Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Iced Tea Epiphany

13 July 2016

at 14:43 by Seb

DSC_0025

With the hot season in full swing and more hot days yet to come, this is the ideal time to rediscover your favorite teas in their iced tea version.

Whether you use a mixture already prepared or benefit from emptying your collection of bags of tea and adding fruits and spices, the procedure is simple. Just add cold water to your preparation at a dosage you would use for a hot infused tea, and allow it to infuse for 6 am to 12 hours in the refrigerator, then filter before tasting! Prepared the evening, it will be ready the next morning to satisfy both your thirst and that of your guests.

It is also an opportunity to experiment with new recipes or simply to prepare a natural iced tea, as we do every day in our shops, in order to give you the opportunity to taste our latest creations. While some of my colleagues daringly mix Darjeeling with green tea, or even Pu Er and Wulong, I am a little more  conservative and prefer to use a single tea in order to fully appreciate its potential. In this way I have  rediscovered a family which I sometimes forget to enjoy, that of white teas. My revelation was immediate and sublime when I tasted the sweet nectar obtained from a white tea from one of my favorite producers, Jingning Yin Zhen! Purity, lightness, delicacy and refreshing were my words. My feelings are still vivid and though I want to share my discovery with you I also hope to inspire you to vary your infusions.

Be daring, and let me know of your discoveries! I’m interested in your best recipes or simply your special favorites.

Wishing you a good summer!

Sébastien

Hugo’s Pick’s for 2015

25 September 2015

at 16:49 by Seb

IMG_1782-2_resize

As a taster I specialize in two countries so I get to indulge in a double selection of my highlights, one trio for Taiwan another for Japan!

TAIWAN

Jin Shuan

A much appreciated Taiwanese cultivar.  This ‘everyday’ tea is very generous and appealing to any fan of teas with full floral bouquets.

Bai Hao Mr. Xu – Limited Edition

I sometimes wonder which is my single favourite tea? Too difficult to choose just one, but Bai Hao is definitely in my top 5! I especially like the balance on the palate and pleasant stimulating effect the body without the cardio excitement. It is increasingly difficult to buy with so many Chinese enthusiasts in the market for it.  Fortunately our relationship of over 10 years with Mr. Xu gives us access to this small exceptional lot.

Dong Ding from the Luku competition

Our access to these teas is unique in North America. An unmissable opportunity!  A little prior knowledge of the world of Competition Wulongs helps us appreciate the depths of the ‘Dong Ding # 9 Special Mention’ and the ‘Dong Ding 1st Class’. Both offer excellent examples of ‘completeness’, harmony and enrich the body with an enveloping glow.

DSC_7465

JAPAN

Sencha Koshun Organic

The Koshun cultivar is currently very popular in Japan on infusion it offers a floral finish of cherry blossoms. This tea is from our friends at the Isagawa cooperative, providing us, for the first time in several years, with a very commendable Sencha Koshun!

Kukicha

Undoubtedly of great value for ‘throat refreshment’. A “thirst quenching” tea, which, in its 2015 version, offers a generous liquor. Often less known than sencha, kukicha is never to be underestimate.

Gyokuro Okabe

Most gyokuros from the Shizuoka plantations have a profile that tends towards sencha … For the simple reason that they use the Yabukita cultivar and its shade is not always that thorough. But not this time! This gyokuro – Okabe – is a pure delight, 100% Saemidori cultivar, well shaded and treated with care.

Hugo

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Révélation thé glacé

13 juillet 2016

DSC_0025

Avec la saison chaude qui bat son plein et plusieurs journées caniculaires encore à venir, c’est le temps idéal pour redécouvrir vos thés favoris dans leur version glacée.

Que vous utilisiez un mélange déjà préparé ou bien que vous en profitiez pour vider vos fonds de sachets de vieux thé en y ajoutant des fruits et des épices, la procédure reste simple. Il suffit d’ajouter de l’eau froide à votre préparation en dosant comme pour un thé infusé à chaud (en moyenne 1 c. à thé par tasse), de le laisser de 6h à 12h au réfrigérateur, puis de filtrer le tout avant de déguster! Ainsi, préparé le soir, il sera prêt dès le lendemain matin pour satisfaire votre soif et celle de vos invités.

C’est aussi l’occasion d’expérimenter de nouvelles recettes ou simplement de préparer un thé glacé nature comme nous le faisons chaque jour dans nos boutiques afin de vous donner l’occasion de goûter nos dernières créations. Si certains de mes collègues osent mélanger un Darjeeling avec un thé vert, ou bien un Pu Er et un Wulong, je suis plutôt conservateur et préfère n’utiliser qu’un seul thé, afin de d’apprécier pleinement son potentiel. C’est ainsi que j’ai redécouvert une famille que j’oublie parfois de savourer, celle des thés blancs. Ma révélation fut immédiate et sublime lorsque j’ai goûté le doux nectar obtenu à partir du thé blanc d’un de mes producteurs préférés, le Jingning Yin Zhen! Pureté, légèreté, finesse et désaltérant furent mes mots. Mon émotion est encore bien vive tant bien que je souhaite partager ma découverte avec vous en espérant aussi vous inspirer à varier vos infusions.

Osez, et faites-moi part de vos découvertes ! Je suis preneur de vos meilleures recettes ou simplement de vos coups de cœur.

Bon été!

Sébastien

Coups de cœur d’Hugo 2015

25 septembre 2015

IMG_1782-2_resize

Bon, vu que je couvre deux pays, je me permets une petite folie avec une double sélection de trois thés, l’une pour Taiwan et  l’autre pour le Japon!

TAIWAN

Jin Shuan

Un cultivar très apprécié des taiwanais. Un thé de tous les jours, qui est très généreux et qui saura plaire aux amateurs de thés aux accents floraux.

Bai Hao M. Xu – Édition limitée

On me demande à l’occasion, quel est mon thé préféré? Difficile d’en choisir un, mais le Bai Hao est assurément dans mon top 5! J’aime particulièrement son équilibre en bouche et son effet agréable, stimulant le corps mais sans l’énerver. Il est de plus en plus difficile de s’en procurer car les amateurs Chinois en raffolent également, mais notre relation de plus de 10 ans avec M.Xu, nous a permis d’avoir accès à ce petit lot d’exception.

Dong Ding de la compétition de Luku 

L’accès à ces thés est unique en Amérique du Nord. Il faut en profiter! Il est idéal d’avoir un peu de connaissance des wulong pour apprécier la profondeur du Dong Ding mention spéciale #9 et du Dong Ding 1ère Classe. Assurément, tous les deux offrent un bel exemple de rondeur, d’harmonie et bonifient le corps d’une chaleur enveloppante.

DSC_7465

JAPON

Sencha Koshun bio

Le cultivar Koshun est présentement très apprécié au Japon car son infusion offre une finale florale qui rappelle les fleurs de cerisiers. Celui-ci provient de nos amis de la coopérative d’Isagawa, qui nous offre pour la première fois depuis plusieurs années un sencha Koshun digne de mention!

Kukicha

Sans aucun doute une valeur sûre pour se rafraîchir le gosier. Un thé « étanche-soif »  qui,  dans sa version 2015, nous offre une liqueur généreuse. Souvent moins connu que le sencha, le kukicha n’est pas à sous-estimer!

Gyokuro Okabe

Habituellement, les gyokuro issus des plantations de Shizuoka ont un goût qui tend vers les sencha… Pour la simple raison qu’ils utilisent le cultivar Yabukita et que l’ombrage est souvent sommaire. Mais pas cette fois-ci! Un pur délice que ce gyokuro Okabe, 100% cultivar Saemidori, couvert et traité avec soin.

Hugo

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter