Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Kevin’s top 3 for 2017: Discover his favourites.

20 August 2017

at 15:58 by Social

unnamed

British tea-taster Kevin first bought tea in Asia in 1989 and has since spent every spring there as for almost 25 years. Aside from his obsessive quest for Darjeeling’s finest leaf, his interest in the teas of Nepal, Sri Lanka, and the African continent have added these regions to his repertoire.  Kevin was weaned on tea and has been drinking copious amounts daily ever since. According to his colleagues his daily tea consumption compares to the flow of some small rivers.  Here are his Spring Picks for 2017.

Darjeeling Muscatel Valley DJ-3

This delicious tea from Muscatel Valley is a blend of leaves from young (clonal) and old (classic) tea plants.

As we taste the soft full, fruity attack of the clonal leaves open the flavor profile. Then gradually the more forceful vitality of the classic leaves powers through to close the flavor.  In a recent tasting this effect was compared to a train speeding out of the mist…a very Darjeeling image.

The liquor combines the “classical”, mineral (salty) and tannic character of older tea plants, with supple and fruity (typically “clonal”) accents.

Darjeeling 1st flush classic Singell DJ-11 Organic & Fair Trade

After so many years scanning the same small region for the best examples I can find, I keep coming back to this little section of old plants.  The ‘Heritage’ section of Singell was planted back in the 1860s with seeds from China.  It yields some exceptional teas and I was very pleased this year to see that they have fenced off 400 plants to be allocated as seed trees for future generations.

The infusion of its beautiful whole leaves reveals a clear liquor, lively and balanced, with a rich aroma making it one of the best Darjeelings this year. Its beautifully balanced herbaceous and floral notes contribute a surprising lightness to this fine and refreshing tea!

unnamed-1

Kangra Dharmsala EX-5 

The Kangra region is a secret corner of the Himalayas in the State of Himachal Pradesh.  It was planted back in the 1850s around the same time as Darjeeling.  Beautiful, classic, seed-grown plants growing at an altitude of 2000m and transformed in the style of a First Flush Darjeeling.  The flavour structure is very similar to that of a Spring Darjeeling but the flavour points and character quite different due to the local terroir.  A great discovery for any lover of classic Darjeeling.
Its full and fruity liqueur boasts bright vegetal, spicy and floral notes. Its tannic structure is rounded out by a pleasant mineral sensation(limestone) and a gourmet bread note that gives it extra depth.

Read this article about Kangra

For more information on this tea locate the garden on the Camellia Sinensis Darjeeling Garden Map.

Hugo’s Top 3 for 2017: Discover his favourites.

7 August 2017

at 9:35 by Social

unnamed-7

 

Since 2003 Hugo leaves each May to visit the producers of Taiwan, Japan and Vietnam. He will select many of the Wulong and Green Teas in our catalogue. Hugo knows the country roads of Taiwan like the back of his hand and given the choice would eat cooked cabbage for every meal, every day. Here are his picks for Spring 2017:

Sencha Sayamakaori

Every year, as I taste my way through over 200 types of Sencha I am always hoping to find a few hidden gem! This year, the first one that revealed itself was in a selection Sencha Sakamoto (sorry, we ran out quickly, there was only 10kg!) But the second one came from a collection of Sencha Sayamakaori. Its name originates from the Sayamakaori cultivar, in Japan. It is produced in Shizyoka by Mr. Hiroshi Kawase and is a Chumushi style Sencha despite having a leaning towards Fukamushi. It is a dark-colored tea, rich and full-bodied with a floral finish …

unnamed-2 unnamed-1 unnamed-3

Sencha Koshun
At the end of the transformation process, the Japanese often give their teas a finish which they refer to as “Hiire”.   But this tea, the Koshun, (again after the cultivar) is not finished with a firing.  Its pure clean flavour offers rich spring flower notes and can quench the thirstiest of palates!

unnamed-4 unnamed-6

Dong Ding Mrs Lin (charcoal roast)
When it comes to Taiwanese teas, Dong Ding is a sure bet and this time, Mrs Lin has outdone herself with this charcoal finish. Roasted at the end of the process is common with Taiwanese wulong teas. Usually using an electric oven,  However Mrs Lin opts the old fashioned method of charcoal. The roasting gives them a comforting woody finish. This type of tea is perfect for the colder days of the fall, but Hugo recommends it for any rainy day…accompanied by a little something sweet.

unnamed

Team Portrait: Catherine-Emma Tremblay

6 August 2017

at 22:17 by Social

Josiane_Cat-Emma

(On the right side of this picture)

At Camellia Sinensis, the quality of our teas has our reputation but the quality of our team makes it all possible. This month, we introduce to you Catherine-Emma Tremblay.

How did you come to work at Camellia Sinensis?

It’s my love for tea and all things tea that brought me to work for Camellia Sinensis back in 2007. I was a loyal client for a long time and eventually, I found myself behind the counter in the teahouse and eventually in the store as a consultant.

What is your role within the team?

Since 2011, I’ve been mainly working out of the offices, where the tea school is located. Part of my role is accounting for the Montreal stores, our online store and the warehouse. I’m blessed to work with such quality people and also a world-class product. To this day, I still have the same passion when it comes to talking and sharing tea with clients and co-workers.

In 2013, I was lucky enough to go to Taiwan and Japan with Hugo during one of his yearly trips as he visits tea suppliers and potters. It was a unique experience and it helped me really grasp all the hard work that goes behind what we believe is a “simple” cup of tea! But trust me, when it comes to Camellia Sinensis, it’s really straight from the garden to the cup.

Your favourite tea is…

Hard to chose only one. Actually, it really depends on the day and also the seasons, but normally I like to begin my day with a black tea. The Darjeeling 1st Flush such as the Thurbo DJ-16 and the Jungpana DJ-3 are my morning favourites these days. Their liquor is just so textured, fruity and spicy.

Tell us about your most recent find.

One of the great things about working at Camellia Sinensis is that you’re always sharing teapots with your collegues. Recently, Josianne made me taste the Jingxian Jin Jun Mei, a Chinese black tea that swept me off my feet with its richness and floral/fruity aromas with a side of cocoa.

I’ve also been really into this Chinese green tea : Anji Bai Cha. Jasmin really made a great find with this one. It has a great balance between its sugary gourmet notes and a stringent delicate side.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Top 3 de Kevin : Découvrez ses coups de coeur 2017!

20 août 2017

unnamed

C’est en 1989 que Kevin a acheté du thé en Asie pour la première fois : depuis, il y passe chaque printemps. Mis à part sa quête obsessionnelle pour la plus belle feuille de Darjeeling, son intérêt pour les thés du Népal, du Sri Lanka et du continent africain a ajouté ces régions à son répertoire. Selon ses collègues, sa consommation quotidienne de thé se compare au flux de quelques petites rivières. Voici ses coups de coeur pour 2017:

Darjeeling Muscatel Valley DJ-3

Ce délicieux thé de la jardin de Muscatel est un mélange de cultivars clonales et classiques. La palette de goût de ce thé se révèle au fur et à mesure que l’on goûte la saveur pleine et fruitée des cultivars clonales. Progressivement, c’est ensuite la vitalité plus énergique des cultivars classiques qui laisse place à toute la puissance de la saveur. Dans une récente dégustation, cet effet a été comparé à un train qui dépassait la brume … une image très Darjeeling!
La liqueur combine le caractère “classique”, minéral et tannique des anciennes plantes à thé, avec des accents souples et fruités.

Darjeeling 1st flush classique Singell DJ-11 Biologique

Après tant d’années à parcourir la même petite région pour dénicher les meilleurs échantillons possibles, je reviens sur cette petite section de vieilles plantes. La section ‘Héritage’ de Singell a été plantée dans les années 1860 avec des graines en provenance de Chine. Il donne quelques thés exceptionnels et j’ai été très heureux de voir qu’ils ont clôturé 400 plantes en vue de les transformer en arbres semenciers pour les générations futures.

L’infusion de ses belles feuilles entières révèle une liqueur claire, vive et équilibrée, d’une richesse aromatique portant ce thé parmi les meilleurs Darjeeling de cette année. Ses notes herbacées et florales apportent une surprenante légèreté à ce thé fin et désaltérant!

unnamed-1

Kangra Dharmsala EX-5

La région de Kangra est un coin secret de l’Himalaya dans l’État d’Himachal Pradesh. Des jardins de thé y ont été établis dans les années 1850 au même moment que Darjeeling. Des plantes magnifiques, classiques et cultivées poussent à une altitude de 2000 m et se transforment dans le style d’un Darjeeling First Flush. La structure de saveur est très semblable à celle d’un Darjeeling printanier, mais le registre et le caractère sont tout à fait différents en raison du terroir local. Une excellente découverte pour tout amoureux de Darjeeling classique.

Sa liqueur pleine et fruitée arbore d’éclatantes notes végétales, florales et épicées. Sa structure tannique est étoffée d’une touche minérale (calcaire) et gourmande (mie de pain) lui donnant assise et profondeur.

Lire l’article consacré à ce thé ici!

Pour plus d’informations sur ce thé, localisez le jardin sur la carte Camellia Sinensis.

Top 3 d’Hugo : découvrez ses coups de coeur 2017!

7 août 2017

unnamed-7

Depuis 2003, Hugo quitte au mois de mai pour visiter des producteurs de Taïwan, du Japon et du Vietnam. On raconte qu’à Taïwan, il reconnaît son chemin avec les arbres et ce, dans toutes les provinces productrices de thé ! Voici ses trois coups de cœur du printemps dernier :

Sencha Sayamakaori
À chaque année, en goûtant plus de 200 Sencha, je cherche une petite lumière… Cette année, la première fut celle provenant du Sencha Sakamoto (désolé, c’est parti très vite, il n’y avait que 10kg!), et la seconde fut celle du Sencha Sayamakaori. Son nom provient du cultivar utilisé qui provient de Saitama au Japon. Celui-ci est produit à Shizyoka par M. Hiroshi Kawase et il appartient au Sencha de type Chumushi, toutefois touchant presque au style Fukamushi. Il s’agit donc d’un thé à la couleur foncée, riche en bouche avec finale en fleur…

unnamed-3 unnamed-2 unnamed-1

Sencha Koshun
Au Japon, à la fin du processus de transformation, les thés reçoivent souvent une finition que l’on nomme « Hiire » . Celui-ci, le Koshun, est issu du cultivar du même nom et se présente ici sous sa version dénudée. Sans artifice et sans cuisson, il offre également de riches notes printanières de fleurs et désaltère à souhait les palais assoiffés !

unnamed-6 unnamed-4

Dong Ding Mme Lin (cuit au charbon) 
Du côté de Taiwan, le thé Dong Ding est une valeur sûre. Cette fois-ci, celui de Mme Lin se distingue par sa finition au charbon. À la fin du processus, une cuisson est souvent pratiquée sur les thés wulong de Taiwan. Celle-ci se fait normalement avec un four électrique, mais Mme Lin le fait à l’ancienne, soit avec une chaleur provenant du charbon qui « cuit » légèrement les feuilles, leur donnant une finale boisée très réconfortante. On boit normalement ce type de thé à l’automne quand le froid arrive, mais Hugo le recommande pour les jours de pluie et accompagné d’une petite sucrerie.

unnamed

Portrait d’équipe : Catherine-Emma Tremblay

6 août 2017

Josiane_Cat-Emma

(À droite sur la photo)

Chez Camellia Sinensis, ce qui importe autant sinon plus que la qualité de nos thés et objets, c’est l’équipe derrière l’entreprise. Ce mois-ci, nous vous présentons Catherine-Emma Tremblay.

Quel est ton rôle au sein de l’équipe?

C’est une histoire d’amour pour les objets du thé qui m’a menée chez Camellia Sinensis en 2007. J’ai d’abord été une cliente fidèle pour ensuite me retrouver derrière le comptoir du salon de thé aux infusions et ensuite du côté boutique en tant que conseillère. Depuis 2011, je travaille principalement dans les bureaux où se situe également notre école de thé. Mon rôle est celui d’assistante à la comptabilité pour les boutiques de Montréal, notre boutique web et l’entrepôt. J’ai la chance de travailler au quotidien avec une équipe incroyable et des produits d’une qualité exceptionnelle. C’est d’ailleurs toujours un plaisir de partager ma passion du thé et des objets du thé avec les clients et mes collègues.

En 2013 j’ai eu la chance d’accompagner Hugo à Taiwan et au Japon pour la visite annuelle de nos producteurs de thé et quelques artisans potiers. Ce fut une expérience mémorable qui m’a permis de mieux comprendre tout le travail qui se cache derrière une petite tasse de thé! On peut dire que chez Camellia Sinensis, c’est vraiment du jardin à la tasse.

Ton thé coup de coeur c’est …

Difficile de se prononcer sur un seul! Disons que ça dépend de la journée et des saisons, mais en général j’aime bien le rituel de débuter la journée avec un thé noir. Les Darjeeling 1st Flush tels que le Thurbo DJ-16 et le Jungpana DJ-3 sont mes classiques matinaux du moment avec leur liqueur texturée, fruitée et épicée.

Quel a été ta plus récente découverte ?

En fait, lorsqu’on travaille dans les bureaux chez Camellia Sinensis, en général on partage la théière entre collègues! Ainsi, dernièrement en travaillant avec Josiane, j’ai gouté le Jingxian Jin Jun Mei, un thé noir de Chine qui m’a enchanté les papilles avec sa richesse et ses arômes florales, fruités son aspect cacao.

Sinon cette année je redécouvre le Anji Bai Cha, un thé vert de Chine soigneusement sélectionné par Jasmin, qui offre un bel équilibre entre ses notes sucrées, gourmandes et sa délicate astringence.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter