilam au Népal, Jun Chiyabari est un jardin relativement nouveau. Ce projet résulte d’un parfait mélange entre de grandes valeurs humanitaires, l’expertise du personnel et manière innovatrice de cultiver et produire le thé. Les années d’expérimentation de la dernière décennie font leurs preuves, alors que la qualité devient de plus en plus cohérente. L’attaque en bouche vive et végétale de ce thé a une douceur corsée. Son caractère ample et volatil rappelle le style moderne aux nuances boisées et chocolatées.

Lakyrsiew in Meghalaya

Meghalaya Lakysview Bio

Il s’agit de ma deuxième visite dans la région Meghalaya, voisine de l’Assam du Sud. Lakyrsiew est un autre projet qui nous offre un produit de thé moderne grâce à la combinaison d’un nouveau terroir, d’innovation et d’expérience. Historiquement fascinante, cette zone était autrefois reconnue pour la production de thé dans le milieu du 19ème siècle. Toutefois, les plans ont ensuite été abandonnés en raison d’une faible densité de population et conséquemment d’un manque de main-d’œuvre. (En savoir plus dans cet article de blog.) Ce thé exquis au profil de saveur très original est le fruit d’un sol de qualité et d’une sélection rigoureuse des plantes. Ses longues feuilles comblées de capiteux bourgeons cuivrés s’infusent pour offrir un thé noir exceptionnel : une structure tannique bien équilibrée relevée par de fins accents floraux soutiennent sa douce finale tout en fraîcheur.

The Jolly Managers at Namring

Darjeeling 1st flush Namring Ex-13 (classique)

Namring fait parti des jardins classiques de Darjeeling, connus pour leur style classique et leur qualité constante. Ces derniers sont entièrement irrigués afin de stimuler une culture précoce de manière artificielle. D’ailleurs, au cours des dernières années, ils ont battu tous les records pour les premiers arrivages de First Flush. Ce thé provient de la célèbre section ‘Upper’, qui contient des plantes ayant germé à partir de graines chinoises provenant de la période émergente de la région de Darjeeling. Ce lot classique aux teintes de vert libère une liqueur ample et végétale étoffée du caractère minéral et salé typique des thés produits à partir des plants d’origine, plus âgés. Un thé riche et fruité nuancé par ses accents d’herbes fraîches et d’épices.

Pour plus d’information sur ce thé, situez le jardin sur la carte des jardins de Darjeeling du Camellia-Sinensis.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter