Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Team Portrait: Vincent Moreau

4 September 2017

at 14:44 by Social

1425586_863701500371973_2209033316685123464_n

Here at Camellia Sinensis, the one thing more important than the quality of our tea is the people that make it all happen. This month, we’d like to  you to meet Vincent Moreau.

How did you end up working with the company?

I arrived at Camellia Sinensis from my native France as an intern six years ago to do tea market studies. The connection with the team was instant: all real tea enthusiasts! It was like paradise: daily tea tastings to this day!

What is your role in the team?

Over time, I took on different responsibilities within the company. Being of a very social nature, sharing tea is important for me so consulting in the two Montreal stores was a perfect way to continue. I still continue this and am now also responsible for the ‘ESC – Tea at Work’ program where we distribute a specially designed line of tea and teaware for offices and workspaces.  I give regular workshops at the tea school, tastings and events on the road.

Your favorite tea is …

I always had a soft spot for the Gaba Cha, with its woody and spicy notes (cinnamon), as well as for Nadashiko, a Japanese black tea with truly unique character. In general, my tastes tend to gravitate towards Darjeelings and Pu Er. Having said that, over time I have come to realize that the beauty of tea is to choose a tea that fits the feeling, climate and mood. Try it, listen to what tea your body wants to drink.

What was your most recent discovery?

To be honest, tasting the seasonal teas from all corners of our selection and observing the nuances from one harvest to the other, plus feeling the evolution of a tea over the months is a constant discovery … For example, one of my favourite Pu Er has recently developed a rocky and mineral finish that was to subtle to distinguish before. Even if though Shou Pu Er has a slow evolution compared to that of Pu Er Sheng, these are the beautiful subtleties I love to discover.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Portrait d’équipe : Vincent Moreau

4 septembre 2017

1425586_863701500371973_2209033316685123464_n

Chez Camellia Sinensis, ce qui importe autant sinon plus que la qualité de nos thés et objets, c’est l’équipe derrière l’entreprise. Ce mois-ci, nous vous présentons Vincent Moreau.

Raconte-nous tes débuts dans l’entreprise…

J’ai commencé à travailler chez Camellia Sinensis en tant que stagiaire il y a de cela 6 ans, alors que je réalisais une étude sur le marché du thé. Le coup de coeur pour l’équipe a été immédiat : tous des réels passionnés de thé ! J’étais aux anges, et vu le plaisir que nous avons quotidiennement à boire du thé frais, je peux dire que j’y suis encore.

Quel est ton rôle au sein de l’équipe?

Au fil du temps, j’ai pu apprendre différentes tâches au sein de l’entreprise. De nature sociale et aimant partager autour du thé, je travaille en service-conseil au sein des deux boutiques de Montréal. De plus, je m’occupe du programme ESC – Espace thé au travail en distribuant notre gamme de thé spécialement conçue pour les entreprises. Finalement, je donne régulièrement des ateliers à l’école de thé et dégustations sur la route.

Ton thé coup de cœur, c’est…

J’ai toujours eu un coup de cœur pour le Gaba Cha, avec ses accents boisés et épicés (cannelle), ainsi que pour le Nadeshiko, un thé noir japonais aux notes vraiment atypiques. De façon générale, mes goûts se portent davantage sur les Darjeelings et sur les Pu Er. Cependant, je trouve qu’un des plaisirs du thé est de le choisir en fonction de son ressenti, du climat et de son humeur. En bref, en écoutant de quel thé nos cellules veulent s’abreuver.

Quelle a été ta plus récente découverte?

Généralement, j’aime découvrir et redécouvrir les thés de notre sélection, constater les nuances d’une récolte à l’autre, sentir l’évolution d’un thé au fil des mois… Par exemple, j’ai dernièrement constaté qu’un de nos très bon Pu Er avait acquis en bouche une finale rocheuse et minérale. Même si les Pu Er Shou évoluent moins au niveau gustatif que les Pu Er Sheng, on assiste à de belles choses.

Crédit photo : Tina Tran

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter