Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Producer of the Moment: Mrs Chen

17 April 2019

at 15:14 by Social

unnamed-3

Each month or so, the Camellia Sinensis team presents one of its favorite producers, shares the story of their first encounter, and the producer’s story. Meet Mrs Chen, who produces the exquisite Bi Luo Chun Du Yun.

The story of our meeting

Jasmin has travelled for many years in China as a taster and buyer. In the spring of 2012, in Guizhou he met with met many producers of different regions. One of them really stood out: in Du Yun, he encountered Mrs Chen who’s tea and humanity really impressed him.

unnamed-4

When did you start in the tea industry?

My husband’s father is from Jinghong in Yunnan. He knew tea very well. Later in his life, he moved to Liupanshui in Guizhou to work in construction. To make more money and offer his family a better living, he opened a tea shop in Liupanshui. When I met my husband, I was working in Guiyang and he at the tobacco factory in Liupanshui. He soon quit his job and moved to Guiyang so we could live together. In Guiyang, he established himself as a tea merchant. The more we traded, the more we developed our interest for Du Yun tea. In 2002, we had the opportunity to rent a tea garden in Dou Peng Shan and we took it. We have been producing tea since then.

unnamed-1

Are you the owner of your garden?

No, the garden belongs to the State. We signed a contract to cultivate it.

What is the total area of your gardens?

Over 1000 mus.

What is your annual tea production?

About 40 tons. Most of it is green tea.

unnamed-2

How many employees do you have?

16

What aspects of your work do you prefer?

Producing tea is the most interesting, of course. But I also like everything related to tea culture.

Who do you sell to? Local or international?

Everything is sold in China. Well, almost everything. Jasmin is our only international customer.

Have you noted any changes in the industry since you started?

Of course we have! Regarding the industry, most important changes come from the government who now give more importance to tea. There is more promotion and production is slowly becoming standardized. Other than that, we notice more young people drinking tea and more people valuing quality teas overall.

What is your favorite tea?

My favorite is high altitude Bi Luo Chun Du Yun, the small lots we transform manually. Otherwise, I also like Du Yun Hong Cha.

Producer of the Month: Mr Gao

6 March 2019

at 18:41 by Social

unnamed

Each month, the Camellia Sinensis team presents one of its favorite producers, shares the story of their first encounter, and the producer’s story.

This month, we have Mr. Gao Shi He, wulong tea producer Taiwan. Hugo met Mr Gao in his Pinglin gardens over 10 years ago. They have kept contact since then and you can find Mr Gao’s excellent Gaba Cha in our selection each year.
When and how did you first step into the world of tea?

Tea has been my family’s main source of revenues for a long time now. When I was young, my father was in charge of the whole production. But when he fell sick and my family risked losing its main income, I took over. It’s been more than 30 years now since my career started. Since then, I have developed a specific taste for the natural floral aromas of tea.

Tell us a bit more about your gardens.

The gardens my family owns cover just over one Jia in area. This is about two and a half acres with an annual production of roughly 1000 kilos. Recently, we have developed another plantation with an area of two Jia, so a little less than 5 acres.

How much Gaba Cha do you produce annually?

More or less 200 bags of 600g each.

Gaba tea is seasonal. The best period to produce it is one week before and one week after Duan Wu (dragon boats festival). This is when the insects called Jacobiasca Formosana come to the gardens and start biting the tea leaves. If you harvest when their bites are still on the leaves, the tea quality will be optimal.

unnamed-1

How many workers do you hire?

Three permanent employees take care of managing the gardens. To this we add eight to ten seasonal employees for harvesting the leaves.

Which aspects of your work do you prefer?

What I prefer is managing and tending the gardens. I like to witness the growing of the trees, observe the different changes at every stage and see the leaves flush. This is my favorite place to be. I always feel relaxed and happy in a natural landscape on the mountain.

Who’s buying your teas? Local or international clients?

Right now, most clients are Taiwanese buyers, with a few travelers coming freely from China, Japan, Europe, America, etc. Other than that, you are certainly our most important international clients!

Have you seen any changes since your beginnings in the industry?

Today, the tea industry is greatly affected by abnormal meteorological environments. The growing cycles of the trees and leaves are often disturbed and unpredictable, making the intervention of technology increasingly important in the fabrication process.

Luckily, as scientific and technological progress marches on, so do the machines we use. Better in performance than before, they are very precious allies to maintain the tea quality we need. I don’t think this industry would still be viable here without them.

Regarding clients, the majority of consumers are middle-aged people, with only a small portion of young people drinking our tea.

What is your favourite tea?

I like many styles of tea: Baozhong, Laocha, heavily fermented teas, black teas, Mixiang teas… but my favorite is still Gaba tea.

Learn more about the virtues of Gaba Cha in this article.

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Productrice du moment : Mme Chen

17 avril 2019

unnamed-3

L’équipe du Camellia Sinensis est heureuse de vous fait découvrir ses producteurs vedette en vous partageant leur histoire et leur rencontre.

Notre productrice du moment est Mme Chen, qui produit l’exquis Bi Luo Chun Du Yun.

 

L’histoire de notre rencontre

En 2012, Jasmin se lance dans l’exploration des provinces chinoises moins connues pour leur production de thé. Au printemps, il se rend dans le Guizhou en espérant y dénicher quelques perles rares. Dans cette optique, il rencontre plusieurs producteurs dans plusieurs régions différentes. Une rencontre est plus significative que les autres : à Du Yun, il croise Mme Chen, une productrice d’une belle humanité et dont le thé est d’une qualité exceptionnelle. Coup de coeur immédiat.

unnamed-2

Quand avez vous commencé dans le monde du thé?

Le père de mon mari était originaire de Jinghong dans le Yunnan. Il connaissait bien le thé. Plus tard, il a déménagé à Liupanshui, dans le Guizhou, et travaillait dans la construction. Pour augmenter son revenu et faire mieux vivre sa famille, il a ouvert une boutique de thé à Liupanshui. Lorsque j’ai rencontré mon mari, je travaillais à Guiyang et lui dans l’usine de tabac à Liupanshui. Afin que nous puissions vivre ensemble, mon mari a quitté son emploi et est venu me rejoindre à Guiyang. Il s’y est établi comme commerçant de thé. À force de commerce, nous avons tous deux développé un intérêt tout particulier pour le thé Du Yun. En 2002, nous avons eu la chance de louer un jardin dans la montagne Dou Peng Shan et nous avons commencé à y faire notre thé.

unnamed-1

Êtes-vous propriétaire de vos jardins?

Non, le jardin appartient à l’État. Nous avons signé un contrat pour pouvoir l’exploiter.

Quelle est la superficie de vos jardins?

Plus de 1000 mus.

Quelle quantité de thé produisez-vous chaque année?

Environ 40 tonnes, principalement du thé vert.

unnamed-4

Combien de travailleurs employez-vous?

16.

Quels aspects de votre travail préférez-vous?

La production du thé reste l’aspect le plus intéressant. Mais j’aime aussi les designs reliés au thé.

Qui sont vos clients? Locaux ou internationaux?

Nous vendons tout en Chine, ou presque. Jasmin est notre seul client international.

Quels changements percevez-vous dans l’industrie et dans la clientèle depuis vos débuts?

Du côté de l’industrie, les principaux changements viennent du gouvernement qui attache de plus en plus d’importance au thé. On fait davantage de promotion et on standardise de plus en plus la production. Sinon, par rapport à la clientèle, on observe que plus de jeunes boivent du thé et que l’intérêt pour le thé de qualité grandit.

Quel est votre thé préféré?

Mon thé préféré est le Bi Luo Chun Du Yun de haute montagne, celui qu’on cultive à plus haute altitude et qu’on transforme à la main. Sinon, j’aime aussi beaucoup le Du Yun Hong Cha.

Producteur du mois : M. Gao

6 mars 2019

unnamed

Chaque mois, l’équipe du Camellia Sinensis vous fait découvrir un de ses producteurs vedette en vous partageant leur histoire et leur rencontre.

Ce mois-ci, il s’agit de M. Gao Shi He, producteur de thé wulong à Taiwan. Hugo a rencontré M. Gao dans ses jardins à Pinglin il y a déjà plus de dix ans. Leur histoire dure depuis et vous pouvez goûter aujourd’hui en boutique son excellent Gaba Cha.

Quand et comment avez-vous fait vos débuts dans le monde du thé?

Il y a longtemps que le thé est la principale source de revenu de notre famille. Plus jeune, c’était mon père qui s’occupait des jardins et de la production, mais lorsqu’il est tombé malade et que la famille risquait de perdre ses ressources économiques, c’est moi qui ai repris le flambeau. Cela fait plus de 30 ans maintenant que ma carrière a débuté. Depuis, j’ai développé un goût particulier pour les arômes naturellement floraux du thé.

Êtes-vous propriétaire de vos jardins?

Oui.

Quelle est leur superficie?

La superficie des plantations familiales est d’un peu plus d’un Jia, soit environ 0,97 hectare avec une production annuelle de 1 000 kilogrammes. Récemment, nous avons développé une autre plantation sur une superficie de plus de deux Jia, soit environ 1,94 hectare.

Quelle quantité de Gaba Cha produisez-vous annuellement?

Environ 200 sacs de 600 g.

Le thé Gaba est un thé saisonnier. La meilleure période de l’année pour le produire est une semaine avant et après Duan Wu (le festival des bateaux-dragons). C’est à ce moment que les insectes nommés Jacobiasca Formosana envahissent les jardins et piquent les théiers. Si on récolte au moment leur morsure est encore présente sur les feuilles, la qualité du thé est optimale.

unnamed-1

Combien de travailleurs employez-vous?

Trois travailleurs permanents assurent la gestion des plantations de thé. À cela s’ajoutent huit à dix cueilleurs saisonniers engagés pour la cueillette des feuilles.

Quels aspects de votre travail préférez-vous?

Ce que je préfère, c’est la gestion des jardins. J’aime assister au processus de croissance des arbres, observer les différents changements à chaque étape et voir pousser les feuilles. C’est d’ailleurs mon endroit préféré. Je me sens toujours détendu et heureux dans un paysage naturel sur une montagne.

Qui sont les principaux acheteurs de vos thés? Clients locaux ou internationaux?

Actuellement, les clients sont principalement des Taïwanais, mais il y a aussi un petit nombre de voyageurs qui viennent librement à Taïwan depuis la Chine, le Japon, l’Europe, l’Amérique, etc. Sinon, vous êtes assurément notre plus grand client hors Taïwan!

Percevez-vous des changements depuis vos débuts dans l’industrie?

Aujourd’hui, l’industrie du thé est grandement affectée par un environnement météorologique anormal. Les cycles de croissance des arbres et des feuilles sont de plus en plus bouleversés et imprévisibles, ce qui rend l’intervention de la technologie beaucoup plus importante dans le processus de fabrication.

Heureusement, parallèlement aux progrès scientifiques et technologiques, les machines employées deviennent plus performantes et perfectionnées. À Taïwan, elles sont devenues des alliées indispensables pour maintenir la qualité du thé. C’est grâce à elles d’ailleurs que l’industrie est encore viable.

En ce qui concerne la clientèle, la majorité des consommateurs sont des personnes d’âge moyen alors que seulement un petit nombre de jeunes boivent du thé.

Quel est votre thé préféré?

J’aime beaucoup de styles de thé : Baozhong, Laocha, thés lourdement fermentés, thés noirs, thé Mixiang… mais mon préféré reste le Gaba.

Apprenez-en plus sur les vertus du Gaba Cha dans cet article.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter