Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Halloween Chai

24 October 2018

at 14:37 by Social

BristolChai

On almost every street corner in India you will find somebody selling hot spicy tea, they are locally known as chai wallahs . For many Indians stopping for a chai is an important part of their daily routine. In each of these kiosks, the chai wallah will create an atmosphere conducive for discussion, sharing and tasting.

Inspired by such unforgettable moments enjoyed while being in India, we have developed our own original range of recipes to honour this culture: five spicy chais, each with a unique personality.

Here’s a recipe created by Gabriel Svaldi, Bristol Chai‘s owner, with our Arthur mix. Perfect for celebrating Halloween!

BristolChaiArthur

Ingredients

Recipe for pumpkin whipped cream

Dilute 1c. of pumpkin puree in 100ml of hot water. Add 2 cups whipped cream and mix with a spoon or whisk.

Recipe of Pumpkin Chai Latte (1L)

  • Heat up 500 ml of water in a pot ;
  • Add cinnamon, nutmeg and star anise to 10g of chai (4tsp) ;
  • Cover and simmer 5 – 10 minutes on medium heat ;
  • Add 5 – 10 g of sugar (2 – 4 tsp) and 500 ml of milk ;
  • Heat up and simmer 5 – 10 minutes ;
  • Filter and serve ;
  • Add whipped cream to pumpkin, sprinkle with ground cinnamon or add a cinnamon stick.

Enjoy!

 

AN INNOVATIVE TEA FACTORY: TAKE A TRIP WITH US TO THE TEA STUDIO! – PART 2

22 October 2018

at 13:03 by Social

Tea Studio 2018-29

From October 1st to 20th, our four tea tasters were visiting the Tea Studio, our innovative tea factory in the Nilgiri (India). As they’ve just returned from what was a particularly inspiring trip, Hugo, François, Jasmin were visiting the project for the first time. Here’s what they had to say:

Nature at its best

First and foremost, the architecture of the factory is simply splendid! Whichever way you look at it, the studio is beautiful. Located among a patchwork of small-holder tea gardens, every window frames a beautiful landscape image.

Tea Studio 2018-19

Contagious energy

Warmly welcomed with a ton of positive energy from everyone in the factory. We were warmed by the fact that everyone on staff seems to love what they do and also, and have excellent relationships with each other. François also spent time with Muskan, head of the team, to talk about their work and what it means to be an all-female team leading the project. Stay tuned for more on our blog!

Tea Studio 2018-13

A shared vision of respect

We also spent a day meeting with our Indian partners to discuss the progress, as well as future of the project. It was a great pleasure for us to realize how much we had in common and that our values and vision were well aligned. Although our local partners come from different industries (pharmaceutical, construction, tea and spices), they all had tremendous respect for one another. It made easy to agree on many ideas, including the establishment of a community-based project where 1% of each sale would go towards improving the infrastructure of the village as well as the purchase of fields around the Studio for tea growing. A great pleasure to meet such a strong and respectful team, very similar to our Camellia Sinensis partnership!

Tea Studio 2018-2

Knowledge shared

It was after a long journey and a short night’s sleep that Mr. He and Mr. Tang, two of our favourite Chinese producers, arrived at the Tea Studio, they got straight to work. They were immediately interested in the leaves, the machines and our process, but they also took the time to taste the teas and visit the garden. Mr. Hewas bombarded with questions from Muskan, our head tea-maker who was really excited to receive so much priceless advice on how to improve the product. She also nicknamed Mr. He the “Tasmanian Devil”. As he spun around like a tornado, by the time our translator Yan had translated his instructions to Muskan, Mr. He had already moved on to something else! François also spoke with the two Chinese producers to get their opinion on the progress, their opinion on the potential of the factory as well as their first experience in India.
Stay tuned for more on our blog!

Tea Studio 2018-58

A dream come true

For our tasters this is a dream come true. The evolution of the project is developing well and is in tune with the vision they had originally. A true team effort, Jasmin will continue to work on improving the production and the quality of the tea. Hugo will build the work structures, Kevin will continue to share his tea knowledge and work as the bridge between the different cultures, while François will keep creating content and documenting our progress.

 

Tasting Notes: Meghalaya Lakyrsiew

16 October 2018

at 12:53 by Social

Capture d’écran 2018-10-16 à 08.44.08

For many tea drinkers, autumn is a special moment, a time where infusions seem to harmonize time and space as well as temperature and mood. Whether you are outdoors watching the falling leaves, or in town enjoying the quietness of the streets or even at home watching the rain fall on the window, there is a tea to enhance the experience. The Meghalaya Lakyrsiew Autumnal, a tea with colourful leaves stands out for its versatility and the seasonality of its aromatics.

Laurence, tea advisor at our Quebec City store, shares his thoughts on the Autumnal Meghalaya Lakyrsiew. Known as a Pu er expert, he was pleased to give us his tasting notes for this unusual Indian black tea.

The region of Meghalaya extends to the of Assam, in a mountainous chain extremely favourable to tea culture, but unfortunately sparsely populated and difficult to access. The tea that comes from the Lakyrsiew Garden is of exceptional quality, distinct flavour profile and often one of Kevin’s favourites each year.

Laurence prefers drinking it in a gaiwan, because when infused in small volume, it reveals a surprising aromatic complexity.

14848910708_775d540d73

Infusion settings

The Meghalaya is very versatile: it is great in a teapot (according to the recommendations – 2,5g / 250ml), but we prefer it in gaiwan (4,5g, 20s, 20s, 30s).
Tasting notes

Nose: tomato, leather, tobacco, dried fruit.
Notes: cocoa, spices, candied fruits and ripe tomatoes. Beautiful tannic structure that mixes astringency and softness, refreshment and comfort.
The second infusion is more focused on grapes, dried fruit and acidity.

From the first few infusions to the very last, its evolution is remarkable. It starts from the sweetness of cocoa and spices to the acidulous notes of raisins, tomatoes and dried fruits. Its supple tannic structure and sweet body make it a refreshing and comforting tea, suitable for both difficult awakenings and slow moments of relaxation and introspection.

To quote Kevin: “The Meghalaya Lakyrsiew is an exceptional black tea: unexpected ‘completeness’ and finesse-solid structure and definition – light, ethereal delivery”
Enjoy!

AN INNOVATIVE TEA FACTORY: TAKE A TRIP WITH US TO THE TEA STUDIO!

4 October 2018

at 11:37 by Social

Tea Studio 2018-58

Innovation in the tea industry

The Tea Studio is a prime example of a new wave of artisanal approach to manufacturing tea of high quality. It relies on many innovative elements, in its design, technology and its environmental and social responsibility.

Furthermore, this project has brought together tea experts from 3 continents. The team has an avant-garde approach to tea making through experimentation in order to meet the growing market of boutique-style tea with a wide variety of “custom” teas.

The Tea Studio is located in India, more specifically in the region of Nilgiri, which offers an excellent source of clonal and classic tea, grown and cultivated with Camellia Sinensis seeds var.sinensis and Camellia Sinensis var.assamica.

Tea Studio 2018-60

Have you been following the Tea Studio evolution?

Back in March 2018, we had officially announced the launch of this new project, labelled as an experimental tea factory located in the Nilgiris. Today, the factory has been operating for a full year and our four expert tasters have already are over there for some hands-on research and development. Have you had a chance to taste our first batches?

Tea Studio 2018-56

A busy travel itinerary!

From October 1st to 20th, Hugo, François, Jasmin and Kevin will be at the Tea Studio with their Indian partners, fine tuning the way that the factory operates as well joining them for meetings and providing support to the production team. It will also give the collective a chance to plan and organize the next phases of this project. So plenty of work ahead… but constantly surrounded by that incredible view of the tea gardens!

Tea Studio 2018-44

China arrives…in India

Two of our favorite Chinese tea producers (Mr. He and Mr. Tang) will be joining the team on this journey to share their expertise and fine tune their production methods. Mr. He, is the producer of several classic Chinese green teas (Huiming, Jingning Yin Zhen, Bai Ye Long Jing, Long Jing Zhejiang, Long Jing Jingning Bai). At home he is a well known agronomist, processing specialist, scientist, director of a tea research center and taster, will be helping to improve the tea factory’s overall quality. This will be his first trip outside of China! We are so lucky to have this opportunity to benefit from his experience on this type of project.

Though the quality of our first batches greatly exceeded our expectations, this is very much a learning process so this is a unique opportunity for us to improve.

Tea Studio 2018-52

From tea tasters to tea producers?

After 20 years in the tea industry, Jasmin recently admitted he’s looking forward “to getting his hands dirty”! This will be an opportunity to do so, as our four tasters will not only be tasting teas at the Tea Studio they will be actively help producing it. Look out for the new batches produced by either Hugo, François, Jasmin or Kevin.

Participate in the local community’s development

Our team’s quality of life is an essential part of our mandate. The Tea Studio is gradually raising funds to provide access to education for girls from the rural villages in the valley.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Chai d’Halloween

24 octobre 2018

2

Inspirés par les moments magiques que nous avons vécus en Inde et du riche savoir-faire indien, nous avons travaillé d’arrache-pied pour concevoir des recettes spécifiquement adaptées à la préparation du chai latté. L’aboutissement de nos recherches : cinq recettes originales qui vous feront découvrir le chai à son meilleur.

Nos mélanges originaux, la richesse et la fraîcheur de nos épices rencontrent la méthode de préparation traditionnelle indienne pour créer quelque chose de nouveau: Bristol Chai.

Voici une recette élaborée par Gabriel Svaldi, propriétaire de Bristol Chai.

37204829981_4ac1b742bf

Ingrédients

  • Chai Arthur de Bristol Chai
  • Un bâtonnet de cannelle broyé (ou 5g de cannelle en pourdre)
  • Une pincée de muscade
  • 3 anis étoilées broyées
  • Crème fouettée à la citrouille (voir la recette ci-dessous)

Recette de la crème fouettée à la citrouille

Diluer 1c. à soupe de purée de citrouille dans 100ml d’eau chaude. Ajouter 2 tasses de crème fouettée et mélanger avec une cuillère ou un fouet.

Recette du chai à a citrouille (1L)

  • Porter 500 ml d’eau à ébullition dans une casserole ;
  • Ajouter la cannelle, la muscade et les anis étoilées à 10g (4 c. à thé) de chai ;
  • Couvrir et mijoter 5 à 10 minutes à feu moyen ;
  • Ajouter 5-10g de sucre (2 à 4 c. à thé) et 500 ml de lait ;
  • Chauffer et mijoter 5 à 10 minutes ;
  • Filtrer et servir ;
  • Ajouter la crème fouettée à la citrouille,  soupoudrez de cannelle moulue ou ajouter un bâtonnet de cannelle.

Bonne dégustation!

UNE FABRIQUE DE THÉ INNOVANTE : VOYAGEZ AVEC NOUS AU TEA STUDIO! – PARTIE 2

22 octobre 2018

Tea Studio 2018-29

Du 1er au 20 octobre dernier, les quatre dégustateurs de la Maison de thé Camellia Sinensis se rendaient directement au Tea Studio, la nouvelle fabrique expérimentale de thé dans les Nilgiri (Inde).

Maintenant de retour d’un voyage particulièrement inspirant, Hugo, François, Jasmin et Kevin nous partagent leur expérience au Tea Studio.

La nature en spectacle

À leur arrivée, c’est d’abord et avant tout l’architecture de la fabrique, tout simplement splendide, qui les a éblouis. Chaque angle de vue dans le studio et autour est magnifique. Au milieu des jardins verdoyants, les fenêtres donnent vers un spectacle sublime, alors que chacune devient un tableau en soi, aux multiples nuances de vert.

Tea Studio 2018-55

Une énergie contagieuse

Nous avons ensuite été chaleureusement accueillis avec une magnifique énergie positive à travers la fabrique ; on peut facilement sentir que les membres de l’équipe sur place adorent leur travail et entretiennent d’excellentes relations entre elles. François a d’ailleurs pris du temps avec Muskan, à la tête de l’équipe, pour parler de leur travail et de ce que ça représente d’être une équipe entièrement féminine à la direction du projet. À suivre sur le blogue!

Tea Studio 2018-60

Une vision commune axée sur le respect

Par la suite, une journée a été consacrée à la rencontre des partenaires indiens afin d’échanger sur ce qui a été fait jusqu’à présent, comment tout se déroule maintenant, et à propos des projets à venir. C’est avec grand plaisir qu’ils ont pu constater un accord parfait entre leurs visions. Quoique nos partenaires en Inde proviennent de différentes industries (pharmaceutique, construction, thé et épices), ils possèdent tous un immense respect pour le travail des autres. Il était donc facile de pouvoir aisément s’entendre sur chacun des points, entre autres sur l’établissement d’un projet à vocation communautaire où 1% de chaque vente irait à améliorer les infrastructures du village ainsi que sur l’achat d’un jardin autour du studio. Bref, quel plaisir de découvrir une équipe aussi solide et axée sur le respect que chez Camellia Sinensis!

Tea Studio 2018-19

Partage de connaissances

C’est suite à un long voyage et une courte nuit de sommeil que M. He et M. Tang, deux de nos producteurs chinois, sont arrivés au Tea Studio. Ça ne les a pas empêché de se mettre au travail dès les premières minutes, alors qu’ils étaient bien intéressés par les feuilles, les machines et le processus de fonctionnement. Ils ont également pris le temps de déguster les thés et de visiter le jardin. Rapidement, M. He s’est mis en marche et a bombardé d’information Muskan, qui était vraiment très excitée de recevoir autant de connaissances aussi pertinentes pour améliorer le produit. Elle a d’ailleurs surnommé M. He le “Tasmanian Devil” ; comme une tornade, il regardait les feuilles, donnait un commentaire, et le temps que notre traductrice Yan puisse traduire à Muskan, M. He était déjà parti sur une autre machine!

François s’est d’ailleurs entretenu avec les deux producteurs chinois afin de connaître leur opinion sur le travail qu’ils sont venus faire, leur avis sur le potentiel de la fabrique et sur leur première expérience en Inde. À suivre sur le blogue!

Tea Studio 2018-47

Un rêve devenu réalité

Au retour de ce voyage, les quatre dégustateurs n’auraient jamais pu rêver mieux. L’évolution du projet va bon train et suit parfaitement la vision qu’ils avaient pour celui-ci. Un réel travail d’équipe, alors que Jasmin travaille à améliorer la qualité du thé en production, qu’Hugo bâtit les structures de travail, que Kevin partage sa connaissance sur l’industrie en Inde et fait le pont entre les différentes cultures, et que François prend plaisir à créer du contenu et à documenter le tout.

Tea Studio 2018

Nos deuxièmes lots commencent à faire leur arrivée! N’hésitez pas à nous envoyer vos commentaires.

Notes de dégustation : le polyvalent Meghalaya Lakyrsiew

16 octobre 2018

Capture d’écran 2018-10-16 à 08.44.08

L’automne est arrivé. Depuis l’été, la transition s’achève et laisse place aux plus beaux spectacles de l’année. Pour de nombreux buveurs de thé, l’automne représente un moment privilégié, un moment où les infusions trouvent aisément le moyen de mettre en harmonie l’instant et le lieu, la température et l’humeur, l’intérieur et l’extérieur. Que vous soyez en nature à regarder passer les outardes ou tomber les feuilles, que vous soyez en ville à apprécier le calme des rues ou à la maison à regarder tomber la pluie, il y a toujours un thé pour rehausser l’occasion et profiter de l’instant.

Laurence, conseiller à la boutique du quartier Saint-Roch à Québec, nous fait part de ses impressions sur le thé noir indien Meghalaya Lakyrsiew Automnal. S’il est habituellement un grand amateur de Pu Er, c’est avec plaisir qu’il s’est livré à la dégustation de cette récolte d’automne.

Pour les commis en boutique, le conseil est facile : tout est bon quand on prend le temps de déguster. Mais certains thés, tout de même, se démarquent par leur polyvalence ou la ressemblance frappante entre leurs arômes et les parfums saisonniers. C’est le cas du Meghalaya Lakyrsiew Automnal biologique, un thé aux magnifiques feuilles colorées, cultivé avec soins dans le cadre d’un projet formidable et exemplaire.

Peu connue, la région de Meghalaya s’étend juste au sud de l’Assam, dans une chaîne montagneuse extrêmement propice à la culture du thé, mais malheureusement peu peuplée et difficilement accessible. Le thé qui nous arrive depuis le jardin Lakyrsiew est d’une qualité exceptionnelle et tombe année après année dans les coups de cœur de Kevin, notre importateur en Inde. Pour les curieux, vous pouvez lire l’article de blogue qui lui est consacré. Une magnifique histoire d’exploration et de jardin laissé à l’abandon, puis repris en main pour une production à petite échelle au tournant des années 2000.

Si l’on parle de polyvalence, le Meghalaya Lakyrsiew trône aisément dans les palmarès automnaux. En théière, il offre un parfait réconfort à partager avec ses hôtes ou à boire lentement seul devant la fenêtre. Personnellement, c’est en gaiwan que je le préfère, car infusé en petit volume, il révèle une complexité aromatique surprenante.

14848910708_775d540d73

Paramètres de l’infusion

Le Meghalaya est très polyvalent : il se boit très bien en théière (suivant les recommandations – 2,5g / 250ml), mais on le préfère encore mieux en gaiwan (4,5g, 20s, 20s, 30s).
Notes de dégustation

Nez : tomate, cuir, tabac, fruits séchés.
Notes : doux, sucré, cacao, épices, fruits confits et tomates mûres. Belle structure tannique qui mélange astringence et douceur, rafraîchissement et réconfort.
Deuxième infusion plus portée sur le raisin, le fruit séché et l’acidité.

Des premières infusions jusqu’aux dernières, son évolution est remarquable, passant de la douceur du cacao et des épices aux notes acidulées de raisins secs, de tomates et de fruits séchés. Sa structure tannique souple et son corps sucré en font un thé à la fois rafraîchissant et réconfortant, convenant aussi bien aux réveils difficiles qu’aux lents moments de détente et d’introspection.

Pour citer Kevin : “Le Meghalaya Lakyrsiew est un thé noir exceptionnel : une « plénitude » inattendue ainsi qu’un équilibre remarquable dans sa structure et sa définition – un thé au rendu léger et éthérique…”

Un thé noir qui plaira aux amateurs de Darjeeling en tous genres, de thés noirs tirant sur les notes de cacao (Népal Jun Chiyabari Automnal, Jingxian Jin Jun Mei) et les amateurs de wulongs boisés et épicés (style Bai Hao ou Guei Fei).
Bonne dégustation!

Une fabrique de thé innovante : voyagez avec nous au Tea Studio!

4 octobre 2018

Tea Studio 2018-58

Une innovation dans l’industrie du thé

Le Tea Studio est un brillant exemple d’une nouvelle approche artisanale de la manufacture de thé de qualité supérieure. Il s’appuie sur de nombreux éléments innovants de conception, de technologie, de responsabilité environnementale et sociale.

Le projet réunit des experts du thé de 3 continents. Cette micro-unité expérimentale vise une approche avant-gardiste de la fabrication du thé. Conçu pour répondre au marché en pleine expansion du thé de style «boutique» avec une grande diversité de thés «faits sur mesure».

Le Tea Studio est situé dans la région indienne de Nilgiri, qui offre une excellente source de thé de type clonal et classique, cultivé sur des graines de Camellia Sinensis var.sinensis et de Camellia Sinensis var.assamica.

Tea Studio 2018-60

Avez-vous suivi l’évolution du Tea Studio? 

En mars 2018, nous annoncions officiellement le lancement le projet, soit une fabrique de thé expérimentale située dans les Nilgiris. Les machines roulent depuis maintenant une année complète et nos quatre dégustateurs ont pris la route afin d’aller y travailler en octobre! Avez-vous goûté à nos premiers lots?

Tea Studio 2018-57

Un itinéraire de voyage chargé!

Du 1er au 20 octobre prochain, Hugo, François, Jasmin et Kevin seront sur place afin de prendre le pouls de la fabrique de thé en action, de faire des rencontres prometteuses, d’apporter leur support à l’équipe de production et d’organiser l’évolution du projet. Au programme : beaucoup de travail sur la planche…avec une vue incroyable sur les jardins de thé!

Tea Studio 2018-44

La Chine débarque en Inde

Nous aurons la chance d’accueillir deux de nos producteurs de thé chinois favoris (M. He et M. Tang) afin de profiter de leur expertise et obtenir leurs conseils sur nos méthodes de production. D’ailleurs, M. He, producteur de plusieurs thés verts chinois classiques (HuimingJingning Yin Zhen, Bai Ye Long Jing, Long Jing Zhejiang, Long Jing Jingning Bai), nous rendra visite afin de nous aider à améliorer la qualité globale de la fabrique de thé. C’est d’ailleurs son premier voyage hors de la Chine! Comme il a travaillé un thé noir chinois transformé à la manière Darjeeling 1st flush (Huiming Hong Cha DJ-1), ce sera fort intéressant de bénéficier de son expérience sur ce type de projet. Agronome, spécialiste de la transformation, scientifique, directeur d’un centre de recherche sur le thé et dégustateur, son expertise sera grandement appréciée!

Même si la qualité de nos premiers lots dépasse déjà largement nos attentes, c’est une chance unique pour nous d’optimiser nos processus de production.

De dégustateurs à producteurs de thé?

Après 20 ans dans l’industrie du thé, Jasmin nous disait récemment avoir envie de mettre la main à la pâte! Ce sera l’occasion de le faire, alors que nos dégustateurs seront non seulement invités à déguster le thé du Tea Studio, mais à le produire. Mettrez-vous la main sur quelques grammes de nos lots #02 produits par Hugo, François, Jasmin ou Kevin?

Participer à l’épanouissement de la communauté locale

La qualité de vie de notre équipe est primordiale pour nous!

Saviez-vous que le Tea Studio amasse des fonds pour permettre l’accès à l’éducation aux filles des villages ruraux  (souvent réservée au premier garçon de la famille)?

D’autre part, notre visite en Inde nous permettra également d’explorer mise sur pied d’une politique salariale favorable pour la communauté locale. C’est à suivre!

Suivez-nous sur Facebook et Instagram afin d’en savoir davantage sur le périple de nos dégustateurs de thé en Inde!

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter