Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

The Darjeeling’s Annual Flavour Cycle

17 April 2017

at 22:05 by Social

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 11.08.32

The First Darjeeling harvest is upon us! As we wait to get our first taste of its exciting and complex flavour, here is a guided tour through each of the production seasons – a small preview of what’s to come.

Spring or First Flush (March – April)

The cool, dry Himalayan Spring offers an optimal balance between the sun’s heat and rainwater which awakens the plants from their dry winter dormancy and enhances the quality of the harvest. This slow, yet progressive growth that the crops are picked, according to the region’s standard, which is from the bud out to the two first leaves.

The transformation begins with a long withering, known as a ‘hard-wither’ which removes a large quantity of moisture in the leaves (often more than 60%), this explains why the First Flush is often quite green in appearance. The subsequent oxidation on the partially dried leaves, captures the precious aromatic chemistry that is the trade mark of these Spring teas. The final leaf composition is a blend silver buds with light, dark and green leaves.

Whether lightly rolled, for sophisticated and supple new taste trends, or tightly rolled for a more classic and full-bodied flavour profile, they are renowned for their vibrant, floral and fruity liquors, embodied by that greenness best suited for that early Spring thirst for aromatics. It is also the season that truly reflects the flavour diversity of the region as each garden’s specific signature flavour is more apparent at this time. Each tea is a reflection of its terroir: the type of plant, the know-how and the pre-harvest climate which inevitably have a unique impact from one lot to another.

Summer or Second Flush (May – June)

The Summer harvest is generous and offers beautiful, bright and juicy leaves. The rolling process induces the release of its luscious juices while the oxidation benefits from the heat and humidity to transform its flavour and darken its shine.The liquor is coppery, woody and generally structured. Black teas lovers rejoice at the accents of ripe fruit, citrus and muscat, all are at their peak. Warm hints of spice and brown sugar are also typical of the Second Flush.

Monsoon (July – August)

The next growth cycle occurs in the midst of the warmest and rainiest period of the year, resulting in an abundant harvest from accelerated growth. The juices and flavours are therefore concentrated and thus naturally diluted. As such, the teas produced during the monsoon period, are often full-bodied and darker, mainly serve to feed the production blends of the “morning teas”.

Autumn (October – November)

During the Autumn harvest as dry climate and cold nights dominate, the growth of plants is greatly slowed down. This slight “climatic stress” can help produce exceptional teas, similar to the ones from the Spring season The brown, ocher and silvery leaves, offer soft and woody liquors, with caramelized and floral aromas are quite appealing.

So shine up your teapots as Kevin travels through India – he’s sure to bring us some unique teas, often referred to as “the champagne of teas”.

Pu Er Sheng & Shou : Characteristics and Differences

9 April 2017

at 22:26 by Social

DSC_0004 (1)

Aged teas such as Pu Er, Liu Bao, Liu An, Fuzhuan, and Hei Cha are some the most ancient teas known to mankind. The Pu Er family is said to have the unique ability to not only actively fight cardiovascular illnesses but also reduce excess fat and lower bad cholesterol levels. In fact, the Pu Er Shou and Sheng that are aged over 10 years seem to be the ones that have the strongest effect on our health.

DSC_0092 (1)

To help us clarify the difference between these two Pu Er’s, here are their main characteristics:

PU ER SHENG

One of the oldest teas to come out of China, the Pu Er Sheng (“raw”), can be identified by its richness and its healing properties. According to tradition, the way to produce this tea is by picking fresh leaves, heating them, rolling them and drying them before being compressing (into a cake shape) and storing them. That will begin the slow fermentation process, which can last up to 50 years.

PU ER SHOU

Due to a growing demand for Pu Ers during the 70’s, the Chinese tea industry put together a new quicker fermentation process which only lasts between 45 and 60 days. By accelerating the transformation of the leaves, this alternate type of fermentation gives birth to a new type of tea, which is now referred to as Pu Er Shou (“boiled”).

As opposed to Pu Er Sheng, these types of leaves are rarely preserved due to the simple fact that their taste doesn’t improve over time.

DIFFERENT TYPES OF PU ER

Additionally to having a distinct production process, these two Pu Ers have many more features that can help you differentiate them. The main one being their shape, here are some more examples:

  • The bing cha cake, normally weighs 357g, but is also available in other formats (100g, 250g etc..);
  • The zhuan cha brick, 250g;
  • The tuo cha “nest” normally weighs 100g or 250g and is also available in the 5g format;
  • The jin gua “pumpkin”, also available in various formats;
  • The 5g cube;
  • Various recognizable shapes (buddha, pig etc..) as a mean to celebrate a specific event;
  • In bulk etc..;

OUR SUGGESTIONS

If you fancy the 10 years aged Pu Ers, our team has the following suggestions when it comes to quality/price ratio:

- PuEr Sheng , 10 years: Yiwu Jing Long 2007 ($18/50g) – fallen leaves, fresh mushrooms, fresh, foresty.

- PuEr Sheng, 20 years over : Menghai Hou Gen 1992 ($19/10g) – Deep, mineral, vegetal (lichy).

- PuEr Shou: Macao Scenary 2006 ($18/50g) – Mineral, beets.

- PuEr Shou: Bulang Shan 2006 ($12/50g) – Dry and soft earth, cocoa, potatoes.

Enjoy!

Follow our tea tasters on their spring 2017 travels

2 April 2017

at 22:54 by Social

28593161325_c2c7c95c8d_b

As they always do this time of year, the four expert tea tasters from Camellia Sinensis will go scour Asia’s soil in hopes to bring back some of the finest grand cru of teas, meet their priceless suppliers as well as set up some new exciting projects.

Jasmin Desharnais

From March 31st until April 25th, Jasmin will be going around many of China’s provinces. He will first visit Yunnan in order to replenish our « tea cave » with some new Pu Er we will age. Second, he will be developing a new green tea project in Guizhou – stay tuned! Third, he will visit the M. He’s new garden in Zhejiang for some grand green teas, then white teas in Fujian, and finally, Dan Cong wulongs in Guangdong. His fourth and last stop will be in Hong Kong for his aged Pu Er.

François Marchand

From April 13th until May 4th, Francois will mainly be in the province of Henan, in China in hopes of discovering new teas and projects. He will also visit the lands of Tai Ping Hou Kui on a mission to find aged Liu Bao in the province of Guang Xi.

Kevin Gascoyne

From March 31st until April 17th, Kevin will go through Darjeeling and Kolkata in India before heading to Nilgiri for a new special project (we will announce what shortly). His trip will take him to a final stop in the U.K. where he will give a class at the UK Tea Academy. He’ll also stop by Fat Duck, a three star Michelin restaurant that just happens to serve some of our teas.

Hugo Americi

From April 28th until May 14th, Hugo will go through Japan in search of new Shinchas, a tea that is hand picked on break of spring. He will also visit M. Sugiyama, our Sencha Mobata supplier, to hand him our Camellia Sinensis Award for  Excellence that is offered to craftsmen that stand out by their effort and consistency. Amongst many other visits at our various suppliers, Hugo will go meet new potters in the Tokoname and Kobe regions in hopes to find new talent and what they have crafted.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Le cycle annuel des saveurs à Darjeeling

17 avril 2017

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 11.08.32
Les premières récoltes de Darjeeling sont à nos portes ! En attendant de savourer leur excitante complexité, voici une visite guidée à travers les différentes saisons de production de cette région montagneuse, un avant goût des promesses à venir.

Printemps ou 1st flush (Mars – Avril)

Le printemps himalayen frais et sec, attend patiemment la pluie et la chaleur pour réveiller les plantes de leur dormance hivernale, et espère l’équilibre eau – soleil optimal afin de favoriser l’abondance et la qualité de la récolte. C’est au gré d’une croissance lente et progressive que les jeunes poussent sont cueillies suivant le standard de la région, soit du bourgeon et des deux feuilles suivantes.

La transformation débute par un long flétrissage retirant une importante quantité d’eau dans les feuilles, souvent plus de 60%. C’est une des étapes clé permettant de comprendre l’aspect plus vert des premières récoltes (1st flush). L’oxydation qui suit agit donc sur des feuilles partiellement séchées, provoquant des changements chimiques relatifs à la nature du hétérogène du mélange. La composition finale est typique avec ses bourgeons argentés, parsemés de feuilles vert clair, foncé et ocre.

Qu’ils soient roulés légèrement, à l’image des nouvelles esthétiques gustatives souples et sophistiquées, ou plus serrés avec leurs goûts classiques et corsés, ils sont reconnus pour leurs liqueurs vibrantes, florales et fruitées, dominées par cette verdeur qui fait le bonheur des soifs printanières. C’est aussi la meilleure saison pour goûter la diversité qu’offre la région et en apprécier la signature des jardins. Chaque thé étant le reflet de son terroir : le type de plante, le savoir-faire et le climat précédant la récolte auront inévitablement une empreinte unique d’un lot à l’autre.

Été ou 2nd flush (Mai – Juin)

La cueillette d’été est généreuse et offre de belles feuilles brillantes et juteuses. Le roulage libère leurs succulents sucs et l’oxydation profite d’une ambiance de chaleur et d’humidité pour transformer leurs saveurs et brunir leurs éclats. Les liqueurs sont cuivrées, boisées et généralement charpentées. Les amateurs de thés noirs sont comblés des accents de fruits mûrs, d’agrumes et de muscat qui y sont à leur apogée. De chaleureuses nuances d’épices et de sucre brun sont aussi l’apanage des 2nd flush.

Mousson (Juillet – Août)

Le cycle de croissance suivant survient au cœur de la période la plus chaude et pluvieuse de l’année, résultant en une récolte abondante, relative à la croissance plus rapide des feuilles. La concentration des sucs et arômes est ainsi naturellement diluée et les thés qui sont produit durant cette période de mousson, corsés et foncés, servent surtout à alimenter la production de mélanges de type «thés du matin».

Automne (Octobre – Novembre)

Pour la récolte d’automne, le climat redevient sec et les nuits froides succèdent aux journées de soleil, contribuant ainsi à ralentir progressivement la croissance des plantes. Ce léger «stress climatique» produit ainsi parfois de thés d’exception à l’image de ceux du printemps. Les feuilles brunes, ocres et argentées offrent toutefois des liqueurs douces et boisées, aux arômes caramélisés et floraux, des plus séduisants.

Suivez l’aventure de Kevin en Inde sur nos réseaux sociaux et astiquez vos théières en attendant patiemment de savourer ces thés uniques et incomparables, souvent appelés champagne du thé noir!

Démystifier les Pu Er : Sheng et Shou

9 avril 2017

DSC_0004 (1)

Les thés vieillis sont parmis les plus anciens types de thés produits  par l’homme : on y compte les Pu Er, les Liu Bao, les Liu An, les Fuzhuan et les Hei Cha. Les plus grands représentants, soit les Pu Er, sont champions de la lutte contre les malades cardio-vasculaires. En effet, le thé Pu Er agit sur la réduction des graisses excédentaires et sur le taux de mauvais cholestérol. D’ailleurs, les Pu Er Shou et Pu Er Sheng de plus de 10 ans seraient ceux qui sembleraient avoir le plus d’effets sur la santé.

Démystifions donc les caractéristiques de ces deux parents de la famille des PuEr.

DSC_0092 (1)

PU ER SHENG

Certainement l’un des plus anciens thés à apparaître en Chine, le Pu Er Sheng (« cru ») est connu aujourd’hui pour son caractère riche et ses propriétés curatives. Selon le mode de fabrication traditionnel, les feuilles fraîchement cueillies sont chauffées, roulées et séchées avant d’être compressées (le plus souvent en galettes) puis entreposées. Elles débuteront ainsi leur lente fermentation, au contact de l’air ambiant, sur une période pouvant aller jusqu’à 50 ans.

PU ER SHOU

Au cours des années 1970, pour répondre à une demande de consommation toujours croissante, l’industrie chinoise met au point une nouvelle technique de transformation du Pu Er visant à accélérer sa fermentation. Cette méthode libère sur le marché, au bout de 45 à 60 jours seulement, des Pu Er entièrement fermentés que l’on appellera Pu Er Shou (« cuits »).

Ceux-si sont rarement conservés très longtemps car, contrairement aux Pu Er Sheng, leur goût ne s’améliore que légèrement avec les années.

DIFFÉRENTES FORMES DE PU ER 

En plus de cette distinction entre Sheng et Shou, les Pu Er possèdent certaines caractéristiques qui permettent de les identifier. L’une des plus évidentes est sans contredit leur forme. Voici quelques exemples :

• La galette, bing cha, qui pèse habituellement 357 grammes, mais que l’on peut trouver aussi en d’autres formats (100 g, 250 g, etc.) ;

• La brique, zhuan cha, de 250 grammes ;

• Le nid, tuo cha, qui pèse normalement 100 ou 250 grammes et se présente aussi en format de 5 grammes ;

• La citrouille, jin gua, qui se présente en plusieurs formats ;

• Le champignon, jin cha, qui pèse 238 grammes ;

• Le cube d’environ 5 grammes ;

• Différentes formes esthétiques (bouddha, cochon, etc.) pour souligner un événement particulier ;

• En vrac, etc.

NOS SUGGESTIONS

Si vous êtes intrigués par les PuEr de plus de 10 ans, notre équipe vous conseille les suivants pour un bon rapport qualité-prix :

- PuEr Sheng de 10ans: Yiwu Jing Long 2007 (18$/50g) – feuilles mortes, champignons frais, forestier.

- PuEr Sheng de plus de 20ans : Menghai Hou Gen 1992 (19$/10g) – Profond, minéral, végétal (lichen).

- PuEr Shou: Macao Scenary 2006 (18$/50g) – Minéral, betterave, caveau.

- PuE Shou: Bulang Shan 2006 (12$/50g) – Terreau sec et doux, cacao, pomme de terre.

Bonne dégustation !

Suivez les dégustateurs sur la route des thés de printemps 2017

2 avril 2017

28593161325_c2c7c95c8d_b

Dès la fin du mois de mars, les quatre experts dégustateurs du Camellia Sinensis partiront sillonner les terroirs d’Asie afin de rapporter les meilleurs crus de thés, rencontrer nos précieux producteurs et mettre en place de nouveaux projets.

Jasmin Desharnais

Du 31 mars au 25 avril, Jasmin sera en tournée dans plusieurs provinces de Chine. Il se rendra d’abord dans le Yunnan en vue de garnir notre cave de vieillissement de nouveaux Pu Er. Par la suite, c’est un nouveau projet de thé vert qui l’emportera dans la province du Guizhou – à suivre! Puis, ce sont les grands thés verts et le nouveau jardin de M. He qui l’attireront à Zhejiang, les thés blancs dans le Fujian et les wulongs Dan Cong dans le Guangdong. Finalement, il terminera son périple dans la région de Hong Kong, pour ses vieux Pu Er.

François Marchand

Du 13 avril au 4 mai, François se rendra en notamment dans la province de Henan en Chine, afin de dénicher de nouveaux thés et objets. Il visitera également le terroir du Tai Ping Hou Kui, et se donne pour mission de trouver de vieux Liu Bao dans la province de Guang Xi.

Kevin Gascoyne

Du 31 mars au 17 avril, Kevin se rendra en Inde à Darjeeling et à Calcutta, avant de visiter Nilgiri pour un nouveau projet spécial (dévoilement à venir prochainement!). Son voyage se terminera au Royaume-Uni, où il est attendu pour offrir un cours au UK Tea Academy. Il aura aussi la chance d’aller visiter le restaurant Fat Duck, un trois étoiles Michelin, qui propose une sélection de nos thés.

Hugo Americi

Du 28 avril au 14 mai, Hugo parcourera le Japon à la recherche de nouveaux Shincha,  ces thés cueillis à la main à l’aube du printemps. Il ira aussi rencontrer M. Sugiyama, notre producteur du Sencha Mobata pour lui remettre notre mention d’excellence 2017, offerte aux artisans se démarquant par leurs efforts et la constance dans leur travail. Outre plusieurs autres rencontres avec nos partenaires, Hugo ira à la rencontre de nouveaux potiers dans la région de Tokoname et de Kobe, à la recherche de petites pièces provenant de grands talents.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter