Our Tea Blog | Camellia Sinensis

Blog

Tasting Notes with Andrei Ivanov

29 November 2017

at 15:25 by Social

SONY DSC

In late October this year Andrei Ivanov, of Riga in Latvia, was a competitor in the Tea Masters Cup held this year in Enshi, Hubei, China. He was awarded First Prize in 3 of the 5 events.

Andrei has been drinking a few of our teas and recently sent the tasting notes below:

First of all a big thank you to the Camellia team for doing such a great job and giving people an opportunity to drink such high quality tea! For me as a ‘Tea Master’ and big tea lover, it is always a special moment drinking teas like these.

The Competition Dong Ding is amazing and probably the best I’ve ever tried! Such fragrant and sweet aromas of dry leaves made me fall silent, this tender texture of perfectly roasted tea makes you want this tea more and more. Fascinating notes of fried sunflower seeds and flowers are very deep. The sweetest aroma in the empty cup of candy-floss and honey. This generous tea gives many infusions, so a perfect choice for those who prefer to spend time with quality leaves and in a good state.

Few words about Bai Hao 2008 – This is a masterpiece! Once again proving that Taiwan is full of treasures and this is one of them! Every time I drink aged teas of this style I fall in love with them, but this one really got took my heart. So floral and sweet, words cannot explain. So honey, so caramel, so deep with an endless taste and aftertaste. Once again hard to put into words, more of an emotional state of mind.

About the Pu er 1998 Menghai 7542. It’s great choice for those who love aged Sheng. I got big pleasure to taste it and it put me into a great state. Enjoyable melody and game of flavors as a result humid environment of Taiwan.

Thank you again Camellia Sinensis! Forgive me for my English, hope everything is clear.
Andrei.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Current trends: Chai latte and matcha latte

21 November 2017

at 17:13 by Social

Stepping into any ’Third Wave’ cafe you’re likely to find a variety of alternative beverages to your traditional latte. Both the matcha and chai latte have become emblematic of these new beverages. The popularity of these comforting drinks is especially noticeable during the fall season.

unnamed

Chai latte

Far from being new to the world of tea, chai latte is the new name of the traditional Indian beverage increasingly popular and present in North America. This led us to start our latest project: Bristol Chai.

The basic ingredients of chai are tea, spices and milk. The traditional Indian recipe often contains buffalo milk (which makes it very sweet!), but any milk works and will give a different style of chai prefer (cow, soy, almond, coconut) sugar is often added for taste. Bristol Chai’s take on chai was to develop five distinct blends with five original recipes:

To prepare a chai latte, simply add 2 teaspoons of chai in 1L of water and let it boil for 5 to 10 minutes. Then add 1 cup of milk and let it gently simmer for another 5 to 10 minutes before adding sugar (to your taste). Stir, serve and enjoy!

unnamed-1
Matcha Latte

Similar to chai, matcha is not new to the world of tea. In fact, this powdered green tea has been used during the Cha No Yu tea ceremony in Japan for centuries. Being a powder it is easy to incorporate into cooking, flavouring pastries, sauces and beverages.
This matcha latte recipe is very simple, served hot or cold on crushed ice as a ‘matcha granita’ it is simply delicious!

Heat 1 tbsp. of matcha in 1 cup of the milk of your choice. Whip with a chasen (matcha whisk) until you have a decent foam. (a milk foamer can be used instead of the chasen).

Enjoy!

 
 

special collection

Welcome to the Special Collection
Here you will both find Teaware and Teas created by some of Asia’s most talented craftsmen.

Visit

Le Blogue des thés | Camellia Sinensis

Blogue

Notes de dégustation avec Andrei Ivanov

29 novembre 2017

SONY DSC

En fin octobre 2017, Andrei Ivanov, de Riga en Lettonie, participait au “Tea Masters Cup” qui s’est tenu cette année à Enshi, Hubei (Chine). Il a reçu le premier prix pour 3 des 5 événements.
Andrei a récemment dégusté quelques-uns de nos thés et nous a fait parvenir les notes de dégustation ci-dessous :

Tout d’abord, un grand merci à l’équipe de Camellia de faire un si bon travail et de donner aux gens l’occasion de boire un thé de qualité! Pour moi, en tant que “Tea Master”, il s’agit toujours d’un moment spécial lorsque j’ai la chance de boire des thés comme ceux-ci.

Le Dong Ding Compétition est incroyable et probablement le meilleur que j’aie jamais essayé! Ses arômes parfumés et sucrés de feuilles sèches m’ont fait succombé ; une texture qui nous donne envie d’en boire encore et encore. Ses notes fascinantes de graines de tournesol frites et de fleurs sont très profondes. Lorsque la tasse est vide, on y trouve un doux arôme de barbe à papa et de miel. Ce thé généreux donne de nombreuses infusions.

Quelques mots sur Bai Hao 2008 : …c’est un chef-d’œuvre! Il nous prouve une fois de plus que Taiwan regorge de trésors! Chaque fois que je bois des thés âgés de ce style, je tombe amoureux d’eux, mais celui-ci a vraiment su conquérir mon coeur. Floral et doux, avec des notes de miel, de caramel – il est difficile de bien l’expliquer par les mots.

Pour ce qui est du Pu er 1998 Menghai 7542 : il s’agit d’un excellent choix pour ceux qui aiment les Sheng âgés. J’ai eu beaucoup de plaisir à le goûter. Une mélodie agréable et un jeu de saveurs conséquent de l’environnement humide de Taiwan.

Merci encore Camellia Sinensis! Pardonnez-moi pour mon français, j’espère que tout est clair.
Andrei.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Chai latte et matcha latte : les tendances du moment

21 novembre 2017

Entrez dans n’importe quel café nouvelle vague et vous y trouverez de plus en plus de breuvages alternatifs au traditionnel café latte. C’est notamment de le cas du matcha latte et du chai latte, qui sont de plus en plus populaires (avec raison!) et surtout durant l’automne.

unnamed

Le chai latte

Breuvage traditionnel indien, il n’a rien de nouveau dans l’univers du thé, mais devient de plus en plus présent en Amérique du Nord. C’est d’ailleurs ce qui nous a mené à ouvrir notre dernier projet : le bar à chai Bristol Chai.

Il s’agit d’une préparation à base de thé, d’épices et de lait. Le breuvage traditionnel contient du lait condensé en Inde (donc très sucré!), mais il est possible de le savourer avec le lait de son choix (vache, soya, amande, coco) et d’y ajouter du sucre au goût. Chez Bristol, on a choisi de décliner le mélange en cinq saveurs distinctes :

Pour préparer le chai latte, il suffit d’ajouter 2c. à thé du mélange à chai à 1 tasse d’eau qu’on fait bouillir de 5 à 10 minutes. On y ajoute ensuite 1 tasse de lait qu’on laisse mitoyer doucement durant un 5 à 10 minutes additionnel, avant d’y ajouter du sucre (au gout) et de mélanger. Et voilà, c’est prêt à déguster!

unnamed-1

Le matcha latte

Tout comme le chai, le matcha n’est pas nouveau dans l’univers du thé. En fait, ce thé vert réduit en poudre est utilisé durant la cérémonie de thé Cha No Yu au Japon. Récemment, son usage s’est décliné en cuisine, pour parfumer les pâtisseries, les sauces et les breuvages lattés.

La recette de matcha latte proposée ci-dessous est d’une grande simplicité! Excellent chaud ou froid, on peut même créer une version ‘granité au matcha’ avec des cubes de glace passés au robot-mélangeur.

Faites chauffer 1 c. à thé de matcha dans 1 tasse du lait de votre choix, et battez la préparation grâce à un chasen (fouet à matcha) jusqu’à l’obtention d’une belle mousse. Il est également possible d’utiliser un mousseur à lait.

Bonne dégustation!

 
 

série collection

Bienvenue dans la Série Collection.
Vous y trouverez des objets et des thés créés par les plus grands artisans d’Asie.

Visiter