Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

A natural wonder: Yellow tea – beyond words!

29 May 2015

at 12:38 by Seb

DSC_2367

Every year as spring comes around, we await the first teas with excitement and our taste buds tingle at the prospect of savouring the explosive freshness of the new arrivals …

One of the very first teas we receive each year is the Meng Ding Huang Ya, the famous yellow tea from Sichuan province.

What is Yellow Tea?

While once the prerogative of emperors whose ‘official’ colour was yellow, these teas can now be enjoyed at an affordable price, especially when you consider the work that goes into their production. From a prestigious and refined plucking, consisting solely of buds, similar to the many premium white teas (up to 100,000 buds to produce 1 kilo of dry leaves), this style of tea is initially transformed as a green tea, i.e. an initial heating to deactivate the enzymes responsible for oxidation. After forming and drying, the finished leaf is then smothered in small bundles of either paper or cotton cloth while it is still warm and spends several hours wrapped in this way. During this step, which lasts for several hours, the leaves gradually change colour to become a yellow-green.  The heating and smothering is repeated 3 or 4 times over a few days of transformation … Thus producers take the time to produce this type of tea, and being rare, these small artisanal lots are swept up quickly by discerning enthusiasts.

The scarcity of yellow tea is due to the fact that there are so few examples of it and also that is also produced in such small quantities. Many producers who used to produce yellow tea now lean towards green tea, given its greater popularity in China.

In terms of flavour profile, yellow tea is somewhere in between white tea’s sweetness (due to the presence of buds), and green tea’s vegetal aspect.

Meng Ding Huang Ya: a complex and enigmatic tea

The region of Ming Shan where this refined tea comes from enjoys a mild climate so production can begin as early as March, sometimes even February. Located in the heart of the clouds, this mountainous land, perfect for tea cultivation, has been known for over 1000 years. The region inherits a long line of expertise for the production of rare teas nowadays so rare they are becoming almost inaccessible.

The visual beauty of the leaves commands a certain appreciation from the start! Aligned in a glass, their vertical dance delights the Chinese enthusiasts. Rich savoury notes of hazelnuts compliment its delicate vegetal character, tinged with a floral impetus evolve into a deep and vibrant finish! Tasting this enigmatic and complex tea, discreetly revealing its ineffable qualities, is an invitation to experience its different sensations and effects. Some teas need to be fully savoured … being mostly beyond words.

 

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Coup de cœur : L’ineffable thé jaune!

29 mai 2015

DSC_2367

Comme à chaque année au printemps, les premiers thés se font attendre avec excitation et nos papilles sont bien éveillées à l’idée de goûter la fraîcheur des nouveaux arrivages…

Un des premiers thés que nous recevons est le Meng Ding Huang Ya, célèbre thé jaune de la province du Sichuan.

Qu’est-ce que le thé jaune?

S’il était autrefois l’apanage des empereurs dont la couleur était le jaune, on peut maintenant profiter des saveurs du thé jaune à prix très abordable, considérant le travail que sa production demande. D’une cueillette prestigieuse et soignée, constituée uniquement de bourgeons, comme les meilleurs thés blancs (jusqu’à 100 000 bourgeons pour produire 1 kilo de feuilles sèches), il est transformé à l’image des thés verts, c’est à dire qu’il subit une dessiccation afin d’inactiver l’enzyme responsable de l’oxydation. Il est ensuite emballé par petites quantités dans du papier ou dans un linge de coton et passe ainsi plusieurs heures à l’étouffée. Cette étape de fermentation durant plusieurs heures, où les feuilles changent progressivement leur couleur vers le jaune, est répétée 3 ou 4 fois sur quelques jours de transformation… Pas étonnant que peu de producteurs soient enclins à produire ce type de thé, et que rarissimes, ces petits lots artisanaux s’envolent si rapidement pour combler les palais avertis. D’ailleurs, la rareté du thé jaune provient du fait qu’il n’existe que très peu de variétés et que la majorité sont produits en petite quantité. Aussi, beaucoup de producteurs qui faisaient autrefois du thé jaune ont convergé vers le thé vert, comme c’était plus populaire en Chine.

Au niveau du goût, le thé jaune se trouve à mi-chemin entre la douceur du thé blanc, par la présence de bourgeons, et l’aspect végétal du thé vert.

Meng Ding Huang Ya : un thé énigmatique et complexe

La région de Ming Shan d’où provient ce cru profite d’un climat clément pour amorcer sa production dès le mois de mars et parfois même dès février. Situé au cœur des nuages, ce terroir montagneux parfait pour la culture du thé est connu depuis plus de 1000 ans. Il est aussi le siège d’une longue lignée de savoir faire dont celui de la production d’un thé presque inaccessible aujourd’hui dû à sa rareté.

La beauté visuelle des feuilles impose une certaine gratitude! Alignées dans un verre, leur danse verticale fait le bonheur des amateurs chinois. Les notes gourmandes de noisettes côtoient son délicat caractère végétal, nuancé d’un élan floral évoluant vers une  profonde et vibrante finale! La dégustation de ce thé énigmatique et complexe, révélant discrètement ses ineffables qualités, se veut une invitation à ressentir ses différentes sensations et effets. C’est ainsi que certains thés se doivent d’être savourés pleinement… et au delà des mots.

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter