Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Teamwork Rewarded!

26 June 2018

at 16:22 by Social

unnamed

The 2018 edition of the annual World Tea Awards, was hosted by World Tea Expo on June 12th. We were so proud to have been nominated in 4 categories, and delighted to be announced the winners of two!

Kevin and Jasmin were in Las Vegas to attend the ceremony, and to meet fellow tea aficionados and friends from all over the World. Our passion for sharing leaf and knowledge has made us many friends in every part the tea industry so when we were announced winners, the crowd’s rowdy, enthusiastic reaction was quite moving.

unnamed-1

Best Tea Shop

Having been crowned winners of the Best Tea Blog, Best Tea Book and Best Tea Website over the past few years, we had the immense honour of being voted winner of “Best Tea Shop” by the international tea community. A great achievement and perfect timing for our 20th anniversary (on November 16 this year).
We owe this award to our our fabulous in-store team, past and present, devoting themselves day in and day out to sharing our values and their passion for tea with our loyal community. It is always great to win awards and be recognized by our industry, but this award is a little sweeter as the World’s tea community is directly recognizing the heart and soul of what we do.

The impact of our little company throughout the rest of the world always surprises us when we are at these events. Tea lovers from all over the planet know us and so many make the pilgrimage to Montreal and Quebec to visit our teahouses and Tea School. There are very few tea houses with such a large selection backed up by such an enthusiastic and knowledgeable team…there is certainly nothing quite like this in Toronto, Boston, or even New York.

unnamed unnamed-1

So congratulations and thank you to our fantastic team – you certainly deserve the all the praise and credit. And of course thanks to our loyal clients and tea community that make what we do possible.

Best Website

For the third year in a row, our online store has been recognized again as Best Tea Industry Website. Secretly, behind the scenes, our website is getting a new look, with new sections and an improved user experience. So stay tuned!

Our favourite teas, served ice cold

20 June 2018

at 12:54 by Social

34992116392_a9bece6bf0

Summer is getting nearer and our freezers are ready with fresh ice, be it at home, in cafés or even restaurants. To beat the heat, there’s nothing quite like iced teas and here are some great ideas to make your summer just a bit cooler:
CAMELLIA SINENSIS ICED TEAS

Our ‘must try’ line of iced teas: three aromatized blends that are both tasty and refreshing. You can get them in bulk or in convenient pre measured 20g teabags (for 2L servings) with easy to follow instructions on the label. You can even get them on the go at our boutique if you’re up for a bubbly version!

JAPANESE STYLE

As much as Japan is known for their rich tea cultures and traditions they have also mastered the art of bottling tea. In fact a large part of the tea consumed in Japan comes directly from vending machines, be it green tea, wulong or jasmin teas.

To infuse these teas at home use: 15g per liter (of cold water). Infuse for 6-12h with optional sugar (to taste).

Our suggestions :

  • Green tea – Organic Kukicha (vegetal, sweet and fruity), Organic Gyokuro Shizuoka (intense chlorophyll flavour, gentle and marine).
  • Wulong – Shui Xian Lao Cong (Hazelnut, sweet grilled), Si Ji Chun (floral and buttery)
  • Jasmin tea – Perles du Dragon (floral and refreshing)

the-glace-1-600x398

ICE TEA QUICKLY

If you’re in a hurry, infuse your tea with hot water as you normally would and simply cool it off. How? Ice cubes are handy for this so make your infusion a little more concentrated so water from the melted ice balances out. If this hot infusion method makes your brew a little bitter, add a small amount of sugar.

Suggested recipe: 2.5 g of tea in a 250ml cup of hot water, infuse 5 minutes and pour into a tall glass with ice and add sugar as needed.

Our suggestions :

  • Black tea – Sikkim Temi organic 1st flush. Very thirst quenching with hints of wildflower and bark. Add honey or sugar!
  • PuEr teas – 2006 Bulang Shan (shou). A tasty surprise if you’d like to try something different. Hints of dry earth and cocoa bark.
  • Matcha latté – Prepare the matcha as you normally poured in a cold glass. You can also do this with a cocktail shaker.

Summer is served!

Tea 101: The Perfect Teapot Infusion

18 June 2018

at 11:03 by Social

Capture d’écran 2018-06-18 à 06.59.47

What makes a great infusion? Well everyone has there own personal preferences, so it is important to judge your own infusion with the confidence that ‘you know how you like it’. Here is a very simple guide to help you move towards brewing your perfect teapot infusion every time. Don’t forget that though teapots are the most common and practical tools for brewing tea, experimenting with a Gaiwan, Gong Fu Cha or Senchado can often enhance your tasting experience even more.

White tea

  • Dosage: 3g/250ml (2 tsp)
  • Duration: 5 to 7 minutes
  • Temperature: between 65 and 90 degrees Celsius. A lower temperature is recommended for teas with unmolded buds (Bai Hao Yin Zhen), and a higher temperature for buds with silver to black buds. (ex: Darjeeling Avongrove)
  • Tips: try drinking white teas in a small volume of water, in a Gaiwan for example, to appreciate all the subtleties.

Yellow teas

  • Dosage: 3g/250ml (1.5 tsp)
  • Duration: 4 to 5 minutes
  • Temperature: between 75 and 85 degrees Celsius.
  • Tips: Prepared in a Gaiwan, yellow tea will have the strength of a green tea, and in teapot, it will rather have the sweetness of a white tea.

Chinese green teas

  • Dosage: 2.5-3g/250ml (1 tsp)
  • Duration: 3 to 5 minutes
  • Temperature: between 75 and 85 degrees Celsius.
  • Tips: Try Chinese green teas in a Gaiwan!

Japanese green teas

  • Dosage: 2.5g/250ml (1 tsp)
  • Duration: 3 to 5 minutes
  • Temperature: between 60 and 85 degrees Celsius.
  • Tips: The senchado technique is recommended for the highest grades.

Wulong

  • Dosage: 3g/250ml (1 tsp)
  • Duration: 4 to 5 minutes
  • Temperature: 95 degrees Celsius.
  • Tips: It is suggested to rinse the leaves so they unfold more easily, and to use a brewer large enough for the same reason.

Black teas

  • Dosage: 2.5g/250ml (1 tsp)
  • Duration: 3 to 5 minutes
  • Temperature: between 85 and 95 degrees Celsius.
  • Tips: The more the leaves are broken or crushed, the lower the brewing time should be.

Pu Er

  • Dosage: 2.5g/250ml (1 tsp)
  • Duration: 3 to 6 minutes
  • Temperature: between 90 and 95 degrees Celsius.
  • Tips: It is suggested to rinse the leaves for at least 5 seconds.

Enjoy!

unnamed 2

2018 Travels, from East to West China with Jasmin Desharnais

16 June 2018

at 16:57 by Social

30706828_10156399717778417_7223285589074771968_n

After 16 years of annual buying in China, Jasmin chose a very diversified itinerary this time around. During the month of April, he began further North focussing on accessories and teaware before heading East in search of the Spring highlights of various regions in their green, white, wulong and black teas.
An Early Season

Following a hot and rainy early Spring in China, the 2018 harvest season came 7-15 days early resulting in a yield increase of +/- 15% and a consequent, lack of workers in some of the gardens to harvest the crop.

Conversely, the April 8th low temperatures in the eastern part of the country brought frost damage in some of the gardens. Very special attention was needed as Jasmin tasted the teas the next day, April 9th … they were delicious! The thermal shock had stimulated the aromatic chemistry in the leaves very favourably and he selected a few teas from this precious harvest such as Long Jing Bai Ye and Huiming.

30713111_10156399852773417_7124263082250993664_n

Discover the Tea Studio

Jasmin also had the objective this year of introducing the Tea Studio, our new project in India, to his producer and tea institute friends in China. The diversity of Chinese teas is such that they rarely get to drink teas from other countries. So Jasmin had a lot of fun telling them about our project, and having Chinese tea friends taste our first 4 teas.

Mr. He, a Chinese producer with whom we have been collaborating for 14 years, will visit the Tea Studio between October 4th and 9th. We are very excited to welcome him! He will be helping train the Indian team to refine their green tea production.
The Taster Develops his Skills

As you may know, 2018 already marks the 20 years of existence of Camellia Sinensis. Having spent 20 years as a taster and buyer, Jasmin is now looking forward to acquiring a more multidisciplinary expertise in the tea industry. In coming years he will increasingly focus on the processing of tea and scientific research. More than ever, he wants to get his “hands dirty”. To this end he will set up his future trips slightly differently. Aside from his buying he will select a few producers where he will spend a little more time to deepen very specific areas of his knowledge for a longer period.
His 2018 Highlight

This year, our Long Jing Jingning Bai was Jasmin’s favourite. A green tea with such rich flavours of flowers and fresh hazelnut.

China: Francois brings back an exceptional tea!

11 June 2018

at 13:20 by Social

unnamed-3
Every spring, François Marchand scours various tea producing regions of China in search of ultimate quality leaf. This also gives him the opportunity to meet producers, who are his longterm friends, visit their gardens and discover some new teas.

Being a tea taster sometimes means spending entire days tasting hundreds of teas to find THE perfect one for our catalogue. As part of his research, François frequently uses “comparative tasting”, where he sequentially tastes several grades of the same tea, infused with the same parameters. He first examines the dry leaves, then the infused leaves, and then finally tastes the liquor. It’s a lengthy process that often involves several infusions in order to to note a degree of persistence.

unnamed

Last April, during a comparative tasting of Wei Shan Mao Jian (one of our most beloved teas over the last 7 years), François was struck by their grade 1, a small batch of very prestigious tea. When he tasted this year’s batch he simply couldn’t resist bringing it home for us to taste it.

This sublime green tea comes from Mr. Wang’s certified organic garden where his son, a graduate of the Tea University, recently took over the garden. A complete, harmonious tea to enjoy through many infusions. We recommend using a gaiwan or a beaker to discover all its nuances.

Note: this tea is offered online and only in very limited quantities (500g in total were produced). Do not miss out on tasting such an exceptional tea! It is also a perfect opportunity to compare it to our regular grade Wei Shan Mao Jian, more frank, but just as delicious.

Enjoy!

unnamed-2

Tasting Notes: 2018 Wei Shan Mao Jian

10 June 2018

at 18:00 by Social

unnamed-1

Alexis, tea consultant at our Quebec boutique, recently shared with us his tasting notes for the 2018 Wei Shan Mao Jian, a Chinese green tea from Hunan.

Specs: Gaiwan infusion, 5g., 80 °C

First and foremost, beautifully twisted, dark green leaves and plenty of buds. A subtle hint of hay, wild flowers and pollen.

First infusion (40 seconds)

The infused leaves transform from dark to pale, with uniformity. Powerful notes of toasted-buttered, hazelnut, snow peas and vegetable sugar begin to release. Bright and slightly hazy, the liquor is of a lovely pale emerald colour. On the palate, its silky texture offers a vegetal scent, slightly tannic with sweet persistence.

unnamed-2

Second infusion (1 minute)

The second infusion offers more floral and zesty notes with a slightly toasted edge. On the palate the liquor is more rounded like a floral style Japanese sencha.

Enjoy.

unnamed-4

The Quest for Fresh Leaf

6 June 2018

at 22:49 by Social

unnamed

Since 1998, our team of four tasters scour various producing countries every Spring in search of the ultimate quality leaf. This tradition makes it the most exciting time of the year for our both our loyal clientele and, of course, the entire Camellia team. The return of Francois, Jasmin, Hugo and Kevin is always an exciting time.

Exceptional Quality

When it comes to selecting teas, we chose to do it first hand: directly on location, each and every year. It is this unusual approach that allows us to vouch for the quality of all our products. It is paramount in our approach to see the gardens, get a feel for the teas and how they’re produced. Furthermore, each of our four expert tasters have explored their specific region for many years building relationships with the suppliers, and accumulating expertise as buyers. The result is a unique knowledge of key tea growing regions bringing you World class teas.

unnamed-2

Fresh Arrivals

There’s nothing like tasting tea fresh from the harvest. It’s a unique treat for your tastebuds. At this time the aromas and flavours are at their most explosive. While the quality of a well preserved tea is always great, it’s never quite the same as those first few weeks. Thus the yearly excitement that our whole team enjoys, tasting these fresh new arrivals. As for some of the Grand Crus….magic moments.

29472363136_ff36710f94_b

New Discoveries

Tasting a newly discovered tea can be so exciting but the same can be said about rediscovering the new harvest of an existing tea, the natural similarities and differences that vary year after year.

Experience the unique freshness of springtime arrivals: pass by one of our stores to chat with our team and taste our new selections. Enjoy the bonus of a few great travel anecdotes.

Enjoy!

29303739692_5c7d362d3d_b

Tasting: sparkling teas

2 June 2018

at 17:14 by Social

IMG_0120 (1)

 

Sometimes, our team likes to think that they’re scientists and try to test test certain mixes while at the office. While times they can be successful, other times…. a little less;)

Jean-François and François-Napoléon, manager and assistant manager of our Émery store, were curious about creating sparkling teas. They chose to infuse tea in Eska sparkling water, at room temperature, for an hour with a dosage of one teaspoon per cup of 250ml. A spectacular tasting experience for thrill seekers, as mineral water enhances the flavours by adding a salty side!

IMG_20180319_164439

Here are the sparkling teas they created, and their thoughts:

  • Feng Huang Hong Cha: with its dominant woody and strong fruity and exotic accents, it was a real revelation!
  • Organic Bai Hao Jingmai: Surprising, with its hint of clove – worthy of a chai.
  • Gyokuro Okabe: amplified by minerals, it evokes the saline and vegetal power of algae and oysters!

Do you dare to try?

Enjoy!

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Blogue du dégustateur de thé  | Camellia Sinensis Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Un travail d’équipe récompensé!

26 juin 2018

unnamed

Le 12 juin dernier avait lieu l’édition 2018 des World Tea Awards, une cérémonie annuelle dans l’industrie du thé, mise sur pied par World Tea Expo. C’était déjà pour nous une fierté d’être nominés dans 4 catégories cette année, et encore plus lorsque nous avons été nommés grands gagnants pour deux d’entre elles!

Kevin et Jasmin se sont rendus à Las Vegas afin d’assister à la cérémonie, et de rencontrer nos amis de l’industrie de partout dans le monde. Grâce à nos valeurs de partage de notre passion et de nos connaissances, nous comptons des amis partout dans l’industrie. À les entendre dans la salle, ils étaient d’ailleurs bien heureux pour nous à la remise des prix!

unnamed-1

Meilleure boutique

Après avoir été couronnés grands gagnants du meilleur blogue, du meilleur livre et du meilleur site web de l’industrie du thé au courant des années précédentes, nous avons l’immense honneur d’avoir été élus gagnants de la “Meilleure boutique”. Pour nos 20 ans (le 16 novembre prochain!), nous ne pouvions demander mieux! Cet honneur, on le doit à notre fabuleuse équipe en boutique qui donnent chaque jour le meilleur d’eux-mêmes pour transmettre leur passion pour le thé et leurs connaissances à notre fidèle communauté. Il est bien entendu fantastique de remporter des prix pour nos connaissances dans le domaine, mais pour nous, c’est encore mieux lorsque c’est le coeur et l’âme de l’entreprise qui sont derrière ce succès.

unnamed-1 unnamed

Il est d’ailleurs toujours surprenant pour nous d’observer l’impact de notre entreprise dans le monde extérieur. En effet, vous serez peut-être surpris vous aussi de savoir que nombreux sont ceux qui font le pèlerinage jusqu’à Montréal et Québec pour venir visiter nos boutiques et salons de thé. Rares sont les maisons de thé avec une sélection aussi vaste et une équipe aussi enthousiaste et connaissante – vous n’en trouverez ni à Toronto, ni à Boston, ni même à New York.

Bravo, et surtout merci, à toute l’équipe!

Meilleur site web

Pour la troisième année consécutive, notre boutique en ligne a été reconnue comme la meilleure de l’industrie! Psst : notre site web aura droit à un nouveau look, de nouvelles sections et une amélioration de l’expérience utilisateur. Demeurez à l’affût, on a bien hâte de vous présenter ça!

Nos thés favoris en version glacée

20 juin 2018

34992116392_a9bece6bf0

L’été approche et avec lui le bourdonnement silencieux des machines à glaces. Dans les restaurants, les cafés et à la maison, on commence à faire provision de glaçons pour parer les grandes chaleurs qui s’en viennent. C’est la saison des thés glacés qui débute!

Voici quelques idées pour agrémenter votre été :

THÉS GLACÉS CAMELLIA SINENSIS

Notre gamme incontournable. Trois thés aromatisés conçus pour être aussi délicieux que rafraîchissants. Disponibles en vrac ou en sachets de 20 g (pour une portion facile de 2 L) avec les instructions pour l’infusion directement sur l’emballage. Envie d’un thé sur le pouce? Passez nous voir en boutique pour un verre à emporter et profitez-en pour découvrir nos versions pétillantes!

the-glace-1-600x398

À LA MODE JAPONAISE

Bien connu pour sa culture riche en traditions et en rituels, le Japon est néanmoins passé maître dans l’art du thé en bouteille. Une grande partie de la consommation du thé japonais se fait depuis les machines distributrices réfrigérées, présentes sur tout l’archipel. On y boit principalement du thé vert, mais aussi du thé wulong et du thé au jasmin (entre autres).

Pour infuser à la maison : 15 g de thé par litre d’eau froide, 6 à 12 heures d’infusion et une touche du sucre (au goût).

Nos suggestions :

  • Thé vert – Kukicha biologique (végétal, sucré, fruité), Gyokuro Shizuoka biologique (intensément chlorophyllé, doux et marin)
  • Thé wulong – Shui Xian Lao Cong (noisetté, grillé, sucré), Si Ji Chun (floral et beurré)
  • Thé au jasmin – Perles du Dragon (floral et rafraîchissant)

THÉ GLACÉ ÉCLAIR

Envie d’un thé glacé rapide? Pas de problème, il suffit d’infuser à chaud puis de refroidir. Remplissez un grand verre de glaçons et ajoutez-y une infusion concentrée. Attendez que la glace refroidisse le breuvage puis, bingo! Le tour est joué. L’eau chaude donne généralement plus d’amertume à votre infusion. Vous pouvez compenser en ajoutant un peu de sucre.

À la maison : 2.5 g de thé dans une tasse d’eau chaude (250 ml), 5 minutes d’infusion, versez dans un grand verre rempli de glace puis sucrez au goût.

Nos suggestions :

  • Thé noir – Sikkim Temi 1st flush biologique. Désaltérant à souhait, avec des notes légères de fleurs sauvages et d’écorces. Sucrez-le avec du miel!
  • Thé PuEr – Bulang Shan 2006 (shou). Un délice surprenant pour ceux qui veulent explorer de nouveaux horizons. Notes de terreau sec et d’écorce de cacao
  • Matcha latté – Préparation de matcha traditionnel allongé au lait puis versé dans un verre froid. Peut aussi être fait en combinant tous les éléments dans un mélangeur à cocktail. Le latté le plus tonique de l’été!

Thé 101 : réussir son infusion

18 juin 2018

Capture d’écran 2018-05-29 à 15.50.18

Les critères d’une infusion idéale sont un mystère pour vous? Voici un guide très simple pour réussir un thé parfait à chaque fois (voir l’infographique ci-bas).

Thé blancs

  • Dosage : 3g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (2 c. à thé)
  • Durée : 5 à 7 minutes
  • Température : entre 65 et 90 degrés Celsius. On conseille une température plus basse pour les thés aux bourgeons non roulés (ex: Bai Hao Yin Zhen), et une température plus élevée pour ceux aux bourgeons argentés à noir. (ex: Darjeeling Avongrove)
  • Conseils : Il est recommandé de boire les thés blancs dans un petit volume d’eau, comme dans un gaiwan, pour apprécier toutes les subtilités.

Thés jaunes

  • Dosage : 3g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (1.5 c. à thé)
  • Durée : 4 à 5 minutes
  • Température : entre 75 et 85 degrés Celsius.
  • Conseils : En gaiwan, le thé jaune aura la force d’un thé vert, et en théière, il aura plutôt la douceur d’un thé blanc.

Thés verts chinois

  • Dosage : 2,5-3g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (1c. à thé)
  • Durée : 3 à 5 minutes
  • Température : entre 75 et 85 degrés Celsius.
  • Conseils : Le récipient de prédilection des thés verts chinois est le gaiwan.

Thés verts japonais

  • Dosage : 2,5g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (1c. à thé)
  • Durée : 3 à 5 minutes
  • Température : entre 60 et 85 degrés Celsius.
  • Conseils : On recommande la technique senchado pour les plus hauts grades.

Wulong

  • Dosage : 3g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (1c. à thé)
  • Durée : 4 à 5 minutes
  • Température : 95 degrés Celsius.
  • Conseils : Il est suggéré de rincer les feuilles afin qu’elles se déploient plus facilement, et d’utiliser un infuseur assez grand pour la même raison.

Thés noirs

  • Dosage : 2,5g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (1c. à thé)
  • Durée : 3 à 5 minutes
  • Température : entre 85 et 95 degrés Celsius.
  • Conseils : Plus les feuilles sont brisées ou broyées, moins le temps d’infusion devrait être long.

Pu Er

  • Dosage : 2,5g de thé pour 250ml d’eau (1c. à thé)
  • Durée : 3 à 6 minutes
  • Température : entre 90 et 95 degrés Celsius.
  • Conseils : Il est suggéré de rincer au moins 5 secondes.

unnamed

Bonne dégustation!

Voyages 2018 : La Chine d’Est en Ouest avec Jasmin Desharnais

16 juin 2018

30706828_10156399717778417_7223285589074771968_n

Du 9 au 30 avril, dans le cadre de son 16e printemps sur la route du thé en Chine, Jasmin a choisi un itinéraire diversifié au niveau des régions visitées. Il a d’abord exploré les accessoires dans le nord du pays, avant de poursuivre son séjour dans l’est, à la recherche des meilleurs crus de thés verts, blancs, wulong et noirs.

Une saison hâtive

Suite à un début de printemps particulièrement chaud et pluvieux en Chine cette année, les récoltes sont arrivées hâtivement (7-15 jours d’avance) par rapport à ce qu’on voit normalement. On a observé une hausse de +/-15% en quantité et, conséquemment, certains jardins ont manqué de travailleurs pour récolter les thés dans les meilleures conditions.

D’un autre côté, le gel du 8 avril dans l’est du pays a provoqué un choc de température dans les jardins et certains s’en sont trouvés mal en point. D’autres non, et c’est avec une attention particulière que Jasmin a goûté les thés du 9 avril… et ils étaient délicieux! Il en a d’ailleurs choisi quelques-uns de cette récolte précise comme le Long Jing Bai Ye et le Huiming, En effet, le choc de température a créé sur la plante une réaction chimique favorable au déploiement des arômes.

30713111_10156399852773417_7124263082250993664_n

Faire découvrir le Tea Studio

Jasmin s’était aussi donné comme mission de faire découvrir le Tea Studio, notre nouveau projet en Inde, à ses amis producteurs en Chine. En fait, la diversité des thés chinois étant si grande, les Chinois ont rarement la chance de boire des thés d’autres provenances. Jasmin a donc eu bien du plaisir à faire découvrir notre fabrique en Inde, et à faire déguster nos 4 premiers thés.

M. He, un producteur chinois avec qui nous collaborons depuis maintenant 14 ans, viendra d’ailleurs visiter le Tea Studio entre le 4 et 9 octobre prochain. On a bien hâte de l’accueillir! Il fera une formation sur la production de thé vert à l’équipe indienne.

29472363136_ff36710f94_b

De dégustateur à expert multidisciplinaire

2018 marque (déjà!) les 20 ans de Camellia Sinensis. Après une vingtaine d’années à titre de dégustateur de thé, Jasmin a l’objectif d’acquérir une expertise multidisciplinaire sur l’industrie du thé, c’est-à-dire à travers la transformation du thé, le processus de production ou encore la recherche. Plus que jamais, il a le souhait de mettre les mains à la pâte. C’est dans cette optique que ses prochains voyages seront d’ailleurs organisés. Désormais, plutôt que de visiter de nombreux jardins en peu de temps, il choisira quelques endroits où il ira approfondir des connaissances bien précises pendant une plus longue période.

Coup de coeur 2018

Cette année, c’est le Long Jing Jingning Bai qui a conquis le coeur de Jasmin. Un thé vert aux riches parfums de petites fleurs et de noisettes fraîches.

Chine : François nous rapporte un thé exceptionnel !

11 juin 2018

unnamed-3

Chaque année, François Marchand sillonne les pays producteurs de la Chine centrale à la quête des meilleurs crus de thés. C’est l’occasion de retrouver ses amis producteurs, de visiter les jardins et de faire des découvertes.

Être expert dégustateur de thé, ça comprend des journées entières à déguster des dizaines et des centaines de thés afin de dénicher LE thé qui sera parfait pour notre marché. Dans le cadre de ces recherches, François procède fréquemment à la “dégustation comparative” : plusieurs grades du même thé, infusés avec les mêmes paramètres, lui sont proposés afin de bien les comparer entre eux. Il examine d’abord les feuilles sèches, puis infusées, avant de goûter à la liqueur – un processus qui peut se répéter durant plusieurs infusions afin de noter son degré de persistance.

unnamed

En avril dernier, alors qu’il procédait à la dégustation comparative du Wei Shan Mao Jian – un thé que nous adorons depuis 7 ans – François a eu un coup de coeur pour le grade 1. Il est plutôt rare que nous choisissions de nous procurer les plus hauts grades, comme le marché est beaucoup plus petit pour ce type de thé prestigieux.
Exceptionnel cette année, il n’a pas pu empêcher de vous le faire découvrir!

C’est du jardin de M. Wang, certifié biologique, que provient ce sublime thé vert. C’est d’ailleurs son fils, diplômé de la Tea University, qui reprend le flambeau du jardin. Texturé et tout en délicatesse. Un thé complet, harmonieux à déguster en nombreuses infusions. On recommande d’ailleurs le gaiwan ou le bécher pour profiter de toutes ses nuances.

À noter : il est offert en ligne seulement en quantité très limitée (500g au total). Ne laissez pas cette chance de goûter un thé si exceptionnel s’envoler! C’est aussi une occasion parfaite de le comparer à notre Wei Shan Mao Jian régulier, plus franc, lui aussi délicieux.

Bonne dégustation!

unnamed-2

Dégustation : Wei Shan Mao Jian 2018

10 juin 2018

unnamed-1

Alexis, conseiller à la boutique du quartier Saint-Roch à Québec, nous présente ses notes de dégustation pour le Wei Shan Mao Jian 2018, un thé vert chinois du Hunan.

Paramètres : infusion en Gaiwan, 5g., eau à 80 °C

D’abord, les feuilles sèches présentent de longues torsades vert foncé, pourvues de bourgeons visibles. On y découvre des notes de foin aromatique (foin d’odeur), de fleurs des champs et de pollen.

Première infusion (40 secondes)

La teinte des feuilles infusées varie maintenant de foncées à pâles, sans grande uniformité. Des notes puissantes, grillées-beurrées, de noisette, de pois mange-tout et de sucre végétal peuvent alors être dénotées. Lumineuse et légèrement trouble, la liqueur est d’un joli émeraude pâle. En bouche, sa texture soyeuse offre un parfum végétal, peu tannique, et une persistance légèrement sucrée.

unnamed-2

Deuxième infusion (1 minute)

La deuxième infusion propose des notes plus florales et zestées, légèrement grillées et fumées. En bouche, on trouve maintenant une liqueur puissante, mais ronde, qui rappelle le sencha japonais de style floral.

unnamed-4

Bonne dégustation!

Une démarche unique et une quête de fraîcheur

6 juin 2018

unnamed

Chaque printemps depuis 1998, nos quatre experts dégustateurs sillonnent les pays producteurs à la recherche des meilleurs crus de thés. C’est la période la plus exaltante de l’année pour notre fidèle clientèle, et pour toute l’équipe chez Camellia Sinensis. En effet, le retour au Québec de François, Jasmin, Hugo et Kevin marque toujours un moment fort attendu!

Une qualité irréprochable

Unique en son genre, notre démarche nous pousse à sélectionner nos thés directement sur place, chaque année. Pour nous, il est primordial d’aller à la source pour s’assurer de la qualité des jardins, des thés et de la production de chacun de nos produits. De plus, nos quatre experts dégustateurs développent respectivement leur terroir spécifique afin d’approfondir les connaissances globales de l’entreprise sur le marché du thé, et de bâtir des relations uniques avec nos producteurs. Le résultat : une sélection de thés qui se classe parmi les meilleures au monde!

unnamed-2

La fraîcheur des arrivages

Goûter un thé dans les quelques jours et semaines qui suivent sa cueillette est une expérience gustative unique. Fraîchement cueilli, le thé offre des arômes et des textures très riches, qui s’estomperont peu à peu dans le temps. Quoique les thés de qualité demeurent délicieux lorsque bien conservés, les premières semaines sont toujours les plus intéressantes. D’où la fébrilité de notre équipe de découvrir et redécouvrir les thés au sommet de leur fraîcheur. Les plus grands crus en valent particulièrement la peine!

De nouvelles découvertes

Notre démarche nous permet également de faire de nouvelles découvertes annuellement, que ce soit au niveau des thés ou des accessoires. Si l’arrivée d’un nouveau thé en boutique est toujours bien excitante, il en est aussi de même avec la redécouverte d’un thé qui revient sur la carte après quelques années, ou d’un classique dont les arômes sont différentes d’une année à l’autre.

Faites l’expérience unique de la fraîcheur des arrivages du printemps : passez en boutique pour discuter avec notre équipe, humer et déguster nos nouveautés. En prime, vous aurez certainement droit à quelques anecdotes de voyage!

Bonne dégustation.

29472363136_ff36710f94_b

Dégustation : thés pétillants

2 juin 2018

IMG_20180319_164439

Au bureau et en boutique, l’équipe s’amuse parfois à jouer aux scientifiques et tester certains mélanges – souvent réussis, d’autres fois un peu moins ;)

Jean-François et François-Napoléon, gérant et assistant-gérant de la boutique sur Émery, étaient curieux de créer des thés pétillants. Ils ont choisi d’infuser des thés dans de l’eau pétillante Eska, à température pièce, durant une heure avec un dosage d’une cuillère à thé par tasse de 250ml. Une expérience gustative assez spectaculaire pour amateurs de sensations fortes, puisque l’eau minérale rehausse les saveurs en y ajoutant un côté salin !

IMG_0120 (1)

Voici les thés pétillants qu’ils se sont créés, et leurs impressions :

Le Feng Huang Hong Cha : avec sa dominante boisée et ses forts accents fruités et exotiques, ce fut une véritable révélation
Le Bai Hao Jingmai biologique : surprenant, avec ses notes de clou de girofle dignes d’un chaï
Le Gyokuro Okabe : amplifié par les minéraux, il évoque la puissance saline et végétale des algues et des huîtres ! (à infuser moins longtemps la prochaine fois peut-être…)

Oserez-vous essayer?

Depuis un moment déjà, la boutique de Québec offre le thé pétillant en fût! C’est au tour de la boutique du Quartier Latin de l’offrir également. Passez les essayer cet été!

unnamed-3

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter